We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere with warm welcome”
Review of The Chequers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chequers Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Smarden B&B and Inns
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic atmosphere with warm welcome”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We cannot express enough what a fantastic experience we had, friendly warm welcome from both staff and locals, food was 1st rate as was the beautiful barn double room with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. Loved it so much we booked again for the firework party on 2nd Nov, can't wait. Phil Van Looy and Mandy

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philvanlooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    25
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
78
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Going by some of the reviews below, September must have been a bit iffy? Well we can't disagree more. The Chequers Inn is a great place to stay in Kent, and just 5 minutes away from the WHF Big Cat Sanctuary.

Melissa, Carla and Scott were very welcoming. They gave us impeccable service with friendly smiles, very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble, lovely people.

The beer was really good, as was the dinner and breakfast, superb!

The Chequers Inn itself is over seven hundred years old, which looked and felt great with a 'ye olde' village inn atmosphere. Our room, No.4, had a funny old crooked sloping floor and a very, very comfy four poster bed, so comfy that we wouldn't even have noticed the ghost!

The bar was nice and cosy, with a procession of friendly locals coming and going. The restaurant was equally nice, a perfect place to have a fine meal. Can imagine it to be even better in the summer, having a cool beer in the rear garden by the duck pond.........hmmm, there's a thought.

Anyway, we really enjoyed our visit to The Chequers Inn, Smarden..........so much so..........we stayed another night!

Room Tip: No.4 if you like four poster beds. Overlooks front of the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Have been here before for dinner which we loved so we choose here to go for a weekend away. The room was amazing with its 4 poster bed! Had a lovely time and the food again was incredible. Great hospitality from all of the staff. Will absolutely be going back when we can! Highly recommend :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was our second visit to The Chequers Inn and we were greeted with warm recognition from the bar staff. We were then given a free upgrade into one of their lovely newly refurbished barn rooms which had an oak finish throughout. We ate once again and as before the standard of food and service was impeccable, I had the lamb shank which fell off the bone and my husband had the Oxtail Pudding!!
We both thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break here and would not hesitate to recommend the inn to all of our family and friends. It is good to see a family run business still surviving in these hard times in a lovely village such as Smarden.

Room Tip: Both rooms we have stayed in were lovely but I do know two of the rooms are 4 posters if you want th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCSloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Very beautiful old school English inn, not many off these left unfortunately.
Our room (6) was great fun, even the floor was uneven, very old and full of character it's also supposed to be haunted by a sailor who was murdered there but unfortunately he must have not been in the mood to spook us....

We had a large bathroom and decent TV.
We also heard the church bells Sunday morning which was a nice touch.

The food was incredible, I really enjoyed the pork belly, sticky toffee pudding for afters was to die for, didn't really have enough space for it to be honest but there was no way I was going to pass it up.
We also had a very nice bottle of red with our meal.
Breakfast was just as delicious, been a while actually since I've had one so good.

The staff were on the ball and friendly enough.

Good all round.

Helpful?
Thank Brewer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Absolutely aghast at the positive reviews on here given the poor reception (or rather the lack of it) we had despite telephoning in advance to say we would be late as we were attending a party nearby. Firstly, our one night booking wasn't confirmed by email for weeks and we were only given the option of a £100 per night room when I booked. £100 deserves a bit of customer service in my book! I explained that we would be late checking in and actually telephoned on the day of arrival when the phone response was bordering on rude but perhaps 'offhand' would be an appropriate word.

When we turned up at 9pm the girl behind the bar was entirely devoid of manners so was another girl (owner's daughter?) who clearly had no idea of how to treat PAYING CUSTOMERS, let alone welcoming us. The ONLY person we met who was remotely interested in us even being there was the lady owner who served us breakfast. I was furious after arrival and still furious when we left.

The pub is situated on a very dicey corner in this tiny but pretty village. Such a shame the art of customer service at this place doesn't match the charm of the village.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PRPETA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at this glorious inn. This is a great base for visiting the numerous castles and gardens in this beautiful part of Kent. The village itself is a picture postcard delight with a wonderful vintage shop worth spending time in. Our room in the barn was very stylish and comfortable, with it's own private little garden. We ate in the restaurant both nights and there was a great choice of menu together with specials. The food was fantastic, the steaks were incredible, and the service was first class. I have a chocolate allergy and usually forgo deserts as they all have chocolate in some form, but they said that was no problem they would make me something else, and they did. The inn is a beautiful example of the best of listed buildings with great staff who go out of their way help. We shall definitely be going back and recommend this as a must for anyone who loves good food and comfortable surroundings. A very quiet and restful experience.

Room Tip: Choose barn 2 for a groundfloor room with fourposter and a private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smarden
4.1 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
4.5 mi away
Weald of Kent Golf Course & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bethersden Old Barn B&B
Bethersden Old Barn B&B
#1 of 4 in Bethersden
29 reviews
2.6 mi away
Frasers
Frasers
#1 of 2 in Egerton
324 reviews
5.6 mi away
White Lion
White Lion
#1 of 11 in Tenterden
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Property: The Chequers Inn
Address: The Street, Smarden TN27 8QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Smarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chequers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chequers Hotel Smarden
The Chequers Inn Smarden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing