We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect little gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smarden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Smarden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just one night in Doreen and Ken's magical little retreat, and we wished that it could have been longer. Snap Mill captures all that one could look for in an English B & B, from the warm welcome to the comfy beds, the hearty English breakfast and the host of personal touches that makes it a home from home. As a keen gardener I was captivated by the beautiful rose filled garden in a very tranquil setting, and we also felt that both Ken and Doreen went out of their way to make us feel comfortable - indeed we felt that we could have been staying with longstanding friends. The fact that Doreen is like me a former Walthamstow resident was an added bonus! This also is a perfect place to stay if you are visiting Sissinghurst as it is only a few miles away. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDKCD, Owner at Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

It was great to catch up with the old home town! Pleasure to have you stay with us. Good luck in your new home and of course, if you are this way again we hope you will drop by to say hello , or better still, stay a while.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed here and was overwhelmed by the beautiful house and grounds, reminding me of a English fairytale. The surrounding countryside is wonderful but the garden with roses, apple and oak trees were simply stunning. The house itself blew me away, the fireplace, wooden beams and wonky walls, very English, very warm and a must place to visit!
Ken and Doreen are truly wonderful hosts, their cakes and breakfast were delicious, and they are so welcoming, making the place feel like a 'home away from home'. The rooms are very nice with super comfy beads.
I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have just returned home after one night at Doreen's and Kens. On arriving yesterday we were welcomed with a cup of tea and a slice of Doreen's delicious carrot cake. The accommodation is of the highest standard and it was home from home. Kens breakfast was absolutely outstanding together with the fresh bread and juice. What a start to the day. Although we do not live that far from Snap Mill we are going to have to find an excuse to go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDKCD, Owner at Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Thank you for your comments. Do you need an excuse? There is so much to do in this area, beautiful gardens , lovely walks and delicious food at country pubs and restaurants. At the end of the day you can come back to us and completely relax in the peace and quiet of Snapmill. Doesn't that sound tempting? Good to have you here, very welcome, anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We recently spent one night at Snap Mill after a day at the nearby Wildlife Heritage Foundation and think it's a perfect place to unwind after a day on your feet! We received a warm welcome from Doreen and Ken, and their home is so lovely and comfortable. The bed was sublime and we slept like logs. We had the ground floor room which has everything you need, and the use of an attached conservatory with a comfy sofa and lots of books. The house is a traditional old country cottage which has been tastefully decorated, and there is a great mix of old and new. As for Ken's breakfast - well it has already been said many times! Absolutely delicious and it kept us going for hours! Doreen's cake was great too! We have no hesitation in recommending this lovely B & B - thank you Doreen & Ken for making us so welcome. Tris & Tony

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDKCD, Owner at Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your comments, they are much appreciated. We enjoy having guests who have visited the Wildlife Park. It is a very special place. In fact , I hope you get chance to repeat your visit to them and to Snapmill too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Our stay at snap mill was the ultimate in relaxation. To say it was home from home would be an insult to ken and doreen ,as the way they look after you is like nothing we get at home. I won't even start on the breakfast,as I had to ask ken to cut down on the amount he served.The only noise you hear is the sound of the birds and the odd pheasant. We will certainly be going there for a third visit sometime soon. Tony and pat.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms one upstairs and one down, both just as comfortable as the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somersets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDKCD, Owner at Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

It was a pleasure to see you both again. We do hope you stay with is again and see some of the other interesting places around us in beautiful Kent. We promise to let you eat only as much of our breakfast that you can manage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I recently organised for my 18 year old daughter to stay at Snap Mill for four nights to do work experience nearby at the Wildlife Heritage Foundation. She found it a home from home and the owners to be very welcoming. Her room was lovely and she hasn't stopped talking about her breakfast experience yet! All in all a visit to be repeated. Highly recommended. Thank you Ken and Doreen for making the week good for her and reassuring for her parents.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosmiccomanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDKCD, Owner at Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

She was a delight to have as a guest . It was a pleasure for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed there recently, 2 adults and 2 kids, and Ken & Doreen were very welcoming and friendly. And don't get me started about breakfast....!! Our room was very homely and clean. All in all, we had a great time and felt very relaxed and at home. P.M.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MurfTheMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast

Address: Romden Road, Smarden TN27 8RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Smarden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smarden
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Snap Mill Bed & Breakfast Smarden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing