We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow - plush!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Whittington and Cat Hotel
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wow - plush!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Was expecting just 'rooms over a pub' - but much plusher than this - thick carpets, bright colours etc.... I was booked into a better room than the one I'd paid for, and was made to feel extremely welcome by very friendly staff. Along the lines of a superior B and B - very good value for money, would certainly stay here again next time I'm in Hull.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saturdayboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    33
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
37
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed on Saturday 7th January. Trip to to Hull Truck and meal with friends. Stayed in the Emerald Room, friends in Marine View.Our rooms were',nt ready when we checked in due to cleaner's illness. Bar manager apologised and gave us a drink while we waited.Carried our bags to room. Beautifully decorated and really clean . Choice of teas and fresh milk available, also bottled water.Surprised to find extras like Bathrobes and sewing kits provided as well as a good selection of toiletries. Choice of Feather or synthetic pillows, usually this is offered in bigger hotels. Breakfast was continental, but ham was home cooked and lovely. It suited us as we had a celebratory lunch to go to. Was also pleasantly surprised to find only a sort distance to the Old Town and the theatre. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Marine View as would expect has a nicer view, but I preferred the decor in Emerald.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay635677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stated at the Whittngton and Cat this weekend and what a lovely pub! Stayed in the Emerald room, very nice and clean. Great location and stones throw from the town centre! Food is also fab downstairs for your evening meal and breakfast is continental and a help yourself style- perfect! Would stay there again and recommend to all!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL,East Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had booked a luxury room, with nice views and that had a bath, as this was going to be a romantic weekend and planned to have an evening meal and a few drinks in the bar. We booked this room as it was advertised cheap and we thought it was a bargain.

When we were checking in we were told we had to change rooms due to a mirror falling off the wall and smashing the sink. when in the room we realised that we had been lied to as they had dropped a clanger and had advertised it at the wrong price. The room they gave us was the crappest room, which was in the attick, very small, had horrible views and only a shower.

Obviously this had spoiled our romantic weekend and decided to go home. Instead we decided to make the most of the weekend and eat and drink elsewhere.

So when booking a room make sure you have booked the right room and this is the room you get when checking in.

We will never stay in this hotel again!!

Room Tip: Room in the attic is very small and have alot of stairs to go up
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank fuertebulldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Had the twin room closest to the landing. Room basic and cramped. No toilet roll holder wardrobes you could not open due to beds pushing onto them. After the first night room not serviced. No staff on premises out of pub opening hours. On the second night returned at 9.20pm to find pub in total darkness. Letting ourselves in the burglar alarm went off. Had one meal food not good, steak pie which seemed to have been reheated from frozen in the microwave, tinned sweetcorn, tinned peas, not quite the fresh home cooking as advertised. In summary Fawlty Towers but with no staff.

Room Tip: Avoid the twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Ramsey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

stayed here while on business with a colleague very friendly staff iris was chatty and fun the rooms were superb great bed great bath and shower very clean continental breakfast was good for us as we were leaving early nothing bad to say about our stay will go back and recomend to our collegues

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ste225858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

It was a pleasure to stay here, fabulous room (I was given the Master suite with 4 poster bed) and breakfast was complimentary cereals and fruit which was fine for me.
After arrival and a lovely soak in the huge bath, I sat in the bar most of the evening, had a basic but very well prepared dinner and the staff were really jolly and friendly!
As a frequent business traveller I would much rather stay in these little B&B gems that have some soul, rather than the "corporate battery hen" chain hotels any day!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davidwood33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whittington and Cat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whittington and Cat Hotel

Property: The Whittington and Cat Hotel
Address: Commercial Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whittington and Cat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star sliver hotel above a modern city pub. The Whittington & Cat provides a range of different hotel rooms, from single suits, luxury doubles and apartments. Only a 5 min walk from the train station and the centre of hull. We are located a 2 min walk from Hull Ice Arena. We are a family run business and have been described as a hidden gem in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Whittington and Cat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing