We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, old fashioned, but pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pricey, old fashioned, but pleasant”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I've been here for a large number of successful corporate networking events and for personal cocktails in the bar. It’s not cheap by any means and the barman was very rude and abrupt; however the receptionist and her manager were lovely and had great customer service; myself and my boyfriend went in with a gift card which had expired a month ago and we hadn't realized, yet they still honored the card and were very helpful and friendly. The decor seems quite old-fashioned and the sofas in the bar looked torn and dirty. I popped into a friend’s hotel room and it was very dated and not something I’d enjoy at all, but then my taste is very modern, so each to their own. I've never had a proper meal here, but I’d quite like to give it a try.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyM8L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip A, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Many thanks for your review on trip advisor, and may I firstly apologise for the experience you received in the bar. We now have a new team in place and are working hard on their training and customer service to ensure that this is a dissapointing one off. I am however delighted that our reception team were able to extend your gift voucher for you to enjoy.
We are very much looking forward to a complete bar refurbishment early 2015 as it is very much time for the sofasand tables to be replaced. The bedrooms will also be getting new carpets early next year so that our grand building will be looking all the better in the new year.
I very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you are able to dine in the bistro on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    239
    135
    78
    20
See reviews for
135
428
11
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We would never use Hotel du Vin again - expensive and very over rated.

Check prices when ordering to avoid shocks when the bill has to be paid.

Most importantly ask if you are going to share the hotel with a corporate seminar. We thought we were going to have a relaxed, comfortable stay, but we had to put up with loud and obnoxious corporate clients who seemed unaware that they were sharing the hotel with private guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Very dissapointed!!! my husband and i gave them 14 weeks cancellation notice for our wedding! due to the fact that a staff member made a very distateful remark,which put us off having our wedding there, paying out £2000 for the deposit and them trying to pacify us in keeping this money for them to actually do nothing for it!! it's disgusting!!! i have a young family with a disabled child and this money was saved up over months!!! thank you so much for your greediness......will not be recommending you and will be telling as many people as i know about this.....

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Nadine19762014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I am a wheelchair user and checked twice with reservations and was assured that there was access to hotel and adapted bathroom. The parking is awful but reception did reserve a space for us after we had checked in. When we were shown to our room we had to go up in a lift which was so old and small (still had old metal pull over doors) it was unbelievable. I could not get into the lift without taking the footrests off and turning my chair, which is not big, into a corner. When we arrived at the room the bedroom was easily accessed with plenty of room but the bathroom was a total disgrace for a disabled person. There were no handrails, the washhand basin came up to my chin, the bath was a freestanding roll top bath and the shower was accessed by two tiled steps with no handrails!!!! To my mind this is dangerous even for an abled bodied person. However Candice the excellent receptionist did phone around but unfortunately failed to find another hotel for us. We asked to meet the manager and he Phil very professionally sorted out the problem. The weather at the time was very hot and I had to go without a shower for three days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mod68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip A, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and It was lovely to meet with you both during your stay. Once again I am very sorry that our disabled room was not properly described to you when you made your booking and the inconvenience and discomfort this caused. I have ensured that our central reservations team have been re-trained to ensure this is not repeated. Thank you for your kind words about Candice our reception Manager and I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip.

Kind Regards

Philip Archer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

a good hotel but not a great hotel overpriced for what it is , the room we had overlooked the garden and the hotel was quiet. The food was very good but again expensive there was a wide variety of choice for breakfast with good quality food, the reception staff were very helpful and very knowledgeable about the local area. the hotel is well placed for the town centre and the train station.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

front desk staff were excellent, but it went downhill from there. Our room was pokey and dark, so we paid the fee to upgrade. But not sure its fair to charge that much for the standard room, pretty poor. We were seated at a tiny table for dinner, my wife asked if we could move to a more attractive table by the window, to be told it was reserved. Another couple arrived later, were seated near to us then they asked for the same table by the window and were moved to it. Not happy! feeble excuse from the head waitor, not good enough. By far the worst of the 4 Hotel du Vins we’ve been to. We will not return.

Room Tip: specify the size of room you want, many are v. small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Booked a room at the last minute for a short weekend break.
Positives: Hotel is quite centrally located and was easy to find. There are lovely gardens at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was very nice.
Negatives: The guest areas of the hotel are looking rather tired. Our room was a typical compromise where en-suites have been added to a room and take up just a little too much space. The room was also very dark with only bed side lamps. Not a lot of parking spaces, we had to park in a multi-storey just over the road. The staff were ok without being good.
Overall we were underwhelmed as we expected more from the hotel.
Royal Tunbridge Wells is a very nice town and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the hotel with views over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianWitney1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
668 reviews
0.4 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
166 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
#7 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#5 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: Crescent Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Tunbridge Wells is set in one of the town's architectural landmarks, a Grade II-listed sandstone mansion built as a private residence in 1762. We have retained its authentic detail carefully, adding our unique touch to the 34 bedrooms with antiques and memorabilia. Guests can enjoy a game of boules, dining on the garden terrace with its wonderful views across Calverley Park, or a wander through the hotel's very own vineyard. BEDROOMS: Housed within this impressive building are 34 timelessly styled bedrooms and stunning suites, all featuring luxurious handsprung mattresses, fine Egyptian linen, deep baths and powerful drench showers, plasma TVs, DVDs and air conditioning. BISTRO: Open all week, and under the tutelage of head chef Daniel McGarey, Bistro du Vin is at the heart of our hotel, a classic, French styled, elegant and informal setting for lunch, dinner, to meet, celebrate or simply pass the time. Dine on the finest produce the Kent has to offer from local heroes such as herbs and seasonal vegetables from local nursery chef's herbs, meat from Woodlands Farm and fish from Chapman's of Sevenoaks. These are only a handful of the suppliers included within our homegrown & local philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing