We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Worth the visit .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chalybeate Spring

The Chalybeate Spring
Northiam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally Worth the visit .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

History and Health in a glass and its only a £1. Try something toatally healthy and totally Historic, I saw it on television, so I went along and tried one glass and read all about it whilst I had a second Glass of the Chalybeate Spring Water. Most Pleasurable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    16
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Picturesque and pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

I confess! I live here but will be as balanced as I can.
The spring is noted for its spring waters. The strength of flavour varies considerably with rainfall. After several weeks of hot weather the flavour will be strengthening.
But what does it taste of?
Can be subjective. But have you ever eaten fresh peas from the pod, without cooking? If so, you're about there.
Unlike other waters, this is not volcanic and therefore tastes very different to those in Bath.
Located at one end of the Pantiles, this backs onto the Imperial Pharmacy.
There is much to see and do on and in the Pantiles, sadly Tunbridge Wells or some 'quango' feels disinclined to properly promote all that it could be. What is here is great. Plenty of tea rooms, restaurants, including Indian. There's a jazz and music venue at the far end and mid well during the Summer months there is live music, often jazz, but many other styles, on the band stand.
Research the best days to come depending on your tastes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ObjectiveView001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“water of life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

brilliant pourers always full of information. the water takes some getting used to but you have to remember it's good for you and has been for 400 years

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank violette7688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

The 'Dipper' was dressed in historical costume and told us all about the history of the spring. It was very interesting and you should make the £1 'donation' and try the water but be warned it tastes like iron!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie55_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not quite a Chablis, but recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Our 'dipper' - whose name I think is Marcus - was on hand at the Chalybeate Spring to give us a potted history of Tunbridge Wells and pour us a glass (£1) of spring water. Please be advised that one does not drink this water to savour its delicate flavour. It can taste as if you have been sucking on a silver coin; you may even think it is the foulest thing ever to pass your lips. I had a full glass of it, drank it right down to the last drop, but only because I was drinking it for the very thing that makes it taste the way it does - the iron. Marcus will show you a glass of spring water that has been left to stand and you will see a layer of red sediment at the bottom, this is the iron that is present in the water. I'd be quite happy to have a glass of this every day to ensure a good supply of iron in my blood. The aftertaste lasts a while but is not unpleasant as it leaves your mouth feeling moist and clean-tasting. Royal Tunbridge Wells is a lovely place to amble around, there are some quirky buildings to photograph and interesting shops to pop into and browse. I am fairly susceptible to atmosphere and on looking up and down The Pantiles, I could well imagine the gentlemen in their tricorn hats and breeches, the ladies in their long dresses, broad-brimmed hats and powdered wigs, all of them strolling along, nodding to their acquaintances and delighting in being 'seen' at one of the most prestigious venues of 17th century England. Just nearby is the Church of King Charles the Martyr, also worth a visit. Beautiful; ornate but unpretentious.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank anniehonjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chalybeate Spring also viewed

 
Pembury, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to The Chalybeate Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing