We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you'd expect from a 5 Star, Gold Award, B&B!”
Review of Danehurst House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Danehurst House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Due to a mishap at the B&B we had already booked, we had to find accommodation in the area only 24 hours before arrival. We booked over the phone with Mike, and this was a very calm and easy process.

On arrival, we were warmly greeted by Angela, and shown straight to our room (the 'Lilac Room'), and which was extremely comfortable with high quality furnishings and lots of attention to detail.

We wanted to go out and eat, and were recommended to try 'The Beacon', which is 15 minutes' walk away. We chose to walk, although Angela even offered to run us there. (It's worth the walk, by the way). We were even offered torches and umbrellas.

We found the bed very comfortable, and the atmosphere very quiet, calm and relaxing - having come straight from a family funeral, we were very grateful for this. The bathroom is very well-equipped, clean and modern.

At breakfast, we were again warmly greeted, and served with the breakfast you'd expect from this quality of B&B - plenty of choice of excellent ingredients, nicely cooked and professionally presented, and with generous quantity.

Overall, the service was genuinely attentive and unobtrusive, and very much in the spirit of what we believe a B&B to be, which is staying in someone's home. This is B&B done exceptionally well.

Any negatives really do come down to personal opinions and nit-picking - the only thing which occurred to us, rather later, was that we hadn't been offered any refreshment on arrival. That said, the welcome was extremely hospitable, and the refreshments in our room were comprehensive anyway. We felt very much at ease and at home throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisandJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I decided to spend a nice relaxing weekend in Royal Tunbridge Wells and we found this gem of a bed and breakfast.

Not too far from town (though a definite drive especially on rainy days), this bed and breakfast is class and service combined. Angela and Mike were thoroughly hospitable, the Rose Room in which we stayed was clean, decorated tastefully and with excellent amenities including bath robes and shower slippers as standard. The breakfast was superb with a selection of home made cereals and breads as well as first class cooked breakfast options and refills on their freshly squeezed orange juice.

Both Angela and Mike gave independent recommendations of places to eat for lunch and dinner which were equally superb and which made the weekend that much more relaxing and effortless.

Thank you both for the lovely weekend.

Room Tip: We had the Rose Room which was lovely. We hear the old Sunflower room will become the Peony Room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

1) The room -clean and in good condition
2) the bed was very comfortable/Luxury bedding
3) the breakfast was good
4) the hosts were very friendly and welcoming
5) Nice en-suite bathroom
6) off road parking
7) good wifi signal

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Revelatio00x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We really enjoyed our visit. Graham and Angela have made the place amazing and they clearly have an eye for detail because everything that could be done to make it as comfortable as possible has been done. Whether home made marmalade to iPhone dock in the rooms. Really comfortable bed, and strong shower. The most amazing thing was that we turned up at 10pm and mentioned we were gluten free and Angela set to and baked us some gluten free bread for the morning - and it was outstanding.

Would completely recommend it again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is now our third stay at Danehurst and we love it as much as we did the first time, Angela and Mike are as lovely and welcoming as always and so far no one has been able to provide a better English breakfast than is served here. Especially having freshly baked bread in the morning is a real treat.
The attention to detail is evident throughout, from a warm fire welcoming you in the reading room downstairs (offering a wide selection of books and magazines) to the little details in the breakfast room.

Our usual room that already looked lovely before has also been updated and now offers a docking station. This place oozes charm and Angela and Mike will go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and you can expect to sleep in a high quality bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We don't normally book B&B's - as my wife prefers to stay in hotels as opposed to "people's houses". But we were visting Nizels Golf up the road and wanted to stay local for one night and chose Danehurst House based on reviews.

We arrived between 5 and 6pm on a Monday night, and check-in by Angela was very friendly and quick. We were very happy with the room and everything was clean and of a high quality. Obviously the owners care and have high standards themselves. We ate out locally at The Bar & Grill in Tunbridge Wells but the room key opens up the door to the house upon return.

We had been travelling for a couple of days, and eating out, so opted for a light breakfast. It was all fresh and presented perfectly with little fuss - allowing plenty of space.

Check out is by 10:30am.

All in all a very good place to stay in Tunbridge Wells although I think this reinforced our view that we are more "hotel" people than "B&B" as it does feel as if you are staying with family.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at Danehurst this weekend and found it to be a great B&B. Warm welcome, very comfortable bedroom and great breakfast. As a regular traveller staying in 'business hotels' I found this place really refreshing and also all their attention to details (e.g. lots of extra bits and bobs in the bathroom in case you need them, nice tea and coffee and biscuits etc) We were very well looked after by the hosts!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0W0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
745 reviews
1.4 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Camden Arms
The Camden Arms
#1 of 2 in Pembury
328 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
1.4 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#5 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danehurst House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danehurst House

Address: 41 Lower Green Road | Rusthall, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: £105 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Danehurst House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Danehurst House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danehurst House Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing