We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”
Review of Danehurst House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Danehurst House
Certificate of Excellence
KENT
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

First thing to do is to make sure that you have the correct address in your SAT NAV as there is another road with the same name at Pembury about 7 miles away. Upon eventual arrival at Danehurst we were delighted with the accomodation. The room was well appointed and very restfull. The breakfast was large enough to last you for the day and was presented perfectly. The lady who runs the business is as nice a person who you could wish to meet, along with her husband Mike, Angela deserves every success.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUPAGRANDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
93
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Having looked around for other B&B and reading reviews, I decided to book a night for my hubby and I since we were in the area for 2 days. Excellent decision! This is a lovely guesthouse: the moment you drive through the gate you are welcomed by a well-cared garden and then when you walk in, your eyes are greeted by elegant decor, your feet enjoy plush carpets and you can even tuck into a sweet on the way up the stairs if you fancy one! Rooms are tastefully appointed with extra complimentary touches one would expect in an upmarket hotel (which is just as well as we did forget the shaver busy charging at home and my emery board had vanished somewhere else!). Superb breakfast - loved the granary homemade bread and my only complaint was that I never had enough capacity to finish it with some homemade jam! Children under 8 not allowed but this is one place that is nice to keep for some adult time!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingshurst, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have stayed in hotels from USA - Russia from Iceland - South Africa I could honestly say that this hotel would rate in my top three....for attentibe service and super cleanliness. The most amazing breakfast too.....

Room Tip: They are all good.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We decided to take a two night break at Danehurst House having seen a small feature in the Sunday Mirror magazine. We thought that perhaps it couldn't possibly live up to the excellent reviews that appear here and elsewhere, but we were wrong. Everything is provided to make guests feel completely spoiled. From the tastefully decorated, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean bedroom to the luxurious and fabulously stocked en-suite shower room everything you could possibly want is at hand. The quality and sheer variety of the breakfast each morning is of a standard that would put many 5 star hotels to shame. If you are ever in need of somewhere to stay in this area of the South East then you will struggle to find anywhere even half as good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennandLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We booked this B&B on the basis of other reviews and quite frankly it may be hard to add too much more. The owner, Angela and her husband, Mike, have worked hard for a number of years at Danehurst and have an exceptional place for guests to stay. E.g. the choice at breakfast with many homemade items and the sheer quality of everything else that was offered at the meal. We especially liked the guest lounge - spacious, warm and inviting. Our room was fine with every possible thing a guest could want in both the bedroom and the shower-room. We had asked for the room to be made up into a twin and this did, though, perhaps, cut down on the available space for our luggage to be left as we stayed three nights. We are not a fan of duvets and without any problem our bedding was changed to sheets and blankets. Angela seemed unfazed by anything. An excellent host and we would recommend Danehurst to anyone without hesitation.

Room Tip: We did peer into the other three rooms when they were vacant. Our room, Poppy, was fine, but the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Was brought here as a surprise for my birthday and I loved it! Champagne was left in the room and chilled for our arrival. Breakfast is amazing and hand made bread every morning. Room was tidied when we went out! Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annapatriciauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Everybody has, quite deservedly so, heaped a lot of praise on this beautifully run B&B already and we absolutely endorse all the good points raised. Quality and service are excellent throughout, the owners really go the extra mile, and overall we had a lovely five night stay here. Besides the many good points, there are also a few negative ones and highlighting them does not mean they outweigh the good ones, but must be mentioned.

* the bedroom in which we were staying was really quite small (including the bed) - not enough space to have a suitcase open, but lots of hanging and storage space and the hostess very kindly gave us the use of an adjoining bedroom which was most helpful and appreciated;

* due to this lack of space, our belongings were regularly tidied away and we were constantly hunting for them. I am all for tidiness, but do also want to feel that my things are private;

* we found it overly organised: having doilies everywhere and trays on which you are asked to put your shoes;

* the heating was either very high or turned off to cold when we returned home from our day;

* some painting was being done in an adjacent room, giving a somewhat unpleasant feel as we came in and out;

* a friend of mine arrived to pick me up and was rudely told to wait on a small doormat by the front door, as she had mud on her shoes. She was too shocked to say anything herself but when I decided to apologise on her behalf later on, something I thought was polite rather than necessary, I was asked if she was a good friend of mine (she is!) as she hadn't seen fit to apologise herself! I am a fan of high standards, but really these things do happen, it wasn't the end of the world, and I certainly didn't think this was an acceptable way to treat a guest - either her or me. Unfortunately this contributed to my fiance and I feeling like unwelcome guests in someone else's home because we were not able to fully relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsSparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaJane649, Owner at Danehurst House, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for your balanced comments.We have reflected on the incident with your friend arriving to collect you and are sorry this influenced your perception of our normal welcome to all our guests.We have also made the Room adjacent to the Sunflower Room( which does have a King size Bed,) a sitting Room and is now part of the suite. We would love to welcome you back perhaps in one of our larger Super King Bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
1.4 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.9 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danehurst House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danehurst House

Property: Danehurst House
Address: 41 Lower Green Road | Rusthall, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Danehurst House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Danehurst House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danehurst House Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing