We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“compact accommodations in a beautiful setting”
Review of Salomons Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salomons Estate
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My family and I recently stayed two nights at the Salomons Estate, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As others have previously noted, the web site is a little bit misleading because it does not mention that hotel accommodations are not in the main house, which effectively implies that they might be. In fact the rooms are in nearby but separate modern buildings, and are small but nicely appointed with everything you might need. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, and we particularly enjoyed our breakfasts, which although presented as a buffet were freshly cooked in small batches, and very nicely done. Guests have free access to the grounds, and these are remarkably beautiful with a wide expanse of lawn, a picturesque lake with fish, ducks and geese, and we enjoyed walking through the adjoining woods which were full of bluebells at the time of our visit. We were delighted to recognise several giant sequoia trees in the grounds, and while these are not yet nearly as massive as those found in California they easily dwarf the other trees on the estate. We were also interested by the little museum, and spent a happy 45 minutes in there reading all about the remarkable Salomon family. We would strongly recommend this reasonably priced hotel, and plan on staying there again when we are next in the UK.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your very detailed feedback. We are delighted that you took the time to enjoy the grounds and saw them at their best for the time of year. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I loved this place. I think the main gripe people have is that the rooms are NOT in the main building they are indeed in some (not great) looking buildings to the rear of the main building. However, they are beautiful rooms. The linen, bedding, showers are absolutely immaculate. My only complaint would be that you cant get room service due to the rooms not being attached to the hotel itself. This caused us a problem with getting our pre dinner in room drinks cold. The staff I spoke to were really helpful. Especially the cleaner who escorted me to my room as it is confussing when you arrive where you are actually staying. The breakfast was really good. Well cooked substantial hearty food.The massive plus this place has is the on site free parking. Parking is really expensive in T Wells. A taxi into town was around £5-£10 but worth it to avoid parking hassle, when split between a few of us. I will go back there.

Room Tip: Not the ground floor due to heavy banging entrance/exit door leading to upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aliyacov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your comprehensive feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The rooms and staff are great but... It is clear that the upper hotel management lack hotel experience and have no issue misleading their guest. The main issue is that there is no bedrooms in the main building so you have to walk from reception up a very steep hill to a couple of university style halls. The buildings can only be described as hideous temporary accommodation. The walls must be made of honeycomb as you can hear every whisper from adjoining rooms. The rooms are fitted out reasonably well, however the towel rail did come away from the wall. I booked this hotel based on its pretty pictures on the internet and previous reviews on trip advisor, for me the accommodation is the most important part of staying at a hotel hence this establishment can only be rated a 1! My advice to others is, unless you know what you are getting when you come here and the price is reduced from the £90 a night, I would go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. We take all comments very seriously. As you will be aware from the website, the existing guest accommodation bedrooms are temporary (although fully refurbished within the last 6 months). They will, in due course, be replaced with a view to enhancing the estate as a whole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Spent one night at this hotel and had a relaxing stay in this fantastic place. The grounds are beautiful and there is a terrace overlooking them where you can have drink in peace and quiet. The rooms are in blocks at the back of the house but I was aware of this after reading other reviews, which I always do before booking somewhere then there are no surprises when you arrive! Inside the room was a decent size with a large comfy bed and everything you could need for a nights stay. Plenty of tea and coffee and everything was spotless. We also had dinner there, it was very good quality and reasonably priced. The breakfast was adequate if like me you aren't into cooked breakfast. Fresh croissants and toast with good coffee. The staff were friendly and efficient especially Lee the manager. He told us that they are planning to pull down the accommodation blocks and build a five star hotel, which will be amazing! Although we would be very happy to return here with the rooms how they are at the moment. it was a privilege to stay here, thank you Lee and his staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and that our staff (including Lee) looked after you well. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Let's start with the positive - well decorated bedrooms, lovely bedding and towels, scrupulously clean bathroom. Very pleasant and helpful staff and nice welcome. However the website is totally misleading, This is a conference centre that appears to accommodate unsuspecting travellers on the side. This is obvious on arrival when directed to what appear to be ugly former university halls of residences, not the beautiful building as featured in the website. Our room on ground floor with view of muddy bank - strange as we appeared to be the only people staying. Breakfast very disappointing indeed. Charged a hefty supplement not to have the sad-looking 'continental' breakfast (very long time since I've seen that at a GB hotel), the cooked breakfast had been sitting for a long time, Some elements cold. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateSBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We take all crisiticism very seriously and will ensure that we improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed for our anniversary night last week.The Hotel General Manager must be proud of his staff.She is exceptional.High praise to the receptionist Gabbie who checked us in with a personnel touch.Excellent room, everything worked perfectly.The little souvenir bag gift were another nice surprise well received. Of course the location could not be bettered 15' from Tunbridge Wells train Station.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, General Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night at Salomons near Tunbridge Wells as a short break, last night. We booked based on the decent reviews (I'm still slightly confused about those....), the very attractive buildings and beautiful grounds. The cost for the room and continental breakfast was £90.

On arrival we found our way, through very nicely landscaped grounds, to the reception where it took several minutes of banter between staff before anyone actually came to help us. When checked in the receptionist asked

"Are you aware of where our accommodation blocks are"

This raised some concerns which were confirmed when he showed me a map of the site and pointed to some out buildings. Not wanting to pre-judge or be negative I took the keys and drove around the site until we reached what most honestly is described as a series of 1970s University Halls of Residence. The grounds had been recently landscaped (no plants or shrubs yet, fair enough but somewhat at odds with the website images of rolling, manicured gardens and country estate) and the buildings were out if sync with the attractive, historic main house.

Having let ourselves in the impression was improved a little as the renovation has clearly been recent. The common parts clean, if cheaply decorated. Our room was immaculate, but tiny and single glazed. The bed comfortable and bathroom clean but very basic. We felt that this was a long way from what the website and photos promised and went to speak to the reception who told us (twice during our stay) that we weren't the first to mention the mismatch, to express disappointment and to raise issues. Apparently, this has been passed on to the managers but no changes get made to the site or description.

Breakfast was sparse, but reasonable, the suggestion that we pay a further £15 for cooked breakfast was out of the question once we saw the dishes sitting, congealing at the side of the room. For the price, you expect a bit better.

The staff were polite, but seemingly powerless and clearly embarrassed. If I'd paid £50-60 for a business stop over I'd feel it was fair, £90 sold as a romantic getaway is far from realistic. We so wanted to love this place and were happy to find it but unfortunately can't recommend very highly after feeling quite mislead and left with a sense of frustration at how much better it could have been. It's worth mentioning that there are NO rooms in the main house - all our in the blocks. Look at the site, is that clear to you?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, General Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide such comprehensive feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you had expected but will use all of your comments to ensure that we improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
1.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
733 reviews
1.9 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
215 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
911 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
244 reviews
1.7 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salomons Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salomons Estate

Address: David Salomons Estate Broomhill Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 0TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: £75 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salomons Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salomons Estate is a stunning Victorian mansion combining elegance and history. The house is set in 36 acres of picturesque gardens, woodlands and lakes nestled in the heart of the Garden of England. A mix of king-size, doubles, twins and singles bedrooms are available in 47 well-appointed bedrooms situated in two purpose-built accommodation buildings a short walk from the mansion house. Each room has en-suite shower facilities with shower and complimentary toiletries. There is a TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. A Continental breakfast is served each morning in the mansion house. The Estate offers a spectacular venue for your wedding, your next conference or a great day out with facilities to suit your every need from sumptuous dining and exciting nights out to fascinating historical setting and luxurious overnight stays. This venue offers a picturesque and tranquil environment whilst only being a short distance from both Tunbridge Wells and Tonbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Salomons Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salomons Estate Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing