We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Basil

Basil
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Everything looks very nice but is nothing special and expensive. We found it very noisy and our table wobbly so moved to another table near the door. This table was sticky, we left as soon as we could.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LinsTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    29
    13
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing quiche!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I have been here on a few occasion and think they serve the best quiche I have ever had. I have ordered other meals and not been that wowed by, but it's the quiche that will bring me back to this restaurant again and again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T.Wells
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home made food at its best”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Have sampled Basil's food on a number of various occasions both in the cafe and at outside events - and it has never failed to disappoint. Friendly staff and enthusiastic owner. Great addition to the gastronomic choice in the town, particularly if you like honest home cooked food and interesting salads.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AandCTWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing - very poor service”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My friends wanted to come here for a Sunday breakfast - I haven't been that impressed before, but I thought I would give it another try. Unfortunately I was very disappointed:
> The service was cold and immediately I was put off by the fact that I was handed a dirty menu.
> Our orders were taken by a waitress who didn't know what the kitchen had.
> Basil doesn't cater well for gluten-free. Given the prices being charged, and that nowadays most places cater for gluten-free, we were disappointed by this.
> It took half an hour for our food to turn up - annoying considering that it's not all freshly made to order and we were only the third table in there when we arrived.
> A couple of the dishes were burnt and left a horrid after-taste, another had the wrong bagel bread to what was ordered.
Overall very disappointing, service is ridiculously slow & cold and they fall down on areas that should be considered basic (e.g. clean menus). Wont be going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank am4eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gone downhill.....not child friendly”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I used to love coming here to Basil as the cakes and salads are lovely and the place had a nice atmosphere. However it seems to have gone down hill now.
Came with some friends and our children. Place was cramped. Service very slow. Miserable staff. No baby change on site and hardly any room for pushchairs. Clearly do not want the mothers to frequent to place which is a shame as a lot of mums want decent coffee and cake!
Shame really as could be really good. Go to Dame Tartin opposite as more space and baby change.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kylos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basil also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Tonbridge, Kent
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing