We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we could have stayed longer”
Review of Danehurst House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Danehurst House
Certificate of Excellence
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wished we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary on 09/04/2014, and had a really lovely stay. It's a beautiful place, spotlessly clean, very peaceful, and with very warm, but unobtrusive hosts. Our room (the Rose Room) was very homely, and the bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast was outstanding. The bread was home made, and there was a great selection of home made jams etc. The cooked breakfast was superb, really delicious. It totally set me up for the day - I didn't eat again until teatime! I really loved the fact that every table had its own toaster!

All in all, I would definitely return to this B&B, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
96
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Great B and B, but an over night stay did not do it justice. Room extremely comfortable with everything we needed, included a minibar and bath robes, DVD and iPod Dock. Rain shower fantastic. Breakfast plentiful, including homemade compote, and freshly baked bread. Everything spotless. Wished we had time to stay the whole weekend - and made use of the mini bar and bathrobe!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BucksMysteryVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kintbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Due to a mishap at the B&B we had already booked, we had to find accommodation in the area only 24 hours before arrival. We booked over the phone with Mike, and this was a very calm and easy process.

On arrival, we were warmly greeted by Angela, and shown straight to our room (the 'Lilac Room'), and which was extremely comfortable with high quality furnishings and lots of attention to detail.

We wanted to go out and eat, and were recommended to try 'The Beacon', which is 15 minutes' walk away. We chose to walk, although Angela even offered to run us there. (It's worth the walk, by the way). We were even offered torches and umbrellas.

We found the bed very comfortable, and the atmosphere very quiet, calm and relaxing - having come straight from a family funeral, we were very grateful for this. The bathroom is very well-equipped, clean and modern.

At breakfast, we were again warmly greeted, and served with the breakfast you'd expect from this quality of B&B - plenty of choice of excellent ingredients, nicely cooked and professionally presented, and with generous quantity.

Overall, the service was genuinely attentive and unobtrusive, and very much in the spirit of what we believe a B&B to be, which is staying in someone's home. This is B&B done exceptionally well.

Any negatives really do come down to personal opinions and nit-picking - the only thing which occurred to us, rather later, was that we hadn't been offered any refreshment on arrival. That said, the welcome was extremely hospitable, and the refreshments in our room were comprehensive anyway. We felt very much at ease and at home throughout our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisandJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I decided to spend a nice relaxing weekend in Royal Tunbridge Wells and we found this gem of a bed and breakfast.

Not too far from town (though a definite drive especially on rainy days), this bed and breakfast is class and service combined. Angela and Mike were thoroughly hospitable, the Rose Room in which we stayed was clean, decorated tastefully and with excellent amenities including bath robes and shower slippers as standard. The breakfast was superb with a selection of home made cereals and breads as well as first class cooked breakfast options and refills on their freshly squeezed orange juice.

Both Angela and Mike gave independent recommendations of places to eat for lunch and dinner which were equally superb and which made the weekend that much more relaxing and effortless.

Thank you both for the lovely weekend.

Room Tip: We had the Rose Room which was lovely. We hear the old Sunflower room will become the Peony Room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

1) The room -clean and in good condition
2) the bed was very comfortable/Luxury bedding
3) the breakfast was good
4) the hosts were very friendly and welcoming
5) Nice en-suite bathroom
6) off road parking
7) good wifi signal

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revelatio00x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusting, West Sussex, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We really enjoyed our visit. Graham and Angela have made the place amazing and they clearly have an eye for detail because everything that could be done to make it as comfortable as possible has been done. Whether home made marmalade to iPhone dock in the rooms. Really comfortable bed, and strong shower. The most amazing thing was that we turned up at 10pm and mentioned we were gluten free and Angela set to and baked us some gluten free bread for the morning - and it was outstanding.

Would completely recommend it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is now our third stay at Danehurst and we love it as much as we did the first time, Angela and Mike are as lovely and welcoming as always and so far no one has been able to provide a better English breakfast than is served here. Especially having freshly baked bread in the morning is a real treat.
The attention to detail is evident throughout, from a warm fire welcoming you in the reading room downstairs (offering a wide selection of books and magazines) to the little details in the breakfast room.

Our usual room that already looked lovely before has also been updated and now offers a docking station. This place oozes charm and Angela and Mike will go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and you can expect to sleep in a high quality bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
670 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
858 reviews
1.4 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
1.4 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#5 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#13 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danehurst House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danehurst House

Property: Danehurst House
Address: 41 Lower Green Road | Rusthall, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Danehurst House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Danehurst House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danehurst House Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing