We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its neither a Hotel or a Spa”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Spa Hotel
London UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Its neither a Hotel or a Spa”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

ho·tel
"place for overnight stay: a building or commercial establishment where people pay for lodging, and where meals and other facilities such as conference rooms are often available"

spa
"resort with bathing and mineral water: a resort with mineral springs"

I Checked in with an open mind as always having read the negative hotel reviews. Having been asked for my credit card for 'Pre-Authorisation' I was immediately charged the full amount of the room. Having been given the key, I was directed to the room via the lift to the 3rd floor only to find that our designated room was on a seperate part of the hotel up a flight of stairs ( which isn't easy with 2 young children/luggage and a buggy).

Quality of the room resembled a simple B&B which made the Grosvenor hotel in Torquay look simply luxurious ( Sorry Mark !), with dated fixtures and fittings. Unfortunatley the Spa failed to impress which resembled a local authority swiming pool from the 80's,dated and dirty and in need of refurishment.

On a positive note the hotel's wifi is free and available throughout

Room Tip: Try the Travel Lodge next door or maybe the Hotel Du Vin for a touch of class
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mapmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you found the stairs difficult – we do have a lift but this does not service every single room due to the age of the building. Since acquiring the hotel in 2007 we have invested several million pounds in an extensive refurbishment programme, which is on-going. A scheme to improve and enlarge the spa area is being worked on, but this will ultimately depend on planning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    229
    134
    55
    30
See reviews for
114
268
30
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexleyheath
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is very overpriced and very average, we were at a wedding at high rocks and decided to stay here because the wedding party were. The room had a four poster woooo which was made from old panels very small and noisy when you moved, the room was stuffy and musty we had to open the windows and go out to let it air. We had lunch in the refurbished bar which to be fair was not too bad apart from the bar manager who constantly rucked his staff at every opportunity and for no real reason. I did not realise that for my £200 it was room only and they then charged £30 extra for the worst breakfast I have ever had in a hotel and on a Sunday 8/10am for breakfast is rediculas, cold toast, wet bacon, no eggs and staff that could not be bothered at all and all served in a massive room with zero caracter, trust me on this stay in the hotel du vin and by pass this at all costs. Thank god the wedding was good,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisb1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We normally receive positive comments regarding our breakfasts, however we would always encourage any guests to raise their concerns with the Duty Manager so that any problems can be swiftly rectified at the time. We are also sorry that you did not like our 4 Poster Room. Since acquiring the hotel in 2007 we have invested several million pounds in an extensive refurbishment programme, which is on-going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We use the venue a lot for work, quiet hotel, polite, clean hotel with nice grounds. Always a happy returning customer. Prices at the bar are pricy. Conference room is big. Help on tap as much as you need.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Booked one twin and one double for me and my sisters. The trip was to deliver a memorial to our mother who lived in the area so the Spa, being one of the oldest and most established hotels was of course our choice.

Old iconic hotel, beautiful old building and nicely decorated. Very comfortable and well equipped rooms, although very warm. Nice spa area with pool which was good but small.

Rather worryingly I booked in for the two rooms and took the keys with me while out visiting an old friend. I gave no names as to who the rooms were for (other than me). Being unable to get hold of me, my sister who arrived while I was out simply said she was staying with me and they gave her a key - no questions asked. I was not particularly comfortable with this.

Service was lacking and generally slow Our coffee order was forgotten. Our side of chips for lunch arrived as we were finishing our meal. Breakfast was nice with a good selection but disappointing service - we had to stack up used plates because we were running out of room, only one very small pot of milk for two taking coffee, and not one smile to be seen!

I am glad we stayed there as it was very comfortable, an old established part of Tunbridge Wells, and with three sisters nattering it didn't really matter if things were forgotten as we were there for other reasons, but I would have been very disappointed if I had chosen the hotel because of its standing and on a tourist basis.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojitomates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaffrey, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Before I list all of the positive aspects of staying at the Spa Hotel, I must caution that, for
travelers who appreciate calm and quiet, weekend stays at the Spa Hotel must be avoided.
The Hotel is a major venue for weddings, and with that come the noise and occasional
alcohol-fueled misbehavior of wedding guests. For long stays, check in on a Sunday evening,
and depart on a Friday morning...and your visit will be restful. Food at the Hotel is impeccably
fresh; one can dine healthfully and elegantly. The staff is uniformly helpful and professional.
During weekday nights, one can sleep--with windows open--and not hear a sound.
The new-ish owners of the Hotel are gradually redecorating, and the spaces within the complex
that have been freshened provide a nice mix of contemporary and traditional design.
I didn't avail myself of the Spa's SPA...their health center...and so cannot comment on that aspect of the Hotel's offerings. Finally, extensive and lovely private parklands lie behind the Hotel.

Room Tip: Book a newly-redecorated Contemporary Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have stayed in cheaper hotels in tunbridge wells, but It is worth paying a little bit more to stay here. We stayed for a wedding and were pleased with the whole experience. The room was a good size,with a very large bathroom. Comfortable bed with good fixtures and fittings, which all helped to provide us with a great nights sleep. The grounds and location are both brilliant, with the town easily accessible.
My only recommendation would be to extend the serving hours for breakfast as some of our group woke up after 10 and had missed all of the food. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Went to The Spa Hotel at Royal Tun Wells, it was as good as when I went last time, good parking, very close to the town walking distance, to the Pantiles, which everyone should go to see, and take the waters (taste etc) supposed to be very good for you. Hotel has lovely gardens, very roomy reception, plenty of space to have afternoon tea etc and meet people.
First class restaurant, beautiful dinning room very placitual, food and service very good, right for a 4 star Hotel, but not over expensive.
If you want to stay in Tunbridge Wells then this is the place to go. Paul and Joan Bennett

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Tunbridge Wells
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
868 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.6 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
225 reviews
20.0 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
0.6 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th century mansion is situated within 14 acres of beautiful gardens and grounds, just a short walk from the town centre. Facilities include 70 bedrooms, spa and leisure club, contemporary bar and award winning restaurant, ample free car parking and wifi. The Hotel has undergone significant, sympathetic refurbishment since it was purchased by the Scragg family in 2007 and is now the Hotel of choice in Royal Tunbridge Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
The Spa Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing