We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campanile - Hull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Campanile Hull - City Center
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Campanile - Hull”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Plus points - comfortable bed. Staff friendly(ish), breakfast above average though not cheap. (And extra - in spite of the sign outside!)

Bad points - everything else....

The hotel is VERY VERY noisy - being at a main junction on Beverley road (room 017) and poor noise insulation. Watching TV in the evening was almost impossible without having the volume really high. The room was small - there were NO mains sockets so could not charge phone or PC. The bathroom was clean but very slippy - very difficult to get into shower (over bath) without slipping.

I would have gone and complained - but the rooms are separate to the reception area - they had already taken my money and it was late. I just gave up and accepted the inevitable.

I was so uncomfortable with the noise I nearly got up and left at 10:30 at night. Horrible night!

Would never stay at a Campanile again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else! I am trying to be polite - but this is the worst night I have had in a long time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revJandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    94
    84
    43
    61
See reviews for
32
108
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Clean, friendly staff, outside could do with a bit of care and attention but overall it was everything you expect from a budget hotel, plus it had somewhere to park the car for free. There were a lot of contractors staying when we were there - a sign that it is good value for money

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

After reading the other revues we wondered what we had let ourselves in for, but It was fine. Our room was located on the 2nd floor facing the road, never heard any traffic noise till 4am when an ambulance went past. Room was clean as was the bathroom the bed was one of the comfiest we have slept in . Granted it could do with a refurb, but it served our purpose. Girl in reception very helpful, only 3 types of sandwiches being served and the hotel was full. If thsy had a full menu on we would have had something to eat before our concert, as it was we got a burger. Would recommend this hotel.I know there is a nightclub next door but we never heard a thing.

Room Tip: we were in 117 roadside but quiet not near night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StatesideRipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Located just off Beverley Road on the north side of Freetown Way, the by-pass on the north side of the nearby city centre. Great value and excellent breakfasts - either Full English or Continental.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazzersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I have stayed in Campanile Hotels before both in this country and in France and have always found them very good unfortunately this location lets the chain down. The hotel is old and badly in need of a refurbishment. The room was small and shabby and noisy.

The price however was competitive for a city centre location and the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Request a room on the car park side to aviod busy, noisy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markesmith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Have stayed here twice before; perfectly OK; town centre location, and hotel can be quite noisy. Rooms at front are on a main road; at the back, face towards a night club/bar, which does quieten around midnight - maybe not so good for young children trying to sleep. Double glazing not too bad, though. Rooms more like 'lodges' really. Rooms perfectly OK for an overnight stay, and on-site restaurant and bar - good breakfast, freshly cooked. Newspapers provided, too! Free parking, and also free wifi, apparently - though annoyingly I didn't realise this til next day! Buildings are a bit in need of tlc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Wanted a cheap and cheerful weekend in Hull. The Campanile is close to all amenities,has free parking and fits the bill.Traffic noise at the front needed earplugs at night but room had all facilities and was clean and comfortable.Great pub The Wellington just around the corner and plenty of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank simon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
784 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gilson Hotel
Gilson Hotel
#13 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hull - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hull - City Center

Property: Campanile Hull - City Center
Address: 20 Beverley Road | (Entrance on Norfolk Street), Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Hull - City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Hull - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing