We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad But Not Great”
Review of Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Russell Hotel
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not Bad But Not Great”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The main reason for us choosing this hotel was because of its close proximity to the sport/tennis centre which i needed to get to early one morning for a course, so for that it was well placed. The car park is small, very small in fact but honestly i dont think they often have the number of guests to fill it. the welcome was nice and friendly and the hotel in general is quite clean. The rooms are adequate, they come equipped with what you need. Our main problem with the room is that the bathroom is very small, has a shower and a toilet, and if you try and dry yourself after a shower in the bathroom you just end up hitting the wall many a time because of the lack of space. and the sink is located in the room which is really annoying and just doesn't seem right. the decor is quite dated and it is quite old in general. i dont mind old decor in some hotels and squeaky floor boards so this doesnt bother me but some people may have a problem with it. Another issue is one for the cleaners, upon opening the wardrobe we found a large empty vodka bottle, which we have left for them to find it for themselves, but i dont think that they should have missed that. the rooms are all single glazed so it is quite noisy. Also, they have central heating on in all of the rooms for most of the day which is good in a way, but it doesnt go off until 11pm, and you cant turn the radiators down so it gets very hot, which also disturbs your sleep because it is quite an unbearable heat. the breakfast is nice, not much of a selection but the portions are nice and large to fill you up. And the price overall for the hotel is fairly reasonable. overall, it was adequate for our needs but in general i wouldnt choose to come here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milosh96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    46
    47
    29
    31
See reviews for
28
68
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This hotel is such a mixture of experiences. I needed a single for one night, the hotel was deserted, but I ended up in a room at the very top and those staircases are an effort! The attic conversion was ok, but the heating was on full blast all the time and not controllable, it was just too warm - on the staircases the outside windows were jammed wide open - in April! It was still stuffy.
I could have opened the window, but the main road outside was noisy even through the single glazing. The bathroom was simple, basic and in need of renovation. It had a shower head that wandered around like a garden sprinkler, so I at least I got some exercise walking around the cubicle trying to stay under it. Walls were a bit thin up there, presumably plasterboard and the snoring in the next room may not be an issue lower down with solid walls.
They advertise wireless connection in all rooms and have 2 networks. I could not get a link on the top floor, so the work I needed to do could not get done unless I took all my papers and references down to the bar - which was shut because there were so few guests. Apparently, said the helpful night porter, this connectivity is only a problem with tablet computers. Really?!!
Bed comfortable, room clean, adequate storage. View across the Common is ok, but you are at one end where it is narrowing rapidly so there are plenty of houses visible as the other side is nearby.
No restaurant, but there is a really excellent French bistro 5 minutes away and another plus is the main town centre is within easy walking distance and full of restaurants.
The whole place is tired, but they had the decorators in - or out as one side of the hotel was covered in scaffolding. The car park is useful but small and did contain quite a few builders vehicles overnight, so space was limited if arriving in the evening after the working day. Breakfast is plentiful and good, although the five of us in the room were entertained by a row in the kitchen involving a few choice phrases before they were shushed down by the management!
Would I stay there again? No. Too many little frustrations and things I had to sort out for the price, plus finally, as I handed my keys in, the couple behind the desk didn't even respond to my "Thank you", didn't ask if I had enjoyed my stay, didn't even say "Thank you" back but just carried on talking. That's not service.

Room Tip: Ask for the back if you are a light sleeper because of the traffic noise - it will not have the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolomede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels

Handley
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at the Russell Hotel for its location and price. This Victorian Hotel was clean and tidy with rooms nicely presented. The staff were very friendly. For breakfast there was plenty of choice and couldnt be faulted. We enjoyed our stay and would book again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed for the night in a twin room, which was arround £90 per night. The hotel is clean, but the decor is very dated.

It has the potential to be a lovley hotel as the large rooms with very high ceilings. But the 1970's decor does let it down.

The breakfast is ok, although they do use cheap sauages and bacon. There is a good selections and good portion sizes.

I would visit again, if the prices were a little lower.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChangNoi_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This hotel needs knocking down and starting again! I actually stayed in the annex which was a house at the back of the hotel to which I was told was beautiful - don't be fooled! It was like going back in time to the 70's! It had carpet in the bathroom which was a different colour around the sink and toilet - yuck!!! It had extremely thin curtains so when the sun came up it was like someone was shining a touch in my eyes! Single glazed windows so you could really hear the traffic and a heating system which constantly banged! This was so over priced - I was offered a special rate when I booked it to which it's not worth that! It doesn't even deserve 2 stars! The only good thing about it is the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnonymousA568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Was expecting Basil Fawlty to appear at any moment. 1970's decor. Grubby, dated,awful. I just wish I had looked at trip advisor before booking. I booked rooms for some of my friends. They were very sweet and polite and insisted it wasnt too bad but I was mortified!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayitlikeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

the hotel is in the middle of bedsit land.i think it must be used by the dss ..fine..but not when they charge 75 pounds a night..should be tunbridge45 pounds i reckon..close to high st tunbridge gone down hill since the last time i was there ..but very good entertainment in the beuh pub but 3pound70pence for apint of fosters ..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Property: Russell Hotel
Address: 80 London Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Russell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With style and comfort coupled with convenience, this hotel set in the very centre of historic Tunbridge Wells is positioned on the edge of the rural common.The hotel was built as a residence in the Victorian era and became one of the town's leading hotels in the 1920s. Set on the edge of the Tunbridge Wells common, it is only 2 minutes stroll from the shops, restaurants, cafes and theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing