We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt like home!”

Alconbury Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alconbury Guesthouse
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It felt like home!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed in this guesthouse as recently as last week and loved every minute of it. As a family run establishment, they make you feel very relaxed and at home for the duration of your stay. The facilities in the room were great, with t.v, internet and microwave etc. all modern and working perfectly. The rooms themselves were very plushly decorated and cosy. The location of the b&b is very central; the town centre is only a five minute drive away. I would recommend this establishment to anyone staying in Tunbridge Wells, I left a very satisfied customer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneRose90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
25
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed on two separate occasions in September of three nights and two nights. I had the same room on both occasions which came with twin-beds. The beds and furniture were comfortable and the room was large with plenty of storage for clothing. Breakfast was really whatever one wanted, and served in a very nice dining room downstairs. The owner, Camilla, is lovely and nothing seems to be too much trouble.
My only negative would be that this B&B is a long way from any shops, restaurants and bars, and one really cannot get to these without a car.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrk36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I had to visit Tunbridge Wells at very short notice. I was so very pleased to get a room at the Alconbury. The decor is Edwardian throughout and quite enchanting. My room was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. I went down to breakfast (ordered the night before), into the dining room and felt like a 'lady' from a different era. Camilla, the owner, is charming and made me feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Her attention to detail and my comfort made my stay a 'first class' experience. When I need to go to Tunbridge Wells again, the Alconbury will be my first and only choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We hired the whole guesthouse for my wedding weekend, and stayed there with 10 people, including grandmothers (in single rooms), cousins, parents, and bridesmaids. The rooms are beautiful, they have a very romantic feel. Everyone found the beds very comfortable.
As the bride, I stayed in the Balcony Suite, which has a very luxurious bed, and a lounge room. We used the lounge room on the morning of the wedding to get ready, and our hairdresser did our hair there. It was a lovely space to all get ready together. On the night before, I stayed there with one of my bridesmaids with the beds arranged as twins. During the wedding, Camilla turned the room around and made it into a large king size bed.
We all very much enjoyed the breakfast. As we were with such a big group, we ordered it the night before, so that it could be ensured everything was available. The porridge was very nice, there are many healthy options, and also some indulgent ones.
Whilst we were getting ready for the wedding Camilla was very helpful. She kept my flowers in water, and provided crockery for our lunch. She also took a few great pictures of our preparations!
All in all it was a great weekend, and the fact that all my family could stay in one place (where there were no other guests besides us) really made it even better. The guesthouse is very beautiful and clean, and the owner extremely helpful. I would recommend it to anyone whether for a holiday or a wedding.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichelleGrisdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed at the Alconbury for three nights, which we booked very last minute due to a family emergency. The owner was extremely helpful, and helped make our stay very comfortable. The room was lovely and absolutely spotless. Thanks for a wonderful stay, we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

What a delightful house. Our hostess, Camilla, was very welcoming considering she was only expecting us for 2 nights and we thought we had booked three but luckily the room was ready.
We felt there were not enough clear spaces on the surfaces in the bedroom and bathroom to put things. Having said that the room was large and even included a dining table, iron and ironing board. There was parking on the road outside but Camilla kindly moved her car so we could park on the driveway. It's about a 15 minute walk to the town centre which is up hill and down dale.
All in all we had a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bower room and would recommend it but have not seen the other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have just had a most enjoyable stay at this lovely Edwardian home. Our hostess was most welcoming on arrival and caring throughout our stay. Her attention to detail in our room was outstanding and you could not wish for any more and therefore this B&B surpasses any 5 star hotel. The breakfast was most delicious from a very good choice of menu.
We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surrey622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#11 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
380 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Russell Hotel
Russell Hotel
#12 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alconbury Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alconbury Guesthouse

Property: Alconbury Guesthouse
Address: 41 Molyneux Park Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is our elegant Edwardian house which is in a conservation area and within walking distance of the town centre, restaurants and mainline station. The accommodation is luxurious, spacious, and in period style. We have a luxury suite with a balcony overlooking the secluded and peaceful south-facing garden. Central for London and Kent tourist attractions. We serve we serve organic produce wherever possible. Off road parking. Internet connection in two main rooms and guest lounge. WE NOW HAVE THE VISITBRITAN M1 AND H1 accessibility awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alconbury Guesthouse Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing