We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous experience and hotel”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spa Hotel
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fabulous experience and hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

amazing hotel and spa. had a fantastic weekend. staff extremely helpful and friendly, really made you feel special and at home. the spa experience was great so relaxing, would recommend to everyone. beautiful settings, excellent luxurious bedrooms, excellent food, fabulous staff and relaxing spa sessions and facilities. stayed overnight as part of a girly weekend, with family and friends. cannot wait to do it all again. thank you to all the staff for a amazing time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jengar3126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    220
    121
    51
    30
See reviews for
107
249
26
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I stopped at the Spa for the one night in July after attending a social event in the area. Parking was convenient and secure, the staff at reception were very efficient and welcoming and even our room - which we hadn't bothered to upgrade - was far better than we would normally expect for a standard room.

We dined very well in the hotel's smart new Brasserie where we received friendly and helpful service and then the following morning enjoyed a faultless Full English breakfast in the main dining room before checking out. All in all this was a delightful and very well-run place and we would be pleased to stay there again when next in the area (and perhaps enjoy the pool which the lack of time prevented us from doing during our brief stay).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghostbuster1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Ockendon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

really nice hotel set in gardens with lots of places to sit. Had evening meal in main restaurant and was pleasantly surprised by quality of food . All staff we encountered were very friendly.our 3 rooms were spacious . Spent time in spa had facial and massage which was lovely. there is a pool and gym for residents to use which is handy after all that food.
Only downside was that spa unable to provide dressing gowns that fitted for anyone over size 16 .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in The Royal Spa overnight for work purpose and I was really pleased with the hotel. It had a nice royal antique feel to it and the location was quiet and peaceful. The staff were very friendly and very welcoming and made time to answer my general questions about Tunbridge Wells. The rooms were small, but still spacious and comfortable. The breakfast has plenty of choice and there was range of food and drinks options to choose from at the bar too. The hotel is pretty close to the town centre too -about 20 mins walk. I would recommend staying at The Spa, if you are visiting Tunbridge Wells, regardless if it is for business or for pleasure.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miss_S_M24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our daughter and now son-in-law decided to get married at The Spa. From the first meeting with the coordinator until the day of the wedding everything ran very smoothly. My daughter and I stayed at the hotel the night before the wedding and the staff were very welcoming and accommodating. There was a wedding on the day we arrived and at 1am guests were smoking and making noises under our open window, my daughter called reception and explained that she was the bride the next day and the receptionist went out and asked the guests to move away from the window (we would not have normally complained and it was obvious the guests were unaware we could hear them and they kindly moved on). The day itself was amazing from start to finish. The staff were very attentive the whole time, nothing was any trouble. Guests from our wedding are still talking about the wonderful meal, the beautiful venue with its huge grounds (wonderful photo opportunities). I saw a few of the rooms our guests stayed in and they were all different, good sized and everything you need. Would we stay here again? Definitely. Thank you to all the staff for making the day extra special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluetopaz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here overnight on business. It's a beautiful hotel with real old world charm. The room was beautifully laid out and made the most of the small space. The bathroom was spotless, air con was effective and the bed was really comfy. Staff throughout the hotel were very pleasant and said hello as you passed them. My meal in the bar that night was tasty and washed down with some excellent pints of Peroni on draft. Breakfast was disappointing. Runny eggs and sausages that had seen a little too much of the grill. I didn't eat much of it. Overall though it was a very pleasant stay in a beautiful part of england and I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian_Swann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echo Beach
Level Contributor
277 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful quaint little hotel. The rooms are small, clean and very comfortable. The staff were helpful and professional. The bar serves a cappuccino that rivals anything you will be served in Italy. And the prices are more then reasonable. I'd go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Tunbridge Wells
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
20.0 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.6 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th century mansion is situated within 14 acres of beautiful gardens and grounds, just a short walk from the town centre. Facilities include 70 bedrooms, spa and leisure club, contemporary bar and award winning restaurant, ample free car parking and wifi. The Hotel has undergone significant, sympathetic refurbishment since it was purchased by the Scragg family in 2007 and is now the Hotel of choice in Royal Tunbridge Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
The Spa Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing