We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome (and free) attraction for the tourist”

Tunbridge Wells Museum & Art Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tunbridge Wells Museum and Art Gallery shares the special story of the Borough of Tunbridge Wells. Set in the countryside of the Weald of Kent, the town of Royal Tunbridge Wells grew from the discovery of the spa waters in 1606. The Georgian 'den of iniquity' eventually became the byword for Victorian respectibility.Come and enjoy our outstanding collections of costume, art, dolls and toys. We also have excellent natural and local history, from dinosaur bones to the original 'Pantiles'. You can also see the world's largest collection of Tunbridge Ware - the intricate wooden souvenirs made for visitors to the Wells.
kent
Level 6 Contributor
567 reviews
293 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“A welcome (and free) attraction for the tourist”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The museum is stacked full of local history, natural history, Subbuteo artefacts (their factory was in the town) and old photographs and gives a good account of the history of the town to anyone unfamiliar with it being anything more than being a Spa town. The art gallery, across the corridor on the first floor, is also worth checking out as it often hosts excellent small exhibitions. Worth a visit .... and free.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sabatinitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    17
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The museum is free and well located in the town centre. It features a lovely collection of children's toys throughout the last few centuries and there's a lot on local history. Nice fossil and geology section.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bex_4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Lovely little museum just would be better if there was a lot more there and certainly needs a little TLC. The person sitting on the desk when I went the second time looked at us as if we were doing something wrong as I had adults with disablities with me who I worked with.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NaomiEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointmenting, dust and gloom but hope...”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

What a shame! The building is dull, dusty and falling apart. The cabinets could really do with a revamp. A very nice member of staff showed us the loo, used by the staff and apologised for the state. It was a typical staff loo but clean. We had really gone to check out the History of Women exhibition which was actually quite good, the presentation was not bad considering the shabby room they had to use. We learnt a few interesting points. Despite this we over heard staff presenting to specially arranged group of visitors their thoughts. The remarks were pretty much what we were thinking. What a shame those members of staff ignored us and talked over us as they packed away the presentation, which was partly blocking our view of the exhibition. If they had bothered to ask I would have suggested they look at the Beaney in Canterbury for ideas. Maybe they already have, let's hope they get some funding together soon, it could be a great attraction and learning experience for Tunbridge Wells.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kasart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viannaj, Public Relations Manager at Tunbridge Wells Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Visitor,

Thank you for leaving your review. I wanted to write to apologize if you felt our staff were rude during our audience consultation. We value all feedback, and try to always encourage our visitors to voice their opinions about our displays or events. The particular event you witnessed was a pre-booked consultation, hence the focused nature of the enquiry. However, I would encourage you to send any helpful suggestions to our public mailbox: museum@tunbridgewells.gov.uk which will be included in our study.

Many thanks for visiting, and we hope to see you again in September after our modernisation works are completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Interesting in a 1950's sort of way. It definately needs updating and a large cash injection. Pity because the staff were friendly and helpful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindylou49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tunbridge Wells Museum & Art Gallery also viewed

Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Tunbridge Wells Museum & Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing