We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
88
78
64
42
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
78
64
42
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house small museum single room reception staff wedding breakfast full english wedding reception tea and coffee stayed here for one night following morning kent england
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Great value, fantastic setting in countryside, room well appointed if a little hot. Short walk from accommodation buildings to restaurant. Food very good if a little limited in terms of choice.
Reception very helpful. Would certainly use again for business and pleasure.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank DaveyGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, General Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your comments to improve for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here this weekend ( 22-02-14). Twin room through Booking.com

Requested ice bucket and 2 glasses at reception and they were actually brought to our room before we had made it there ourselves!
However they seemed to have booked us a double. They soon found us a twin room and it wasn't any hassle and apologised.
10 minutes later they sent up a plate of fresh fruit as a "sorry" It was delicious!

We stayed in the "Canterbury" block ( I call it block as it looks like an old council flats from the outside)
I started to have a few concerns, however once we entered the "block" it was clear everything was to a very high standard, lovely fresh plush grey carpeting throughout.
Room it's self was a little small, very very clean and again finished to a very high standard!

Beds and linen are superb! & very confortable!

It's about 10 minutes out of town (which meant it was very quite) we had taxi's to and from town (£10 into Tunbridge £15 to get back - this was a 3am though!)

Can't comment on breakfast as we didn't make it!

Over all I would highly recommend and hope to stay again!

P.S Thanks to the lovely Spanish lady who helped us with the replacement room & the fruit!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taggy220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, General Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we managed to sort out your rooms so quickly. We look forward to welcoming you back and maybe you can enjoy breakfast next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I have been to Salomons 3 times, twice for work Christmas meals and once for the valentines meal. Every time I have been the food and service has been excellent. The receptionists are always more then helpful. We stayed last night as part of the valentines package, £155 per couple for a 5 course meal and B&B, it's an absolute bargain. The food was amazing, wine is very reasonably priced and the rooms exceeded my expectations (the website photos don't do them justice). My only criticism is that for both the meal and breakfast nothing was sign posted, when couples turned up for the meal it took awhile for the maître d' to notice them, some people just wandered around until someone helped them, it was also near on impossible to get his attention when we wanted to get the bill for our wine, it took a good 30 minutes to get his attention (not that we were in a rush). It was the same at breakfast, when we arrived there was maybe 3 tables full, so not busy, no one greeted us, there was no signs to tell you were to get your breakfast or if it was served to you, when we finally found the food, half way through our fry ups we were asked if we wanted tea or coffee, so it was a bit late. Having said that I would stay again, if the valentines deal next year looks as good we would definitely do it again.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, General Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We have passed all of your comments regarding the speed of service to our food and beverage team. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Had valentines meal the meal was superb and service impeccable, could not fault the evening at all. Atmosphere was lovely and the staff were very attentive. Accommodation blocks are modern and have been refurbished and are immaculate . will be going back again .

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deand1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, General Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I attended a wedding here in November and have to say this venue is beautiful. The grounds are vast like the previous review says; definitely feels as though you are in the countryside. Rooms are great value, I stayed 2 nights - in a twin room and the other in a single room. Each room was clean, tidy and well decorated.

My only gripe would be that in both rooms that I stayed there were dead bugs in the wall lights and bathroom. Perhaps Housekeeping overlooked this when cleaning the room?

Other than that I can't fault Salomons. The service was fantastic!

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, General Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We have passed your comments on to our housekeeping team and all of these issues have been resolved. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews