We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Staff were very helpful and courteous and hotel was nice but the windows, despite being double glazed let in a draft so the room was cold and the wifi was terrible in terms of connectivity and strength. Was overall a nice place to stay though but I think it could do with some investment

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    234
    131
    72
    16
See reviews for
130
415
11
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I have never used the hotel itself and would be worried about the sound proofing issues raised by other reviewers.
However, the public areas, bistro and bar, in my experience, are very good and beat all other Hotel Du Vins I have visited. The decor and the staff are great. i have been to the hotel after concerts and have made quite a long journey to eat there at weekends, and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Have stayed in several hotel du vins as we like the style and the food. Only stayed for one night so didn't get a chance to make full use of the all the facilities. The bar felt although it could do with an update. Stayed in the wolf Blass suite - spacious but a bit tired. The beds are so comfy!
Staff in the restaurant were very friendly and the steak hache was stunning!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

At £185 per night, and £50 per head for dinner, this place is not cheap. But the staff really do make a great effort at making your stay feel special. You certainly feel cherished. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable, although the free WiFi is rather flakey. There is a very well stocked minibar.

My wife and I had a very good dinner in the restaurant. Excellent French-style food, and very good house wines.

Excellent, cooked to order English breakfast too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had tickets for Suggs' one man show so booked the HDV fr the evening as it was across the road from the theatre and I had lunched in the bistro a few times before. We arrived around 3.00 pm - car parking is on a first come first served basis so I was pleased to see someone leaving as I arrived - timing could not have been better! We checked in and were immediately offered a complimentary upgrade to a superior room - very nice! Room was fantastic, great shower, great furnishings, very well appointed. Ate a la carte by paying supplement on our D B & B rate - breakfast the following morning was superb - nothing but praise for hotel, location, amenities and staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed in one of the cottage rooms which had fab downstairs bathroom. . Which was huge with a massive walk in shower.
Only issue was waiting over 10 minutes to find someone to serve in the bar. .. it wasn't a busy night and there was no reason to keep people waiting so long

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Having been to this hotel around 6 years ago and having good memories of a very enjoyable stay, I thought it was the ideal place to return to celebrate my 40th birthday.

We booked in for 3 nights dinner b&b in a Principal Room ("Duval"). As previously experienced, we were unable to reserve a car parking space but were told that we could park in the multi storey car park near by if necessary. However, we were fortunate enough to get a space in the car park, although somewhat disappointed that there were lots of "reserved for Mr X" boards out in the car park. Anyway, that wasn't a problem.

The reception staff were friendly and welcoming and we were soon able to relax and enjoy the views over the park from our spacious and bright room. All good, including the chocolate-coated strawberries awaiting us in our room.

One reason for choosing to return to Hotel du Vin was the option to enjoy a good quality evening meal without having to worry about getting taxis or driving. The menu still offers a reasonable selection of cuisine and the quality remains high. There's an extensive selection of quality wines to choose from with at least one sommelier available to discuss options with. So, everything so far was excellent. However, here's where things started to go wrong: there was a large table of 10 (possibly more) for dinner eating adjacent to us. They were clearly on some kind of office / work party and had by 8pm clearly consumed more alcohol than was necessary. Our evening meal was somewhat dominated by the discussion and raucous behaviour from the "party table". Still, this wasn't so bad.

We retired to our room around 11pm, not late for a Friday night we admit. However, we were awoken around 12.15am by some of the "party" table returning to their rooms having loud drunken conversations on the stairs and continuing in the corridor outside our room. Now, this is the big problem: there is virtually no sound insulation between the room we were staying in and the corridor. We had to double check that the people weren't actually inside our room! After being awoken at 12.15am, we were then kept awake for the next 30-45mins by couples from the party returning in "dribs and drabs" to their rooms. The finale was particularly special; the topic of their conversation was one that was extremely embarrassing for us, and of an extremely explicit adult nature - should children have been listening this would have been a disaster. This ruined our night's sleep and to some degree spoilt the atmosphere for us for the remainder of our stay.

The next morning, we spoke with the reception staff about the previous night's experience, and they were clearly equally embarrassed by the topic of the conversation and told us that a senior member of the management team would get in touch. This is where Hotel du Vin loses another rating star - no effort was made to contact us. We were visible and around in the hotel for most of the Saturday and indeed dined in the restaurant again that evening, and had breakfast the following morning. We thought maybe someone would be in touch, but absolute silence. We cancelled our intended 3rd night's stay, paid our £733 bill for two nights and left. Oh, we were told we could have a "free room upgrade" by the reception staff if we were to come back again.. Whilst the hotel cannot be held accountable for all its guests, it certainly needs to do something about sound proofing between rooms and corridors.

Since returning home, there's been no attempt by anyone at the hotel to contact us - so will still haven't heard from the senior management as promised. They have our contact details as we provided these as part of the checking-in process. To me, this feels like a prime example of poor management and poor customer service. Will we return? - maybe if they can improve the sound-proofing and do something to discourage the unsavoury from using the hotel.

My advice to anyone thinking about staying here, be prepared to take earplugs. There are so many positives about the hotel, but we would be very nervous about what quality of sleep we would get - something you shouldn't have to think about when you're going away for a relaxing and enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid the Principal Room "Duval" if you are a light sleeper. Lovely views, but when people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank east_london_rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.4 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: Crescent Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Tunbridge Wells is set in one of the town's architectural landmarks, a Grade II-listed sandstone mansion built as a private residence in 1762. We have retained its authentic detail carefully, adding our unique touch to the 34 bedrooms with antiques and memorabilia. Guests can enjoy a game of boules, dining on the garden terrace with its wonderful views across Calverley Park, or a wander through the hotel's very own vineyard. BEDROOMS: Housed within this impressive building are 34 timelessly styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all featuring luxurious handsprung mattresses, fine Egyptian linen, deep baths and powerful drench showers, plasma TVs, DVDs and air conditioning. BISTRO: Open all week, and under the tutelage of head chef Daniel McGarey, Bistro du Vin is at the heart of our hotel, a classic, French styled, elegant and informal setting for lunch, dinner, to meet, celebrate or simply pass the time. Dine on the finest produce the Kent has to offer from local heroes such as herbs and seasonal vegetables from local nursery chef's herbs, meat from Woodlands Farm and fish from Chapman's of Sevenoaks. These are only a handful of the suppliers included within our homegrown & local philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing