We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice surroundings, but rooms are a bit deceiving”
Review of Salomons Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salomons Estate
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Salomons Estate is situated in a very nice environement, just out of the city centre of Royal Tunbridge Wells. We had booked this hotel mainly based on the pictures on the website booking.com, but when we arrived we were a bit dissapointed. Because our room wasn't in the main building, which you can see on almost all the pictures, but in a plain white building on the estate. The room was nice enough and recently renovated, so there was nothing wrong with that. The gym was situated in the old library and is very recent and modern. that's a plus for the active visitors. Breakfast was ok, although there wasn't a lot of variation to me. The estate itself is very green and quite peacefull. The staff was very friendly and helped you whenever you had a question. Maybe we will go back, but we'll try to conquer a room in the main building.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brienemiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your review, we love hearing feedback. It's an efficient way for us to constantly improve the service we provide. We glad you enjoyed your stay here at Salomons Estate, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is set in lovely surroundings, the building is beautiful and the rooms are in modern buildings in the grounds. These rooms have been recently refurbished and are very generic. The staff were very good.
Unfortunately the evening meal was ruined by a disaster in the organisation of a noisy (understandably) summer ball for the local hospital and a group of diners that wanted a quite dinner. The ball was set up on the terrace with the band, the pop corn machine and the candy floss set up just outside the restaurant this meant that it was noisy and smelly in the restaurant. The ball goers walked through the restaurant to get to the terrace and the bar and the toilets. This meant that the restaurant was noisy and busy. The restaurant staff were dealing with the ball as well as the diners. This meant that service was very slow. The staff did the best they could in a trying situation. And Frank the manager was a star and acted decisively to smooth the ruffled feathers of the diners.
This was an unacceptable breakdown in the organisation of two events... It would have been easy to have kept the two separate with another bar set up for the ball.
Although this is a negative review I want only to criticise the organisation not the staff on the ground who did their best in a very trying situation. BUT this is a hotel (I assume) that deals on a daily basis with events and it must be able to get it right.
The food was ok but in a place like this could have been a bit more imaginative.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We take all criticism very seriously and will ensure that we improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've just spent five days at Salomons on a work training course. The food (I'm vegetarian) was delicious and beautifully presented. Staff were very helpful, though I'd rather not have been sent up the stone steps with my heavy case - especially as I could have walked up the road a bit further and stayed on the flat.
The grounds are beautiful, with a lake, woodland and lawns. Rooms were clean and well furnished but ridiculously hot - we were in a heatwave. Only one set of windows would open, which made it impossible to get a cooling draught and the windows in the common areas - staircases etc - wouldn't open at all, which meant things just got hotter and hotter.
As previously mentioned, the walls are paper thin - so hope you don't get the snorer I had next door to me. Wifi is rather slow, but free with the room and an evening G&T on the terrace is delightful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsingiwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I'm doing a residential course and so for have been three times to Salomons.
The first time in February (new staff has taken over recently I believe e) then April and now in July. Be aware that the rooms are not in the main house but in houses located further up the hill. If assistance is needed for the luggage they will provide. The WIFI issue is solved, good and easy reception.
The rooms are new and spotless clean but have paper thin walls.
Food is good but somehow… not much diversity in the veggies and desserts. Much potential to improve here.
The email contact with the reception and reserving rooms have been an issue every time, meaning them not getting back to reservations, emails, etc. Phone works better but then you don't have e written confirmation.
The whole staff is very friendly, doing what they can to help and accommodate you.
The grounds are really beautiful. Take a stroll, have a rest at the pond, relax.
The rooms we work in are suited for the purpose, the terraces adjacent to some rooms are huge, we can work outside which is always nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Theclaudicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We take all criticism very seriously and will ensure that we improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Salomons is tucked away so that you feel you are in the countryside. There is ample parking (free). The rooms are tastefully fitted out and have a simple but luxurious feel about them. The food is very good although it can be a surprise to have to walk down hill to the other building to the restaurant. This said, it helps keep the room quiet and reception sorted iout a lift in a golf cart for me (you only have to ask). The grounds are lovely, the tiny museum is interesting, the bar is good and the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel58Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice surprise staying here. Main and and gardens are superb. The room was very clean and obviously recently decorated. The breakfast was great with superb views over the gardens. Glad I had time to go round the museum and read the fascinating history of the place.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope you return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

set in beautiful grounds and amazing main building.. ive been here so many times for several events.Weddings, evening entertainment, dance classes, afternoon Tea and cheeky hotel stays ;p My favorite of all was the comedy nights though and I really hope they do that again!!
The food here is great too.. try the scampi I couldn't believe how nice it was, HUGE SURPRISE..

Room Tip: closer to the main building the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHHTunbridgeWells, Manager at Salomons Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! We were overjoyed at your brilliant feedback, and loved hearing that you've had many enjoyable times here at Salomons Estate and we hope you continue to have many more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
1.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
735 reviews
1.9 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
216 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
912 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
245 reviews
1.7 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#11 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salomons Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salomons Estate

Address: David Salomons Estate Broomhill Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 0TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: £70 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salomons Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salomons Estate is a stunning Victorian mansion combining elegance and history. The house is set in 36 acres of picturesque gardens, woodlands and lakes nestled in the heart of the Garden of England. A mix of king-size, doubles, twins and singles bedrooms are available in 47 well-appointed bedrooms situated in two purpose-built accommodation buildings a short walk from the mansion house. Each room has en-suite shower facilities with shower and complimentary toiletries. There is a TV, telephone, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. A Continental breakfast is served each morning in the mansion house. The Estate offers a spectacular venue for your wedding, your next conference or a great day out with facilities to suit your every need from sumptuous dining and exciting nights out to fascinating historical setting and luxurious overnight stays. This venue offers a picturesque and tranquil environment whilst only being a short distance from both Tunbridge Wells and Tonbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Salomons Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salomons Estate Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing