We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We just keep coming back.”
Review of Danehurst House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Danehurst House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We just keep coming back.”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is now our third stay at Danehurst and we love it as much as we did the first time, Angela and Mike are as lovely and welcoming as always and so far no one has been able to provide a better English breakfast than is served here. Especially having freshly baked bread in the morning is a real treat.
The attention to detail is evident throughout, from a warm fire welcoming you in the reading room downstairs (offering a wide selection of books and magazines) to the little details in the breakfast room.

Our usual room that already looked lovely before has also been updated and now offers a docking station. This place oozes charm and Angela and Mike will go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and you can expect to sleep in a high quality bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
93
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tiptree, Essex
Level Contributor
164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We don't normally book B&B's - as my wife prefers to stay in hotels as opposed to "people's houses". But we were visting Nizels Golf up the road and wanted to stay local for one night and chose Danehurst House based on reviews.

We arrived between 5 and 6pm on a Monday night, and check-in by Angela was very friendly and quick. We were very happy with the room and everything was clean and of a high quality. Obviously the owners care and have high standards themselves. We ate out locally at The Bar & Grill in Tunbridge Wells but the room key opens up the door to the house upon return.

We had been travelling for a couple of days, and eating out, so opted for a light breakfast. It was all fresh and presented perfectly with little fuss - allowing plenty of space.

Check out is by 10:30am.

All in all a very good place to stay in Tunbridge Wells although I think this reinforced our view that we are more "hotel" people than "B&B" as it does feel as if you are staying with family.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at Danehurst this weekend and found it to be a great B&B. Warm welcome, very comfortable bedroom and great breakfast. As a regular traveller staying in 'business hotels' I found this place really refreshing and also all their attention to details (e.g. lots of extra bits and bobs in the bathroom in case you need them, nice tea and coffee and biscuits etc) We were very well looked after by the hosts!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0W0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Excellent! Danehurst House provided a very comfortable base for our visits by car to Rye and Battle and other sites. Top-notch breakfast -- noteworthy homemade granola and bread, but everything else is very fine, too. Ambiance fussy but not oppressively so. Angela and her husband Mike struck us at least as down-to-earth and very effective (e.g., we much appreciated the very light duvet during the heat wave). EVENING MEALS: We prefer to walk and "The Beacon" was recommended by Mike -- exactly 15 minutes as estimated. GREAT view, friendly staff. Superb deserts, good but not outstanding starters and mains. Apart from the extraordinary deserts, quality is similar to that of a Vintage Inn, and the prices were at least a little higher. In Tunbridge Wells proper Mike recommended "The Barn". Quality similar though deserts just ok-to-good, not excellent. No view but less expensive -- MUCH cheaper if one orders from the "before 1930 hrs" menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Another_Over_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
224 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent two enjoyable nights here. A nice house in an attractive setting. Angela was friendly and helpful with some recommendations, and the proper English breakfast in the sunny conservatory was a delight! Only negative is if you do not have your own car, it is a big hike into town and you will need to take taxis into town or to most restaurants. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wymanz2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked Danehurst House due to its location (close to a wedding we were attending) and the many positive reviews - we didn't think it could live up to the rave reviews but it did. We had three generations within our party and all needs were met without hesitation or fuss. Angela is the consummate professional and hostess and her loyal member of staff (Kate) was fantastically accommodating as we messed up her routine by our preparation for the wedding - brilliant! Breakfast is every bit as good as others have stated - perfect.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterHill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KENT
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

First thing to do is to make sure that you have the correct address in your SAT NAV as there is another road with the same name at Pembury about 7 miles away. Upon eventual arrival at Danehurst we were delighted with the accomodation. The room was well appointed and very restfull. The breakfast was large enough to last you for the day and was presented perfectly. The lady who runs the business is as nice a person who you could wish to meet, along with her husband Mike, Angela deserves every success.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUPAGRANDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.4 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.9 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danehurst House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danehurst House

Property: Danehurst House
Address: 41 Lower Green Road | Rusthall, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Danehurst House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Danehurst House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danehurst House Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing