We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what I needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Campanile Hull - City Center
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Rochester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just what I needed”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Well this Hotel is a budget Hotel at £50 per night but its clean and simple, there is a bar & restaurant at bargain prices and the food is very good.
The staff are very pleasant and always willing to help you if you need it, but if your quite OK then you are left alone to relax.
Rooms have TV and free Wi-Fi which for me worked well.

Room Tip: Don,t expect the Ritz but if you want a cheap and simple Hotel that is clean this is the place for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skippercaship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Deputy Manager at Campanile Hull - City Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, guest reviews really do help us to understand our guests' requirements and to improve our service. I will pass your kind compliments onto our team, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hoping to welcome you again to our hotel.

Best Regards

Anna F.
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    93
    78
    42
    53
See reviews for
32
98
37
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

So this is the 2nd (and last time) I stayed at a Campanile, the last being Wakefield which wasn't a good experience at all!

The staff of the Campanile Hull are wonderful, they had no problem looking after our backpacks when we arrived on an early train and they were just lovely, I commend that.

What wasn't lovely was our room, stains on the wall, one of them was definitely a wee stain in the bathroom and there were marks on the walls, no formica left on the night stand, I'd say the room was tired but it's probably more like exhausted. I do however have to say that the beds were so comfortable but that's not enough to make me want to ever stay at a Campanile hotel ever again, they're like chalets from Butlins, by all means if that's your thing then do it but no... just no!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyCharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna F, Deputy Manager at Campanile Hull - City Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, we try to assist guests in whatever ways possible during their stay.

We apologise that the rooms did not appear to be of our usual high standard and hope that this did not inconvenience your stay, I will look into the issues you have mentioned and bring them up with our team immediately.

Thank you again for your review of our hotel, guest comments always help us to improve and enhance our hotel.

Best Regards

Anna F.
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I, like many parents, needed a Hotel for my daughters graduation. Booked very much last minute so many places already booked out. As only one night location (walking distance to Town Hall) was more important than quality/sleep quality.

Plenty of parents/family of graduting students were staying there.

LOCATION
Corner of Beverly Rd and Freetown Way across the junction from the Travelodge. Both roads busy so there is traffic noise.
Location good for walking access to Hull City centre (down Prospect Street)

PARKING

There is free parking

HOTEL

Hotel is more like an American Motel with a block of bedrooms located next to Beverly Rd. Rooms face Beverly Rd or internal car park. Separate building houses the reception and small breakfast room/restaurant
Free WiFi available from "Spectrum" (Spectrum appear to service a number of Hotels)

ROOMS
Building is old construction.
Functional. Bathroom old fashioned Bath/shower affair. Small hanging area. I also experienced the quickly overheating Hairdryer.

Double Bed soft mattress (I found comfy) small flat screen TV.
Walls have a stippled plaster effect not seen for many years. Biggest surprise was when a moth the size of a small bird flew out of the hanging/wardrobe area.

Although the room insulation is fairly good not sure if a light sleeper (of which I am one) would get a full nights sleep. I can't confirm as I was awoken early by an ambulance siren at 7am.

BREAKFAST
Cost £8.95 for full english including small continental choice. Continental on its own was £6.50 I think. Enjoyed the Breakfast.

CONCLUSION

Ok for 1 night and as booked last minute so had limited choice. Although I probably could have had a better quality place in another part of Hull the location for ease of access, parking and being able to meet up with my daughter were more important.

I would like to add that the Staff obviously are used to graduations and obviously recognise parents will be coming and going and although checkin wasn't until 14:00 The staff said I could register early so I could park my car. Also on checkout day (graduation day) they also allowed me to leave my car in the car park which is obviously very helpful and makes life a lot easier.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car will be less affected by the traffic noise from Beverly Rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdel M, Deputy Manager at Campanile Hull - City Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We offer free parking and free wifi to all of our guests and are within a 10 minute walk of both the Interchange and the City Centre which does make us well situated for guests wanting to venture into the town without having to worry about car parking.

We offer a fully inclusive breakfast of an eat all you like continental buffet with a freshly cooked Full English to order for £8.75 per person, or the continental buffet is available on its own as a lighter option for just £6, hopefully we offer something for all guests' tastes.

I am sorry that the traffic noise disturbed your sleep, where possible we do try to accomodate for room requests, as we do appreciate some guests may prefer (for example) a quieter room. All of our bedrooms have an external perforated window shutter which can be lowered to provide extra blackout from light or noise. Guests are more than welcome to place a comment with their booking if they have any requests and we will always try to help wherever possible.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards

Anna F.
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Quirky but we loved it.The service we received was exceptional would take too long to explain,we are planning reasons to go there again. Yes it could do with a refurb but for the price it can't be beaten.The staff really do go the extra mile all of them.Looking forward to going back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Violet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdel M, Deputy Manager at Campanile Hull - City Center, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate all comments and compliments from our guests and will pass them onto our team here. We try to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay to the fullest possibility and it is great to know our team went the extra mile to help you achieve this.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.
Best Regards

Anna F.
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

On the plus side the hotel is relatively close to the town centre, and in 10 minutes (walking)you can be in the heart of the city. The staff are very nice and helpful and the free continental breakfast included in our room rate was very good. We had an evening meal and it was very good.
The bed linen and towels were spotless as was the bathroom. There is free unlimited wifi.

On the down side, our room was quite small and could have done with a fresh coat of paint. The carpets were in need of replacing. The toilet only flushed intermittently, and the hair dryer overheated and cut out within 30 seconds. (Only found this out on the last morning, but reported the problems on departure)

The outside of the building is in dire need of painting and the outside stairs and walkways to the rooms need upgrading, especially the stairs which are in my opinion dangerous when wet.

It is a cheap no frills motel and you'd be hard put to find better value for money. Just don't have high expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westmorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdel M, Deputy Manager at Campanile Hull - City Center, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Good evening,

Thank you for your review of your stay, guest comments are always appreciated and help us to enhance the quality of our service. We are pleased that you found our restaurant appealing and will pass your compliments onto our team here, also to our housekeeping team.

Thank you for notifying us of the problem with the room hairdryer, we hope that this did not cause you too much inconvenience. Our external stairs and landings are fitted with non slip external carpet and stair edgings to ensure safety when wet, we hope the external decor did not put you off staying with us in the future.

Thank you again for your review, we hope to welcome you here again in the future.

Best Regards

Anna F.
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A group of friends and I went to Hull for a weekend and booked into the Campanile, We could not have been looked after better, the deputy manager Belinda is an absolute star she really went that extra mile to make us feel at home she should get a pay rise for her attitude. the breakfast the next day was excellent with English, continental or both if you were really hungry!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with low numbers away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdel M, General Manager at Campanile Hull - City Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Our team priority is to ensure a smiling welcome and a friendly atmosphere for all of our guests, I will pass your kind compliments onto our team. We always try to accomodate guest requirements wherever possible. Our buffet style continental breakfast with the option of a Full English cooked fresh to order is always available during breakfast service and we are glad you found it to your taste.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best Regards

Abdel M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I probably would not choose to stay here again due to the poor sleep quality. The hotel is laid out as an American motel might be, with chalet-style bedrooms directly onto a car park. Whilst the public area, bar and reception were nice, and the staff lovely and welcoming, the room itself was claustrophic and dated. I could only open the window to a small degree, due to the noise from outside and I felt vulnerable and overlooked. There were thick metal shutters but these made the room unbearably sealed. I also noticed a stuffy smell in the room even though it was very clean. There was no fan in the room so it was hard to sleep.

Room Tip: It is really important not to get a room on the ground floor or facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyWildman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdel M, General Manager at Campanile Hull - City Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, we are sorry it did not meet all of your expectations. The windows in our bedrooms have a safety catch with enables them to be opened partially, or this can be unclipped to provide more air into the room as you require. All of our rooms have curtains and an external perforated window shutter which can be rolled down for extra privacy and noise reduction whilst still allowing airflow into the room. Unfortunately we do not have electric fans within the hotel. We are glad that you found our staff friendly and welcoming at our hotel.

Thank you again for your review, we strive to meet our guests' expectations and your comments have been duly noted. We hope that this issue did not inconvenience your stay too much.

Best Regards

Abdel M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#1 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gilson Hotel
Gilson Hotel
#14 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hull - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hull - City Center

Property: Campanile Hull - City Center
Address: 20 Beverley Road | (Entrance on Norfolk Street), Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Hull - City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Louvre hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Hull - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing