We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place to stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smart and Simple Hotel
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for our wedding anniversary and from the moment we walked in the door we were well looked after. The room was good - clean and to our expectations. The meal in the restaurant was to a very high standard. We had a very comfortable stay. The breakfast was amazing do much choice!! What made our stay so enjoyable was the service of the staff - nothing was too much for them!! Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Smart and Simple Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed this weekend on a Groupon offer, we had a lovely large room overlooking the common, very clean room & very welcoming staff. The only downside for us was the road noise, which was quite loud at the front of the Hotel. Lovely stay, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A great little find in the heart of the town. Key positives:
- Friendly and attentive staff who really make you feel at home
- Very large double room (amazing given the price)
- Comfy bed
- Lovely thick towels and nice toiletries!
- Two minute walk from the centre of town
- Price!
- Excellent steak restaurant (see separate review)

Minor downsides:
- room was very warm but windows did open so less of an issue
- slightly temperamental shower (was hot at night and tepid in the morning - I suspect an issue with the regulator)
- small tv with not a great reception although less of an issue for us as we were not there to watch tv (I can do that at home!)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HighlanderGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for valentines weekend on a Groupon offer. From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't have been more helpful. A nice, clean room with a comfy bed overlooking the green.
Full Breakfast served in a conservatory area and again service friendly and efficient. We would certainly revisit and recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillyLovewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I have stayed in many budget Hotels around the country and can honestly say this was one of the best.
The staff were unbelievably friendly and professional. A special mention goes to the male front desk manager (whose name I didn't catch sorry) and they young lady serving at Breakfast - they were both so helpful and a real credit to the company.
Room was spotless, food lovely, great nights' sleep. Highly recommend staying here, I certainly will be next time I'm travelling in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great hotel with reasonable rooms and prices. A brilliant breakfast assortment of fruits, cereals and fresh juices followed by a fry up. Will use again when in the area visiting friends. It was funny to see this hotel on four in a bed on TV.


Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank roypeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We checked in on Christmas Eve and stayed for three nights as we were spending Christmas with my daughter who lives in Tunbridge Wells.

Our room (40) was in the basement roadside, it was quite spacious, very clean and the beds were lovely and comfortable. The en-suite was very small with hardly enough room to sit on the toilet! and our shower handle snapped off, so we were unable to turn it off. However, whilst we were out this was repaired promptly. We opted to pay extra for full english breakfast on three mornings which was freshly cooked, large portions and really tasty.

The main star of this hotel is the staff, they were all genuinely very friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would return but only to stay in room 22 (The Bridal Suite) a real classy refurbed room with a beautiful bathroom and furnishings. Queen Sophia of Spain stayed in the room a week or so before we arrived so it must be good! If the owners refurbished all the rooms to the standard of room 22 it would be a goldmine.

Room Tip: Room 22 (The Bridal Suite)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladyjojo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
2.5 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
0.6 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#13 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart and Simple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart and Simple Hotel

Address: 54-57 London Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smart and Simple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart and Simple Hotel, 39 refurbished bedrooms located in the heart of town. Other facilities include, bar, meeting rooms, secret garden and free wireless through-out. The hotel and rooms are exactly as you would imagine from the name smart and simple. All have flat screen televisions, en-suite facilities, complimentary hospitality basket, direct dial telephones. Some of our rooms over look the secret gardens and some overlook the Tunbridge Wells common. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Smart and Simple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Smart And Simple
Smart And Simple Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing