We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to be away from the crazy world!!”
Review of Salomons Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salomons Estate
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were two spanish couples and we looking for any place to sleep. Luckily we found this hotel and this surprised us very much. When we have some days off, we will repeat.
Amazing place. Very quiet and clean.
Ideally to spend two or three days and enjoy of its facilities.
All the staff were very kind.
Gaby, her receptionist, was very helpful and nice.
100% recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review! All compliments are very highly appreciated, as we always look to improve in all aspects if possible. We are glad you had a great time visiting us here at Salomons Estate, and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Hotel main building is really in keeping with the feel of an old house, but unfortunately the sleeping dorms are not. The rooms were recently decorated and were spacious and clean.
We really enjoyed afternoon drinks on the terrace with the lovely view of the lake - prices reasonable and the best chips I have eaten in years (seriously)
Breakfast was very good - self service and plentiful.
The staff were very friendly and happy to help.
We paid £90 for a double room with breakfast which we felt was OK but a little pricey considering the disappointment of the out of character buildings containing the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms were hot with no air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHarvey95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We take great pride in maintaining Salomons Estate house and grounds. All compliments are very highly appreciated, as we always look to improve in all aspects if possible. We are glad you had a great time visiting us here at Salomons Estate and that you enjoyed our chips! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at Salomons for one night recently as we were going to a party in the main house and really pleased we did. It has a great rural location and even though from the outside the room blocks look awful and completley out of charaxcter with the rest of the house on the inside they have been refurbished to a good standard (even though the bed was exceedingly hard).
The staff were very friendly and attentive and the breakfast was fantastic. The grounds are very well maintained and it was very relaxing to wonder round in the morning after a heavy party the night before which was also very well done.
Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Salomons Estateand would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your review. We strive to ensure all of our customers have an enjoyable time whilst visiting us. We also try to maintain our estate grounds and ensure they are kept to the best of our ability so that our guests can enjoy them all year round. The guest accommodation bedrooms are temporary and although fully refurbished within the last 6 months, they will in due course, be replaced with a view to enhancing the estate as a whole. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Salomons Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent a weekend here visiting the area, and have nothing but praise for the staff. We had a problem with our room which was dealt with by the receptionist Sue most apologetically, moving us to another, better room as well as offering us complimentary drinks. The staff in the bar and bistro were also most polite and helpful, enhancing our stay. The quality of the dinner we had was excellent and well priced. The museum gave a fascinating insight into the Salomon family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewforestGalap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Brilliant! We are overjoyed to hear you enjoyed your weekend visit with us. We always strive for excellent customer service, and try to eliminate any issues that a customer maybe experiencing to ensure their visit is as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. We also appreciate all of our customers taking the time to write a review to give us feedback on their recent visits. We are always looking to improve if possible, and all feedback helps this process. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Salomons Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The grounds and main house of the hotel are superb and even include a very interesting museum of the family.Both the evening meal and breakfast were excellent...way above expectation. The accommodation is away from the house up a hill and although looking a bit utilitarian from the outside, was clean, comfortable and well furnished with excellent en suite facilities. But the real stars of the hotel are the staff who went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful including a lift by the porter up to the accommodation as it was raining.I hope to return for a social break in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mammamaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind words. We are glad that our staff we're attentive, and made you feel very welcome and made a fuss over you. We pride ourselves on giving great customer service to all of our customers and making their stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Salomons Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Visited here a few weeks ago and must say that the first impression of this lovely building is nothing compared to the beauty within the building itself. Stunning grounds and a lovely stay with exceptional and well priced food. No complaints

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank h0lidaymaker121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We take great pride in maintaining Salomons Estate house and grounds. All compliments are very highly appreciated, as we always look to improve in all aspects if possible. We are glad you had a great time visiting us here at Salomons Estate, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Salomons Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Visited Salomons last Sunday. Ordered the Sunday lunch with a table on the (outside) terrace. The food (Sunday Roast) was well prepared and first class and the service was discreetly attentive. Following equally good desserts, a walk around the grounds (to burn some of the calories!!) on the Salomons walk. When we arrived we had to park in the third car park as the initial two were full so there must have been several people there. This was not in evidence around these beautiful gardens as we felt that we had the grounds to ourselves. It really is a huge area and very well kept. You could well imagine the photo opportunities for the wedding couples that we saw preparing their big day.
After an hour we returned for coffee on the terrace although I would have preferred a chilled Rosé had I not been driving!!
This seems to be a well kept Tunbridge Wells secret and I would urge you to visit before everybody else discovers it!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback and your lovely comments - we hope we're not a "best kept secret" for much longer and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
1.9 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
227 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
745 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
935 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
3.6 mi away
The Camden Arms
The Camden Arms
#1 of 2 in Pembury
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salomons Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salomons Estate

Address: David Salomons Estate Broomhill Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 0TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: £83 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salomons Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salomons Estate is a stunning Victorian mansion combining elegance and history. The house is set in 36 acres of picturesque gardens, woodlands and lakes nestled in the heart of the Garden of England. A mix of king-size, doubles, twins and singles bedrooms are available in 47 well-appointed bedrooms situated in two purpose-built accommodation buildings a short walk from the mansion house. Each room has en-suite shower facilities with shower and complimentary toiletries. There is a TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. A Continental breakfast is served each morning in the mansion house. The Estate offers a spectacular venue for your wedding, your next conference or a great day out with facilities to suit your every need from sumptuous dining and exciting nights out to fascinating historical setting and luxurious overnight stays. This venue offers a picturesque and tranquil environment whilst only being a short distance from both Tunbridge Wells and Tonbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Salomons Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salomons Estate Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing