We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining”
Review of The Empire Room

The Empire Room
Ranked #4 of 199 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$42
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Part of the fabulous Royal Harbour Hotel, the 30 cover Empire Room restaurant serves great food using fresh local ingredients in a charming club like setting.
auckland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We so enjoyed our evening out. This restaurant is attached to the hotel we stayed at so we had internal access which made us feel special. The food and ambiance was excellent...and not overpriced either!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank raysue25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    53
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quality food in style”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our first trip to the Empire and am sure it will not be the last. The decor and ambience of the restaurant make for an interesting visit. Could not fault the quality (delicious!) and presentation of the meals although some were on the small side. Would have liked to have been given some bread with our starters without having to ask - am sure the chef could provide something home made which would have added that extra touch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank sarahys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My fourth time and this time the restaurant had to cope with 12 of us! Always great service and good food. Need to vary the menu possibly with an increase in the specials available. 3 more visits and I will have eaten everything!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank stuart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Way way above the standard we expected from a seaside hotel dining room. Our meals were delicious and the staff were excellent. Lovely decor and ambience too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, simply perfect ”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

What a delicious gem of a restaurant "The Empire Room" is It's certainly quirky however this merely adds to it's inimitable charm. The restaurant, with it's decor and throw back to club dining, dares to be different in spectacularly impressive style. I'm tired of dining in corporate adoptive style and this delight of a place deserves recognition for daring to be different. Amazing, locally sourced food, traditional (most certainly not boring) expertly cooked, by a chef who clearly cares. Fair pricing for food of exceptional quality. Service sublime and the ambiance makes it a memorable night. My top tip. Try "something nice in a glass". A heavenly delightful surprise with an original and descriptive name. Don't bypass this gem of a place. Attention to detail and customer satisfaction clearly at the forefront of the owners mind. 10/10

Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Empire Room also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Empire Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing