We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not Disapointed”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Not expecting too much from a 'Western Theme' hotel in Tunbridge Wells we went with friends for a quick overnight break.
From the outside the building is very imposing and the western theme wears well on the old station. Plenty of free parking at the rear, which is always welcome. Inside the first thing you notice is it's saloon style and I have to say that it's not bad. Having travelled the Mid West they have certainly done their homework. Some may think it's a pastiche but these places do exist out there. Check-in is at one end of the bar and very efficient. We were a little early but all was ready for us. A nice touch was we were shown to the rooms and the facilities explained to us. On the way back down we accidently stopped at the bar for the next couple of hours. And what a bar it is. A huge range of American beers. Comfy corners or bar saddles. So many free snacks including popcorn, monkey nuts and tortilla chips that you could save the price of a meal in the restaurant! If you hate country music this may not be the place for you as it's piped non stop in the bar and restaurant. But saying that I heard just about every variation on a theme in the time we spent there. Blues to Bluegrass.
So tacky cowboy rooms. Not really. It just all works. Sure the fittings and fixtures are western overload but it just looks right, even a little understated compared to some lodges I've stayed at. So in the room, which I would say is larger than average, you have a full size desk, a wardrobe, double bed, a chair or two, flat screen TV and capsule drinks machine. A nice up to date shower and toilet unit, again above average size. And as a bonus the shower had a pump, so good firm pressure. No aircon but two huge sash windows that opened fully. We looked out onto the supermarket car park but after it closed no noise at all. Minor moan, curtains are a bit thin. Blackouts would be better. Standard size double bed but not uncomfortable and a feather duvet as a cover. Extra pillows in the wardrobe. Loads of towels and really good quality.
The most impressive thing about the room was it was spotlessly clean, it just looked so clean that I did something I've never done before, the dust search test. Tops of mirrors, door frames etc. Nothing. This is the cleanest hotel I've have ever stayed at. Perhaps I was just lucky but I don't think so.
So after booking what could have been a theme night disaster we found a bit of a gem. I'm ready to go back there already.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackrat751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    88
    26
    3
    7
See reviews for
33
136
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed one night as we were in town for a wedding. Great hotel and fantastic service. The wedding was at an upscale hotel nearby and boy were we glad we stayed here. Would highly recommend this place if you can see past the cowboy theme!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We just had a lovely night at Smith and west. The rooms are perfect, its one of the few hotels where everything is well designed and just works. The decor is nice, within the boundaries of a wild west theme. The shower works, which is seldom the case in many hotels. The rooms are very well laid out and the beds are comfy. To top it off the service was outstanding.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fodfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troon,scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is really fantastic value for a short stay. Lovely staff, great breakfast and a really good double bedded room.
The bedroom has a generous sized bathroom with a power shower and a bonus for me - a mini tassimo for an Americano, in the morning.
Everything spotless at the Smith and Western and if you are around in the evening 'mosey on down' to the diner for some Tex-mex !
If I go back to TW, it will be at the Smith and Western.

Room Tip: I think, all the rooms are laid out the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The attention to detail to make the Western theme interesting and funny was great. The food was delicious and the helpings were generous. The bedrooms were very clean and neat and again had the western theme. We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meascott27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed here while attending a friend's wedding in Wadhurst. Was a bit concerned about the American cowboy theme before arriving, but in fact it was well done and not overdone. The staff were super-friendly, the room (Mohawk) was spacious enough and very clean, and the breakfast was more than enough. It's in a great location (bus stop next door with the 1GBP shopper hopper to along the main parts of town all day long, 10 minutes walk to the Pantiles, 5 minutes cab ride to the Tunbridge Wells train station... Sainsburys open early and late every day right behind the property). The only things that bothered me a bit were: 1) the wi-fi both in the room and in the restaurant area was spotty, and 2) the noise from the neighbours across the hall banging their doors shut early in the morning (because the place is small so the corridor is narrow between the rooms) as they were packing and moving stuff out of their room to check out... but I suppose that can happen anywhere. Otherwise, if you're headed to Tunbridge Wells, I'd highly recommend this place,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wongamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights recently and will certainly be returning. Was made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff. The rooms were absolutely lovely, we stayed in the Comanche room, couldn't fault it at all. Had a fabulous meal there in the evening and the breakfast was amazing too. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
3.2 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells

Property: Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Address: Linden Park Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN2 5QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
Smith And Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing