We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant enough, but honestly... I prefer Premier Inn & a Beefeater anyday!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Spa Hotel
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough, but honestly... I prefer Premier Inn & a Beefeater anyday!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

As I was travelling alone on business and unable to find a Premier Inn locally, this was in the right place at the right time. Looked very nice on the web site etc.... so booked it. Then I reviewed the hotels very elaborate menu and found it to be really expensive (e.g 8oz steak £36!), with little choice of "normal" day to day food which is what I want to eat at the end of a working day, not high end "posh" food.... I also noted that the breakfast was priced at £13.95 per person. I decided to pick up a nice salad from M & S and chose not to have breakfast at that price...I would go elsewhere. On arrival, everything went smoothly, checked in and located my room. This was clean and well presented. I eventually found the kettle and refreshments in a small hidden cupboard...what a relief...a cup of tea! - this is not labelled and it is not obvious what is contained. I did not leave my room, but found the staff friendly enough on check in and departure. Overall, pleasant enough, but honestly... I prefer Premier inn & a Beefeater anyday!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    215
    119
    49
    29
See reviews for
101
239
23
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Spa hotel on my wedding night and had a great time - the room was beautiful and the breakfast very generous. In particular, the reservations team was very helpful indeed in stepping in and helping our party ensure that we all had somewhere to stay after a rival hotel let us down (the wedding itself was not at the hotel). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouandstuJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend on valentines day 2014, the hotel itself is beautiful! The staff were unhelpful and grumpy, clearly find it too hard to even raise a smile, room smelt of damp and wasn't that clean! the beds weren't that comfy at all and the service was very poor! Took nearly half an hour just to get a drink! I think I will avoid next time and just get a travelodge.....

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgieee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We had a very successful valentines night and your comments do not reflect the feedback that we received from other guests. We are always very concerned when guests do not enjoy their stay, however it is a little difficult to investigate this some 4 months later. We always ask guests to raise any issues that they may have during their stay with management so that we may swiftly rectify any problems there and then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

After a disappointing day traveling and being stuck in traffic for hours I go to Tonbridge and went to the Premier Inn which was fully booked. Now even more frustrated I looked at the list of the nearest hotel and within 5-miles was 'The Spa' - slightly more cost than the Premier Inn unsure about booking but in the mood I was in I couldn't be bothered - I just needed a room to settle down in.

OMG - From the moment stepping into the hotel and the lovely lady in reception all the way through to the next day I felt so relieved in booking this hotel. The staff are so courteous and caring, prices are reasonable the room was fantastic and little touches such as complimentary bottled water, trouser press, Iron, fantastic internet connect not just within the hotel but also within the grounds. I didn't use the complimentary gym and sauna facility but I can imagine its great !

With the weather touch 20deg I sat outside and had my dinner overlooking acres of land and forest - superb !! The staff were also tremendous and couldn't fault this hotel at all. This hotel and the staff are brilliant and I recommend this to anyone wanting to get away from the stresses and strains for modern day life........beautiful surroundings, food and great staff. Well done guys and rest assured I will be returning but instead of a business trip my wife and I look forward to spending a week with you.

Keep up the good ! I do travel a lot for business but certainly one of the best nights I've had at any hotel !! Sad to leave !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zafiqbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This review is based on the use of the Restaurant only as we did not book accommodation. Fantastic afternoon tea with my mum. Pricey but service great and all those tiny cakes and finger sandwiches were extremely satisfying. Simply fab.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Younkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We enjoyed our weekend break, when we visited the swimming pool and had dinner in the restaurant, as well as drinks and lunch in the bar.
Our room was lovely, and staff were all friendly and helpful.
Restaurant was expensive, but high quality food and service in luxurious surroundings.
Pool was disappointing - the swimming pool itself is very small, and we didn't use the sauna as it was separated for male and female. When you are away for a romantic weekend, couples would surely choose to visit the sauna together?!

Room Tip: Our room faced the front, and was very large, with bay window overlooking the front. We were very pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Excellent part buffet style breakfast with freshly cooked English plate. Good sandwich lunch served in the comfortable lounge. Enjoyable supper in the recently refurbished Bar. The staff are well trained in a formal style despite what the odd reviewer might say and I have particularly enjoy this aspect of my regular visits. The rooms are are pretty good size and everything works, is clean and well suited to guests who like more traditional style hotels. Air-con in all rooms to my knowledge. There is a very good gym with sauna and steam room. The pool is more a relaxing pool, not one for triathlon training! Tennis court too. Sky sports on the TV, free internet, easy access without getting embroiled in the main part of the town but not too far to walk in across the common for the fitter amongst you. I think it would be a struggle to find much to complain about and if there is I would have every confidence that it would be swiftly put right if addressed to the duty manager in a reasonable manner.

Room Tip: There is some road noise to the front facing rooms but not a real problem. It is a popular wedding h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cicero57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Tunbridge Wells
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
20.1 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.6 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th century mansion is situated within 14 acres of beautiful gardens and grounds, just a short walk from the town centre. Facilities include 70 bedrooms, spa and leisure club, contemporary bar and award winning restaurant, ample free car parking and wifi. The Hotel has undergone significant, sympathetic refurbishment since it was purchased by the Scragg family in 2007 and is now the Hotel of choice in Royal Tunbridge Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
The Spa Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing