We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap & Fairly Cheerful.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Hull - City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Campanile Hull - City Center
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap & Fairly Cheerful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Campanile is a motel, centrally placed in the city, with ground & first floor rooms set in a quadrangle around the car-park. It is securely fenced around.

I booked a weekend here during late summer time, but had no problem obtaining a room by a telephone booking from London. If you're not a 5-star globetrotter, this facility is perfectly adequate. I had already read some of the very mixed reviews here, so I wasn't expecting too much, and this was reflected in the price.

However, I got a first-floor room - inward-facing, to avoid traffic noise from the nearby main road - which was a double of excellent proportion. It had rather a look of faded 1980's modernism, but was nevertheless clean and neat. Both bedding and towels were quite satisfactory with a nice fresh smell. There was a full-size bath as well as a shower, and bags of piping-hot water. The room contained tea/coffee making facilities (though not many of each) and a small colour TV with a remote control that worked. Window privacy and lighting were sufficiently flexible and I wasn't bothered by noise from other guests. Heating was satisfactory.

As food reviews were so varied, I decided to eat out. Which, in a city centre, is no problem. Though frankly I neither saw nor smelt any symptom of preparation at the hotel. The car park is included in the price, with modest landscaping and 24hour access. An essential, in my view. At least two hotels in central Hull don't actually have car-parks, which seems preposterous in this day and age.

The managerial staff seem to have a strange attitude. I can best describe it as `cheerful indifference'. They seem happy to hear you are having a good time, but I think they would be no less enthusiastic if you electrocuted yourself. The room-maids were the friendliest, and hard-grafters, too. So I left them a tip.

No problems to report, and I'd go there again. But don't trust the internet pricing guide; ring them up and ask.

Room Tip: Request a first-floor room facing inside the car-park. You get a `free balcony' and reduced traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdel M, General Manager at Campanile Hull - City Center, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Good afternoon,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the feedback concerning your stay. Being continuously into improving our customer service, our guests' opinion is always welcome.

We offer free parking and free wifi to all of our guests at the hotel and our kitchens are open for meals throughout the day to all guests and general public alike, service times are available by contacting us directly at the hotel. I will pass your comments and compliments directly to our team here.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, thank you again for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.


Best Regards

Abdel M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    91
    76
    42
    50
See reviews for
32
93
37
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We visited Hull primarily to see the Beryl Cook Exhibition & the Campanile Hotel was a very good choice for our 2 night stay. The bedroom was on the ground floor overlooking the car park where we were able to park free, a bonus. The room was clean, the beds comfortable with white bedding, the bathroom was clean with sparkling white towels & always the water was hot, with a good shower. All the staff were friendly & helpful. The continental breakfast was reasonably priced & offered a wide variety of excellent food. We ate in the hotel in the evening & there was a good choice of dishes, well presented & cooked. All in all we made an excellent choice with this hotel & we would certainly recommend it & we hope to try some others in the chain.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet as it overlooked the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeandyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdel M, General Manager at Campanile Hull - City Center, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Good afternoon,

We have read your review and would like to thank you for taking the time to write it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your lovely compliments to our staff. We are pleased to hear that you are looking to stay at other hotels within our chain and hope that you find your stays just as pleasant there.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future to our hotel.


Best Regards

Abdel M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent city centre hotel. We came down from South Shields for the recent Sunderland FA Cup quarter final match and were soundly thrashed by Hull Tigers (as they are to be known in the not too distant future!). The pain of this beating was eased by the comfort of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff! The proximity to the town centre bars was an added bonus.....as was the very reasonable price!

Room Tip: Enjoy some Stella Artois in the nearby boozers and your experience of the stay will be enhanced furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdel M, General Manager at Campanile Hull - City Center, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Good afternoon,

We have read your review for your recent stay and would like to thank you for it, we are situated just 10 minutes walk from the main Hull city centre bars and restaurants. I will of course pass on your compliments to the staff regarding your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you all again in our hotel.


Best Regards

Abdel M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
233 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for 1 night while visiting relatives. We received a warm welcome and were checked in quickly and efficiently. Our room was clean and comfortable and included toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities which was more than a lot of the local hotels were offering at higher prices. Secure on site parking is a bonus too. We had an upstairs room overlooking the car park - quieter than overlooking the road.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was freshly cooked and delicious. Service was friendly and attentive. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the car park is quieter than overlooking the road. We preferred to be upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tazzat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdel M, General Manager at Campanile Hull - City Center, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our facilities to be pleasing and useful. We offer all of our guests free parking and wifi as standard. I will pass on your compliments to our team here.

Hoping to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards


Abdel M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is very much like an American Motel, rather than a hotel.

Reception and restaurant in one building, then across the yard is the main building which is on two levels of "lodges" all facing out into the main yard area. Accommodation is not luxurious, but its important to remember this place charges £35 a night for a city centre room, which by any standard is cheap. The room had twin beds, actually quite comfy, furnishings were very basic but adequate, the shower was both powerful and hot.

Breakfast (extra charge) is served across in the main building. A choice of either cooked or continental foods available. We did dine there the evening prior, and did enjoy the food. It isnt cheap but hey, it is to be expected in this type of environment.

A big "plus" is the free parking in the yard outside the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdel M, General Manager at Campanile Hull - City Center, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Good afternoon,

thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel, your feedback as a guest helps us to enhance our customer service every day and we care for our guests' satisfaction and comfort.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best Regards
Abdel M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Nothing to look at from the outside but our room was clean, warm and very comfortable. If you book at least 5 days in advance you get an excellent price which includes the continental breakfast. There is plenty of free parking which is a real bonus for a hotel this close to the city centre which starts just across the road. The beds are 6' which again for me makes this a very comfortable stay, and the tv's are flat screen with lots of the free digital channels whereas in most similar hotels, even though there is freeview, you still only seem to have access to a few. Yes it is near a busy road but we didn't find it all that noisy and if you are going to stay that close to a city centre then it isn't going to be that quiet is it? I wouldn't pay extra for the breakfast as you have plenty of choice close by for a lot cheaper but as it was included in the room price, we found the continental selection was plentiful, fresh and very enjoyable. I particularly enjoyed the forest fruits. There were a couple of very small maintenance issues which we pointed out and I hope they will be addressed. If they did do it up to make it look posh then they would put the prices up, so personally if I'm in a comfortable clean room then I'm not really bothered what the outside looks like. If you are bothered then don't stay here. We would definitely stay here again when next in Hull.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park rather than the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Me12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdel M, General Manager at Campanile Hull - City Center, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Good afternoon,

thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your compliments with our team regarding breakfast and our rooms. We are a city centre hotel, 10 minutes walk from the Interchange and offer free parking and free wifi to all of our guests for the duration of their stay.

We appreciated your comments on maintenance issues, our guest comfort is our priority and we are sorry if this caused you any inconvenience during your stay.


Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best Regards

Abdel M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We'd never stayed with Campanile before but chose it over the Travelodge as (unlike Travelodge) it offered free car parking and wifi for about the same price.

It is Motel style and we took previous reviewers advice and asked for a room overlooking the car-park, which made it slightly quieter. The rooms are basic but have everything needed to crash after a night out in Hull (had a great night out!!).

The bed was comfy. There was also a tv (with a usb point) and the usual kettle etc. The decor is a little dated and the bathroom ceiling could have done with a spot of mould killer applying BUT it was what we paid for ... cheap & cheerful ... and suited us for somewhere to crash after a night out. There was only one free socket available (for mobile phone charging etc) but we'd seen this on previous reviews and therefore took a small multi-socket extension with us so that we could charge both phones: but we could have also charged one of the phones thru the usb point in the tv. The room was very warm throughout our stay.

Anna Fox, the Deputy Manager, is an absolute star. She was helpful before we arrived, answering our inquiries through email incredibly quickly. Once we arrived she was friendly, helpful and an absolute font of information about the local area and social life. She is a credit to the company and they are lucky to have such a great employee.

We also paid to have breakfast. This was a big let down. The lady that served us was friendly but I was concerned that she had very long hair that was left loose (not tied back) despite her handling the baked goods. The breakfast cost us £ 8.75 each ... more expensive than the comparable Travelodge & Premier Inn. We always enjoy our breakfast at Travelodge and Premier Inn but it was a big disappointment at the Campanile (despite being more expensive). Unlike the other places we have stayed, the only choice we were given regarding our cooked breakfast was how we wanted our eggs (we chose scrambled, which was a mistake, as they tasted like they'd had water instead of milk added). In Travelodge/Premier Inn you choose your own portion size but at The Campanile we were not given this choice, despite being told it was an 'all you can eat' meal and were given only one of each item (one sausage, one slice of bacon, one hash brown etc). The food was very greasy and left me feeling uncomfortable afterwards. Likewise, the continental buffet was limited in choice and not appetising ... we were told to help ourselves but only had an (over-cooked) croissant as nothing else appealed.

Our overall opinion of the Campanile at Hull was therefore that we would definitely stay there again but we would not have the breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the car park are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lankylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gilson Hotel
Gilson Hotel
#13 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
3.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hull - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hull - City Center

Property: Campanile Hull - City Center
Address: 20 Beverley Road | (Entrance on Norfolk Street), Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Hull - City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Louvre hotels so you can book your Campanile Hull - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing