We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey but a reasonable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smart and Simple Hotel
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but a reasonable stay.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Paid £95 through laterooms, as had left it a bit late to get a room. It was the cheapest option available.

Parking was a right ballache. Arrived at 4.00pm on Saturday and finally managed to get a free space at the top of Mt Edgecombe Road after a few circuits. Really didn't want to be paying any more for parking.

Reeptionist was very friendly and helpful. Although I'd booked the room with my Amex card on laterooms, the hotel doesn't take Amex.

Room was clean and well appointed (Room 15). Only criticism was that a table had been fitted to the wall under the window, meaning that you couldn't close the curtains properly and the temperature control on the shower was a bit hit and miss.

Again, very friendly and chatty receptionist when checking out.

All in all, a reasonable stay, but wouldn't use again for the parking constraints.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    69
    58
    28
    18
See reviews for
38
86
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Only in the hotel very briefly. Check-in was good. The bedroom was OK and the bathroom extremely large with a nice bath. Went straight out to a wedding. Not much room in the corridor as a coach load was waiting for the lift. Got back in late. Very quiet. Good night's sleep. Checked out as soon as we were dressed. (Breakfast from the cafe on Tonbridge station). Hotel breakfast looked as if it would have been OK, though not a lot of room. Hotel was very convenient for the station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iacamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow City, AL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A small and quaint hotel in Tunbridge Wells may well be bypassed from the hustle of searching for a hotel in London. May I suggest S&S in Tunbridge Wells.
I stay here once a year and sometimes more and even with changeovers, this is the most relaxing, accommodating hotel I have ever had the opportunity to stay in.

From their able Manager, to the supporting staff,they are no more than gracious, and fit for their positions. Courteous, accommodating, and no request is beyond their scope. The rooms are comfortable, wonderfully appointed and extraordinarily hygenic. the train to London a 2 minute walk, and for those looking for a London escape, I highly suggest staying in the outskirts of the city and relax in their beautiful garden area, Indulge in their fine cuisine and experience their delight in serving their guests.

From breakfast to fine extraordinary curry in the evenings, and a warm welcome on your return / departure, I am a loyal customer. The entire staff has earned it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seesalrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Smart and Simple Hotel. There are a few negatives but outweighed by the experience. A few suggestions which could make the difference.

1. If you advertise free WiFi in every room make sure it is available in every room
2. Invest in some decent pillows, pillows no thicker than a postage stamp do not contribute to a good nights sleep
3. Have more sockets or at least have them closer to a mirror
4. Advertise that the double room may only have a shower en-suite and not a bath
5. Rethink your breakfasts, which although was freshly cooked it was slightly on the dear side at £9.95 for a bog standard fry up

Other than these quibbles the room was clean and comfy, with a good location, had no problems with the parking at all. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, and for £75 per night we thought it was good value for the area.

Would I recommend it to friends yes I would.
Would we stay here again, yes we would.

Room Tip: Ask about the bathroom - is it just a shower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEY63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
folkestone
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

this was an unexpected overnight stay that i was forced to make so i wanted something fairly cheap. this hotel was probably not quite 3 star because the difference between the 4 star hotel i stayed in the night before and the Smart and Simple is vast. it was clean and the staff were friendly and smiley. i was in room 15 so had the main road outside. At 4.40 i was woken up by a lorry trundling by and then was kept awake for the rest of the time with relentless cars,lorries and motorbikes.I had to leave the shower going for approx 5 mins before any warmth came out so be warned ...i was about to get someone to fix it.i parked my car opposite the hotel and could leave it there free of charge till 10am.the breakfast was freshly cooked but a little expensive as i dont eat cereal/croissants so £9.95 a little harsh.tea and coffee in room is a must for me so i was glad to see it.iron and ironing board was in wardrobe.It was ok but i have spent cheaper on a brand new premier inn with cheaper breakfast (Buffet).i got a deal of £65 for room and the breakfast was extra.

Room Tip: ask for room NOT overlooking main road. avoid room 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razzoFolkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The good: Convenient for Tunbridge Wells railway station. Waitress friendly (but hard to understand). I left an iPad in my room during the day and it didn't get nicked! Nice patio area.

The bad: Unfriendly reception staff with poor command of English. Long wait to checkin, as only one person on desk to deal with entire hotel. Poor decor, confusing room layout (42 next to 24?). Breakfast not included, £10 for usual cereals and poor quality fry up - watery egg, dubious sausage "meat" (Sainsburys Basics?). Weak wifi signal. Annoying 2000s pop hits in background. Noisy road. Common guests.

Stayed one night for a wedding and would not stay longer.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Smart & Simple does what it says on the sign but what impresses is the friendly welcome. Every member of staff smiles which is far more important than corporate branding. Sure the facilities fall short of cutting edge minimalism but you haven't paid for that. The menu lacks variation (and really needs some thought paid to inclusion of vegetables : we are in the Garden of England) but good solid cooking in evidence. Good location, great nights sleep, just add more veg to the menu and 4 star would become 5!

Room Tip: Rear view rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFloodsParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Royal Tunbridge Wells hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
Travelodge Tunbridge Wells
#11 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
381 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Russell Hotel
Russell Hotel
#12 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart and Simple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart and Simple Hotel

Property: Smart and Simple Hotel
Address: 54-57 London Road, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smart and Simple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart and Simple Hotel, 39 refurbished bedrooms located in the heart of town. Other facilities include, bar, meeting rooms, secret garden and free wireless through-out. The hotel and rooms are exactly as you would imagine from the name smart and simple. All have flat screen televisions, en-suite facilities, complimentary hospitality basket, direct dial telephones. Some of our rooms over look the secret gardens and some overlook the Tunbridge Wells common. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smart and Simple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Smart And Simple
Smart And Simple Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing