We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Fixed Price Menu!”
Review of Crofters

Crofters
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Small family run restaurant in the centre of Anlaby, East Yorkshire. Anlaby is located five miles west of Hull, close to the Humber Bridge.Great quality home cooked food.Three course fixed price menu available Tuesday to Friday evening only £22.50 per person.Traditional four course Sunday lunch only £14.95 per person.Our private dining rooms make the ideal venue for family celebrations, business meetings etc.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding Fixed Price Menu!”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I visited Crofters with my boyfriend for our Anniversary meal. Be both had heard great things about it both from trip advisor and from friends so we were really excited. As we went on a Tuesday evening we opted for the fixed price menu. 3 courses each and a bottle of wine for £21 each! A bargain! The restaurant itself is small but perfectly formed with only 4 tables for 2 and 3 tales for 4. Despite it's size you were still able to have a private conversation without everyone else hearing. The food. Well I admit I was expecting great things and was a little worried that I might have set myself up for a fall but it was spot on. Everything was cooked to perfection and the flavours were amazing! You could tell that the ingredients were all really fresh.As for dessert, you simply must have the sticky toffee pudding! One of the best I've had! While we were there, I think a couple did a runner but the staff were professional and unflappable. Service was exceptional and the waitresses chirpy and happy to help. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    34
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hedon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Excellent standard of food”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

On arrival at the restaurant we were shown to a private area upstairs which was great fior our party of 12.
We had got the menu off the internet so everyone knew what they wanted. We had a 3 course menu for a set price which had a great choice & very reasonable.
The quality of food was excellent & all our meals were cooked perfectly.
From start to finsh service was outstanding even though we were out of the way.
We will certainly return here again

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 20lindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Crofters is one of the best restaurants in the area. We have been many times since Mark and Tracy have been there, and can honestly say we have never ever come away after a meal and not said 'That was fantastic'. We go for Sunday lunch - the roast beef is to die for- succulent and it melts in the mouth, the Yorkshire puddings are HUGE, homemade soup is just yummy, the desserts, well I have trouble choosing which one to have. We go for the fixed price menu where 2 dine for a set price on Tuesday to Friday evenings - excellent value and a la carte food which cannot be faulted. We ALWAYS go in December for the 5 course Christmas menu (well it is my birthday too!) and somehow that gets even better each year! We even had our very low key (2nd for both of us!) wedding celebration dinner here in 2006 where Mark provided us with complimentary bubbly. And we're still coming back year after year because the food is fantastic!
The staff are always friendly, helpful, polite and the atmosphere is relaxed and intimate.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfiesMumHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Saturday night”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Once again a superb experience on Saturday night mark and the team catered perfectly for our party of 12 Superb steak

Helpful?
1 Thank Paulstudiono1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Always relaxing and enjoyable”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is one of our favourite places to eat, guaranteed good food in a relaxed atmosphere. It's a bit like eating in someone's front room, but you never feel too crowded or constricted. Defintiely a place for romance rather than a family meal!

We visited the day after Valentine's (ever the romantic, me) and had a lovely meal from the set menu which is available Monday to Friday. £21.50 per person buys you three courses and half a bottle of wine which is excellent value. There's four choices for each course, always including a steak, fish and veggie option on the mains, and the menu changes on the first of every month.

Booking ahead is definitely advised, particularly for Friday, though there were a couple of spare tables on our visit so you never know.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigCol63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crofters also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Willerby, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Crofters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing