We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting”
Review of Ramsgate Tunnels

Ramsgate Tunnels
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Your tour starts with a short film show in a 150 year old Victorian Railway Tunnel before heading off into purpose built Air Raid Precaution tunnels under the town of Ramsgate. Hear about the “Mad Mayor” who saved the town Discover how the tunnels were built See where a town below the town evolved Listen to stories of life underground
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wifes late father always talked about the tunnels. I can remember going on the miniature railway in 1964/5 with my brother and Uncle. So we thought why not have look. Easy to book online but limited places as we only booked the day before. This is a very recent attraction so you need to give them some time to get more exhibits, but that aside what was available was fine and Isaac the tour guide explained and told the history very well. With other guides in training at the back there was always the opportunity to ask questions. If you don't mind the dark, carrying a small torch and wearing a hard hat. It was well worth the fee. Even recognised some of the names on the walls from the Ramsgate youths who obviously entered illegally many moons ago.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    158
    28
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well, I never knew that!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We discovered the Ramsgate Tunnels online and decided that this would suit our holiday plans perfectly. The admission fee for the tunnels was very reasonable and with a bit of time to spare, we made use of the small, quirky on-site café that served great value teas, coffees and soft drinks, as well as a selection of sweet and savoury food. Our friendly, helpful tour guide Tom brought the stories and secrets that had been held within the chalky tunnel walls for 75 years to life, by combining fascinating facts with his brilliant sense of humour. Our family group of four was aged between 15-86, so we would thoroughly recommend the tunnels as a great trip out for all the family.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Black-Bats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly interesting”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Only recently opened to the public this is a fascinating place to visit. 5 of us, ranging in age from 3 to 63, all learnt a lot about these incredible tunnels. Our guide, Gillian, was a brilliant storyteller. It's hard to believe that the engineer who designed these life-saving tunnels was not honoured.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Had a lovely tour with tour guide Tom! It was very interesting. I would definitely recommend going to the tunnels!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good way to spend an hour or two.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Being a local I must admit to being quite amazed that the Ramsgate Tunnels have actually been opened; it's very unusual that anything good happens in Thanet in recent years so it was exciting to hear that the old railway and war tunnels were being opened to the public.
Tom was our guide and he did an excellent job of leading the group and telling the story of the tunnels in a friendly, chatty manner, with lots of interesting detail and humourous comments, Everybody seemed to enjoy the tour, even the children we heard saying "This is boring, we should have gone somewhere else" while we were watching the introductory film in the main tunnel!
The other guides who accompanied the group were very knowledgeable and it's well worth asking them any questions that come to mind.
The Ramsgate Tunnels are fascinating just as they are but the tease that all of the tunnels might be open one day is very exciting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonRamsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ramsgate Tunnels also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Ramsgate Tunnels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing