We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic building and excellent staff”
Review of Salomons Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salomons Estate
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic building and excellent staff”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here a few weeks ago and must say that the first impression of this lovely building is nothing compared to the beauty within the building itself. Stunning grounds and a lovely stay with exceptional and well priced food. No complaints

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank h0lidaymaker121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We take great pride in maintaining Salomons Estate house and grounds. All compliments are very highly appreciated, as we always look to improve in all aspects if possible. We are glad you had a great time visiting us here at Salomons Estate, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Salomons Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    72
    48
    32
    16
See reviews for
46
85
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Visited Salomons last Sunday. Ordered the Sunday lunch with a table on the (outside) terrace. The food (Sunday Roast) was well prepared and first class and the service was discreetly attentive. Following equally good desserts, a walk around the grounds (to burn some of the calories!!) on the Salomons walk. When we arrived we had to park in the third car park as the initial two were full so there must have been several people there. This was not in evidence around these beautiful gardens as we felt that we had the grounds to ourselves. It really is a huge area and very well kept. You could well imagine the photo opportunities for the wedding couples that we saw preparing their big day.
After an hour we returned for coffee on the terrace although I would have preferred a chilled Rosé had I not been driving!!
This seems to be a well kept Tunbridge Wells secret and I would urge you to visit before everybody else discovers it!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback and your lovely comments - we hope we're not a "best kept secret" for much longer and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is in an absolutely beautiful and peaceful setting, enough to spend an afternoon just wandering around. We found the staff extremely helpful and pleasant, both on reception and in the dining room/bar. We never felt rushed or restricted. The accommodation was virtually brand new and very clean, but not really in-keeping with the house, although not a problem to us at all. A very memorable weekend retreat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JStarJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to explore the grounds. We hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I went this week for afternoon tea that was lovley and me and my friend had a great time. The grounds are also beautifal however I do feel the visit was let down by the man we spoke to on reception who looked me and my friend up and down like we did not belong there. This I felt was rude and not the welcome I would of expected. I will not be rushing back for this reason .

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. We take all criticism seriously and use it to ensure that we improve. If you would like to discuss this in person please contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels

Nether Wallop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed here for one night and could not have been made less welcome. First impression was bad - there was nowhere to park outside the main reception area to check in, all the spaces were reserved for specific people. The receptionist was friendly enough but pretty offhand. My room was in an annexe round the back - an interesting building looking like a 1970s hall of residence - perhaps that is what it was, as a university seems to have a site at the hotel.
The room was small but very clean, nice cotton sheets and big towels. The room was right beside the main entrance to the building and people came and went through that door all might. The lights were on in the corridor all night. There was a large gap under the door to my room so the light shone in all light. The lights outside the entrance door were on all night. Right by my window. The lights from the car park down the stairs to the main entrance of the building were not, however, on all night and it was an interesting and dim walk.
The room was perfectly pleasant, but there is clearly little or no insulation inside the building, since I could hear every word and cough from practically everyone else in the place. All night.
At breakfast - served in the main hotel, all buffet-style - there was no one on duty to greet guests, and no one looking after the buffet table, so when there was no bread for the help yourself toaster, no milk for the cereal and no orange juice, there was no one to ask. Coffee from a machine was pretty vile.
I mentioned all this at the reception desk when I checked out to the person who wandered up after I had been standing there for some time, but she was not really interested.
This is probably a wonderful place in a beautiful setting to attend a wedding or function, staying in the annexe rooms afterwards, but it is not an ideal place for a tired traveller wanting peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Broomhill Annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We take all comments seriously and try to improve as a result. If you would like to discuss your visit in person please contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent,uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 nights here In a single room , breakfast included although I couldn't bother to go down so can not comment !
The room was small but clean , good Wi-Fi and good sized bathroom although no bath !
The beautiful serenity of the gardens is there should you want to walk .
The town centre is a good 40 min by foot and 5 by car!
On the whole good value as a solo !

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank meaton222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully next time you are here you can indulge in breakfast as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful setting with lovely grounds where guests are free to wander. All the staff we came into contact were very pleasant and welcoming. As mentioned in previous reviews there are no rooms in the main house they are all housed in what you can only describe as university halls. These accommodation arrangements did not come as a shock to us as we had read the reviews but I do feel sorry for guests who arrive at the hotel without this knowledge! The rooms are basic but perfectly clean and newly refurbished. The night we stayed there was a group of extremely noisy guests who returned to their accommodation block well into the early hours of the morning and were still disturbing us and numerous other guests at 4am. Breakfast was good, we also ate at the hotel in the evening, the meal was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry that you were disturbed in the early hours of the morning and appreciate the frankness of your comments. We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
1.9 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
152 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
651 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
1.4 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#11 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salomons Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salomons Estate

Property: Salomons Estate
Address: David Salomons Estate Broomhill Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 0TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Salomons Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salomons Estate is a stunning Victorian mansion combining elegance and history. The house is set in 36 acres of picturesque gardens, woodlands and lakes nestled in the heart of the Garden of England. A mix of king-size, doubles, twins and singles bedrooms are available in 47 well-appointed bedrooms situated in two purpose-built accommodation buildings a short walk from the mansion house. Each room has en-suite shower facilities with shower and complimentary toiletries. There is a TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. A Continental breakfast is served each morning in the mansion house. The Estate offers a spectacular venue for your wedding, your next conference or a great day out with facilities to suit your every need from sumptuous dining and exciting nights out to fascinating historical setting and luxurious overnight stays. This venue offers a picturesque and tranquil environment whilst only being a short distance from both Tunbridge Wells and Tonbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Salomons Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salomons Estate Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing