We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smart and Simple Hotel
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Having read previous reviews clearly the best time to stay is mid week in winter. We had a lovely big room, nicely furnished, at the front overlooking the main road but with the windows closed we hardly heard the traffic. Lovely big white bath towels although bathroom was on the small side but was fine for us as we only use a shower at home. The inside was also very quiet with only a handful of people at breakfast which was freshly cooked to order. Staff were friendly and helpful, allowing us to check in early as we had a lunch date up the road. Only downside is parking. We tried the road opposite as suggested but clearly this is used by workers during the day plus we also saw a car with its back window smashed. As there were restrictions directly outside the hotel we opted for the multi storey which was also full and had to wait, so parking took half an hour. Plus anything over 3 hours and the price goes up dramatically. All in all we had to move the car 3 times in order to find somewhere safe. My advice is take the train as the station is just a couple of minutes down the road. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSidebotham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    69
    58
    28
    17
See reviews for
38
86
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with wife for a birthday weekend. Hotel was located close to restaurants and bars, with a bar and restaurant within. Bar was ok, we had breakfast in the restaurant which was very nice. Cooked braggart a la carte with buffet choices too.
Rooms were nicely decorated, white modern minimalist, fairly modern bathroom.
All in all, did the job, good value for the money.
Friendly staff and parking just across the road.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonC1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Visited before making a bulk booking for a family wedding but unfortunately most of the things we were promised didn't materialise. The parking was an absolute nightmare! Despite being assured that we would be able to park on the road opposite where there were no restrictions this was not the case and spent our first day running out every 2 hours to move the car. Ended up parking in a nearby multi-storey at a cost of £10 per day. When we inquired about the permits we were told that they had used their annual allocation after just two months. The rooms we had been shown on our initial visit were obviously the ones that had been done up as our rooms were rather shabby in comparison. Bar & restaurant far too small for the size of the hotel and under-staffed while we were there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Despite reading other reviews we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night as we were attending a wedding on the Sunday. Perfectly located for the wedding venue at The Barn. Rooms basic but very clean and tidy. Fantastic shower facility (no bath in our room). Unfortunately there is no parking outside (only room for 2 cars in the very small car park!) so we had to park a 5 minute walk away. We had enquired before we stayed as we had read that permits were available from the hotel to park outside - however there were none left when we got there, although we did also hear from other guests that had asked and were told that the hotel didn't have permits in the first place! Breakfast very good, full English and continental available at a reasonable extra cost. Lovely patio area at the back with a small waterfall and steps up to a grassed area. Staff very friendly and very helpful. Our room was situated at the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor but traffic noise was a bit of a problem (no double glazing). Would recommend this hotel to others and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back due to traffic noise in a front bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Spent the night here whilst on business. Average sized double room, B&B 65pounds mid week. Small reception and public area, but location is very close to town and plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby. Parking on street was no problem outside office hours at the front of the hotel.
Room & bathroom were clean, large shower with high pressure. Wifi was free and of good high speed.
If youre looking for a romantic break spa hotel, Id suggest this isnt it (the rooms are not luxurious, and some of the maintenance could clearly be a bit better- burns in carpet, broken blinds in the room I was in) however I had a very good night's sleep, good sized bed and linens, towels etc were of decent quality.
Not the Ritz, but certainly on par or above others in the price bracket- lacks the quality touches to be a "luxury boutique" but Im not sure thats what they are going for anyways with a name like that....
Would stay again on this type of trip, no issues.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShipGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel purely as we knew other people staying here too.
The reception and dining area is very small and breakfast was rammed. Due tour being so busy there was hardly any food available and we waited 35 minutes for a cooked breakfast. This was at A cost of £8.

The bed was uncomfortable and the room we had did not have a bath. Furthermore, the towels were stained and grubby.

The walls were also stained and looked filthy.

At £95 per night you just expect more for your money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here one night for a wedding I attended in Tunbridge Wells. The hotel is a pleasant walk into the centre of town, and close to the station.
Negatives first - the bed we slept in was the least comfortable night's sleep we've had in a very long time. The mattress felt like it had 10 springs in, and even though my wife and I are quite light, the springs dug into us. Other people in our party didn't have this trouble and they dealt with my complaint very professionally.
The rooms are a good size, although a warning to parents of small children, there are no bathtubs, only showers.
Breakfast was very busy as the hotel seemed quite full. This meant there was some waiting around for plates to be replaced, coffee to be brewed etc.
Overall, it's a clean, cheap place to stay, although my night's sleep was poor, the customer services was commendable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randjrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.3 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart and Simple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart and Simple Hotel

Property: Smart and Simple Hotel
Address: 54-57 London Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smart and Simple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart and Simple Hotel, 39 refurbished bedrooms located in the heart of town. Other facilities include, bar, meeting rooms, secret garden and free wireless through-out. The hotel and rooms are exactly as you would imagine from the name smart and simple. All have flat screen televisions, en-suite facilities, complimentary hospitality basket, direct dial telephones. Some of our rooms over look the secret gardens and some overlook the Tunbridge Wells common. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smart and Simple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Smart And Simple
Smart And Simple Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing