We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent traditional hotel with superb facilities”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Spa Hotel
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I stopped at the Spa for the one night in July after attending a social event in the area. Parking was convenient and secure, the staff at reception were very efficient and welcoming and even our room - which we hadn't bothered to upgrade - was far better than we would normally expect for a standard room.

We dined very well in the hotel's smart new Brasserie where we received friendly and helpful service and then the following morning enjoyed a faultless Full English breakfast in the main dining room before checking out. All in all this was a delightful and very well-run place and we would be pleased to stay there again when next in the area (and perhaps enjoy the pool which the lack of time prevented us from doing during our brief stay).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghostbuster1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

really nice hotel set in gardens with lots of places to sit. Had evening meal in main restaurant and was pleasantly surprised by quality of food . All staff we encountered were very friendly.our 3 rooms were spacious . Spent time in spa had facial and massage which was lovely. there is a pool and gym for residents to use which is handy after all that food.
Only downside was that spa unable to provide dressing gowns that fitted for anyone over size 16 .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in The Royal Spa overnight for work purpose and I was really pleased with the hotel. It had a nice royal antique feel to it and the location was quiet and peaceful. The staff were very friendly and very welcoming and made time to answer my general questions about Tunbridge Wells. The rooms were small, but still spacious and comfortable. The breakfast has plenty of choice and there was range of food and drinks options to choose from at the bar too. The hotel is pretty close to the town centre too -about 20 mins walk. I would recommend staying at The Spa, if you are visiting Tunbridge Wells, regardless if it is for business or for pleasure.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Miss_S_M24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our daughter and now son-in-law decided to get married at The Spa. From the first meeting with the coordinator until the day of the wedding everything ran very smoothly. My daughter and I stayed at the hotel the night before the wedding and the staff were very welcoming and accommodating. There was a wedding on the day we arrived and at 1am guests were smoking and making noises under our open window, my daughter called reception and explained that she was the bride the next day and the receptionist went out and asked the guests to move away from the window (we would not have normally complained and it was obvious the guests were unaware we could hear them and they kindly moved on). The day itself was amazing from start to finish. The staff were very attentive the whole time, nothing was any trouble. Guests from our wedding are still talking about the wonderful meal, the beautiful venue with its huge grounds (wonderful photo opportunities). I saw a few of the rooms our guests stayed in and they were all different, good sized and everything you need. Would we stay here again? Definitely. Thank you to all the staff for making the day extra special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here overnight on business. It's a beautiful hotel with real old world charm. The room was beautifully laid out and made the most of the small space. The bathroom was spotless, air con was effective and the bed was really comfy. Staff throughout the hotel were very pleasant and said hello as you passed them. My meal in the bar that night was tasty and washed down with some excellent pints of Peroni on draft. Breakfast was disappointing. Runny eggs and sausages that had seen a little too much of the grill. I didn't eat much of it. Overall though it was a very pleasant stay in a beautiful part of england and I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julian_Swann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Wonderful quaint little hotel. The rooms are small, clean and very comfortable. The staff were helpful and professional. The bar serves a cappuccino that rivals anything you will be served in Italy. And the prices are more then reasonable. I'd go back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I'll keep this snappy-ish, as I could go on and on
Check in: They can't find my booking, so I give the young lady the reservation number. She informs me I was booked for the previous day. So I show her the booking request / confirmation, which clearly showed I was correct. She apologises and informs me she can sort a room out for me, and proceeds to check me in, after a lot of faffing about. Then she informed my I need to sort out the wrong booking, as my company may well be charged! Not happy, but at least I'm not trying to find a room in another hotel.
The room part 1: I open the door and all appears to be in order. I need the toilet so go to switch the light on and nothing! I try the other room lights and nothing. I try the TV as I can't be bothered to go back down to reception. I works, so I can get by.
The bar: I change and go down for a bar meal. I order a pint and charge it to my room. The young guy behind the bar comes over and informs me I can't charge anything to my room as I haven't a credit facility. So, I explain to him the booking error and tell him I'll get my card once I've finished my meal. No he has to have it before hand. Why didn't the receptionist take a swipe when I checked in (I thought nothing of it as my bill and extras are all charged back to the company account). Ok, I go to my room, get my card and return to the bar. He tells me he'll come across to my table and get it. After about 10 minutes of farting about serving others at the bar, he finally appears. He takes my order and I offer my card, he then proceeds to tell me he'll get it later.
I order my food, which was up to the usual high standard.
The room part 2: No lights, but I've got TV. I decided to brush my teeth before bed. Turn on the sink tap in the darkening bathroom, and it's the hot tap. Ok, it's the other tap. Ah, that's the tap that doesn't work. A trickle of water that would take about 5 minutes to fill a cup. OK, lets grab the bottled water to rinse my mouth out. The bath taps work, so there's a slim chance of a shower in the morning.

I've yet to check out, so fingers crossed.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank motobrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa2000, General Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately without a date and room number, or guest name, it is very difficult to investigate such comments. However we would once again reiterate the importance of raising any issues with the Duty Manager. If we are not made aware of issues, we cannot address them. We are sorry that your card was not pre-authorised on arrival, however our Barman was following our procedures. Further training has been arranged in how to deal with such situations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
912 reviews
3 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.6 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
295 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Camden Arms
The Camden Arms
#1 of 2 in Pembury
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Address: Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: £82 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th century mansion is situated within 14 acres of beautiful gardens and grounds, just a short walk from the town centre. Facilities include 70 bedrooms, spa and leisure club, contemporary bar and award winning restaurant, ample free car parking and wifi. The Hotel has undergone significant, sympathetic refurbishment since it was purchased by the Scragg family in 2007 and is now the Hotel of choice in Royal Tunbridge Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
The Spa Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing