We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Class Service- above and beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Russell Hotel
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st Class Service- above and beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Very friendly staff and management, who provided me with an excellent service; nothing was too much trouble and they happily went above and beyond- definitely a service that only comes with a family run hotel. My room was also very spacious and comfortable with an en-suite that had a bath as well as a shower- quite rare in hotels in my experience but it was lovely being able to have a soak after a long days travelling. My experience was very positive and would happily stay there again- absolutely lovely people who happily go an extra three miles and make their customers very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 83lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    45
    46
    28
    31
See reviews for
27
65
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating as I had my small son with me, the room was spacious and had everything we needed, the breakfast was nice with plenty to choose from. The hotel is very close to all shops and restaurants with just a short walk to get you there. If I was ever to visit again I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BrendanConnieAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we were going to a wedding. Barely spent anytime in the room but it was quite outdated, some wallpaper peeling off, a very odd smelling kitchen and a bathroom that looked like it was decorated in the 40s. The bed was comfortable but we were staying in an odd little annex down the road, no help with the bags as previously said. The staff weren't about very much but this was probably a bonus as they had little personality and weren't friendly at all.

I could ignore all this if the price was reasonable, but it's not. It cost £90 for a night with a mediocre breakfast and really I am still trying to understand how they can charge £90? It is possibly one of the most expensive b&bs I've stayed in and nearly the worst.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamPrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels

Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Looking at the reviews I think this place is being hard done by. I stayed there at the weekend and while the decor and furnishing are rather tired we found it warm, clean and comfortable. I wouldn't want to stay there for long, or for a special occasion but for a stop-over it was fine on price, location and comfort.They get extra points for the breakfast waiter who, when I asked for 'just lots of toast, please', actually brought me what I asked for and turned up with a double helping. In my experience this is unique. If you're looking for a cheap hotel in this area The Russell should fit the bill just fine so long as you don't expect great luxury.

Room Tip: We were in 52 - at the very top of the hotel (no lift) - which is a large, quiet room facing away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexMorvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I think this hotel is ready for a refurb. The rooms were large and spacious and actually, although the decor is somewhat outdated , they were very clean. The heating didn't work in the first room I was allocated so I was moved with no fuss to a second room. The location is good, and the beds comfortable. The bathroom in the triple room was huge and warm but really needs updating. the service was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast pretty average, although my soft boiled were perfectly cooked, the rest was about ok. However compared with some of the rip - off prices in Tunbridge Wells on a Saturday night it was a good value place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank brillandhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel was simply awful, place is falling apart. There were leaks and mold, the side of the bath was coming off. The rooms all had a weird smell like they were trying to disinfect something quite horrid. It was not value for money, the rooms cost 85 pounds a night which was far more than it should have been for the quality. May be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. My mother nearly cried. The only good thing about it is the location as it is right in the center of town. Other than that if was pretty horrific.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllySimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here for one night as were in town for a family celebration nearby. As noted by others the décor in the hotel is pretty dated but it looks like all the carpets have been replaced not that long ago and it makes the place look fairly fresh. The welcome was friendly and efficient and our room was right at the top of the stairs and was actually quite sizeable and had a quirky layout because it was under the eaves. It was perfectly clean. Breakfast was a good, standard full English with plunger coffee and service was very friendly. There was ample free parking. So for £69 for a double in an expensive town, with good clean rooms with a good breakfast, it represents good value for a two star.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillOnTheHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Property: Russell Hotel
Address: 80 London Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Russell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With style and comfort coupled with convenience, this hotel set in the very centre of historic Tunbridge Wells is positioned on the edge of the rural common.The hotel was built as a residence in the Victorian era and became one of the town's leading hotels in the 1920s. Set on the edge of the Tunbridge Wells common, it is only 2 minutes stroll from the shops, restaurants, cafes and theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing