We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bottle-feeding sheep, finding fresh eggs, raft-making on the pond”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Feather Down Farms at Sunninglye Farm
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bottle-feeding sheep, finding fresh eggs, raft-making on the pond”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

A mere 1 1/2 hour drive from London and yet, once here, my family and I were transported a million miles from the capital's hubbub. My 7 year old daughter's face when she and farm owner Jo bottlefed two little lambs together immediately told me that this was the right holiday for us, and that was just the first evening! Next morning, my daughter collected eggs from the free range chickens and Jo showed us around her beautiful farm. She was a generous and instructive guide and her passion for this land is infectious.Contrary to what you may have read elsewhere, we found Jo to be a welcoming, attentive and friendly host.
A particular highlight of this holiday was building a raft to sail on the farm's pond with predictably soggy and comical results!
For wholesome, outdoor fun you really can't beat Sunninglye Farm. Thanks Jo !

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NeweFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Heaven on earth!. The owners, Jo and Gill were FAB, very kind and helpful. The farm animals were friendly, especially Mrs O the sheep. Freshly laid eggs for breakfast from the chickens, hot showers and acres of peace made for a wonderful weekend with close friends. We built a raft on the pond which was fun but we were totally useless and we sunk, campfires in the evening for toasting marshmallows and making stews. We will definately be back. This is the second Featherdown Farm we have been to and we aim to visit many others. Try it once and you will be hooked!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staplefordparkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
circlewe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We stayed at Sunninglye over a long weekend (Friday through Monday) in April. It was a wonderful experience for the whole family and especially for the kids. The kids were captivated by the farm animals and were easily occupied by the activities on the farm. There were sheep with young lambs, chickens, pigs, a donkey and miniature horses.

The view was spectacular. The seven tents are situated on the top of a hill overlooking beautiful vistas on each side. There is a small pond down one side of the hills and trails for the whole family to enjoy

The accommodations were comfortable. The tent was clean and the bedding was plush and well-insulated to handle the cold night temperatures. Compact quarters, no electricity and no television added to the experience and encouraged more conversation and interaction within the family. Starting the wood stove did take some skill as the fire logs were somewhat "green" at times.

During our stay, we did several activities. They had a raft-building activity which I completed in about 2 hours and successfully circumnavigated the pond circular with several of my kids (and the kids of some other parents). We also made homemade pizzas in the outdoor brick oven and made a stew over our outdoor campfire pit.

One of the best parts of this experience was the communal spirit that was fostered. We quickly met the other families and our kids soon became friends with some of the other kids. The sense of community was amazing.

There is an honesty shop where you can purchase certain supplies and food -- keep in mind that the supplies are very limited but the costs are reasonable. I would not order the Reddy Beddy where they prepare the linens on the beds before you arrive. They charged us £30 for 6 people which seems way overpriced for 2 beds and a bunk bed.

A couple drawbacks:
1) Even though the days were sunny and pleasant, the nights were quite cold. The small wood burning stove does not keep the tent warm once the temperature starts to drop at night. You need to consider this if you are staying in the Spring or Autumn. The bed duvets are well insulated and will keep you warm but once you leave bed and move about the tent, you will be very cold.

2) The hosts were sometimes cold and prickly as well. Jo, the matriarch and her daughter Jill were sometimes unpleasant to us and at times made the visit uncomfortable. There was an expectation that you should know exactly what to do even if it was your first time to stay at a Featherdown. Conversely, they could be pleasant and helpful at other times. On balance, their son Rob was extremely kind and helpful. He showed the group around the farm and was very friendly to the kids.

Room Tip: Try to get a tent closer to the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank circlewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We had the most amazing stay at Sunninglye farm, the family were great, really helpful with great senes of humour ( which you need when camping even if its supposed to be the luxury type)

Jo was a great host and was really touched by her kindness when my little girl wasn't feeling very well...We will DEFINATELY be back !

PS If Jo has any of her homemade dinners available try them their delicious

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We visited Sunninglye with our two children, 2 and 5 months, as well as my mother, my mother in law, my sister and her children, 8 & 10. Jo, Gill and the rest of the family were charming and welcoming and the tents were cosy. We took plenty of blankets but didn't need them. Simply stoke up the fire and revel in your thick duvet (NOT feather duvets unfortunately, given the name)!
We had a magical time, with the kids running wild, spotting deer and listening for owls, whittling arrows and building swings and rafts.
We couldn't have asked for a better holiday. Fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotusmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I have just returned from what was a truely wonderful experience at Sunninglye Farm. The Farmer, Jo wasn't a great host, but the rest of her family made up for her short comings. My boys had a real messing about of the river adventure and the rafting was the highlight of the holiday. It really was everything the brochure said it was. The views from the small hilltop were amazing and the kids got to roam about in the 120 acres of land.

This is my third Featherdown Farm experience and Sunninglye is my favourite. I even got a smile from Jo the Farmer by the end of the weekend.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lucindajane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Just spent a long weekend at Sunninglye Farm with husband and 3 children ranging from 9 - 14 years so a bit older than most of the others that were staying there. We were met by Jo, who showed us round our tent (very grand!) and explained how it all worked - she was very helpful throughout the weekend. We had a tour of the whole farm taking us through the woods and across the stream, passed the deer hide and on to the pond where the kids had a hoot paddling around in the boat. The view from our tent was spectacular. We only left the site once to have lunch at a local pub! Chickens roam free so the youngest spent most of the time seeing how many eggs she could collect. All in all well worth a visit. the tents are set in such a way that you aren't overlooked at all so it feels like you're the only one there...lovely.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fizpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
3.3 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
4.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Vineyard Inn
The Vineyard Inn
#2 of 3 in Lamberhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Crossways Groombridge
The Crossways Groombridge
#1 of 3 in Groombridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feather Down Farms at Sunninglye Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feather Down Farms at Sunninglye Farm

Property: Feather Down Farms at Sunninglye Farm
Address: Bell Yews Green, Royal Tunbridge Wells, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Feather Down Farms At Sunninglye Farm Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing