We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whittington and Cat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Whittington and Cat Hotel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Veryfriendly staff. Room was ok but basic.
Food was ok but would say greasy - but the staff very nice.
Breakfast is DIY with a fridge outside the rooms - choice was limited.
Probably wouldn't stay again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    31
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
35
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed a weekend for 2 nights after a recommendaton by a friend who had stayed last year.
Sadly standards seem to have slipped since my friend's stay. We had a Marine View Room at £70.00 per night. The room itself was clean and fresh, the bed very comfy, however the bathroom toilet was badly in need of a dose of domestos, and the sink the same.No cooked breakfast, just a poorly displayed and sparse 'help yourself' continental breakfast from a dresser on the landing. Although there were tea making facilities in the bedroom the tap water was of such a poor standard that it was undrinkable, even when boiled for tea. The entrance and stairs to the bedrooms smelt disgustungly musty, and the pub toilets downstairs were also desparately in need of cleaning. On a good note the bar staff were very friendly, however this did not compensate for the lack of hygiene throughout.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janey35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Booked in very friendly lady ..Booked Emerald Room was told someone already in it .Was offered black and White room. THIS IS NOT SAME ROOM AS ADVERTISED ON THEiR BROCHURE IT MUST BE SISTER HOTEL. NOT 4 POSTER BED SMALL DOUBLE ) room small and cramped if you are 6ft tall etc
Chef helpfull food was great as were all staff
still value for money only £45.00 for two so not really complaining just shame about room,mixup /mistake /mislead!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid Black and white faces car park and small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonmurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights a few weeks ago and had the twin room at the top of the stairs. The room itself is nice and airey but I had to squeeze down the side of the bed to open the wardrobe. Also this room is next to the busy main road which kept me awake at night and woke me up early in the mornings. The staff however were very friendly and made me feel very welcome. I would recommend this place if your looking for budget accommodation. I didn't try the food so can't comment on that but the restaurant was quite busy when I checked in.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank statherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Arrived around lunch time and the pub was shut but the chef and manager was around. We were told the room was ready so we may as well check in which was great. The manager explained that they had a table of 16 in for a meal at night and should we wish to eat it maybe better that we order beford them which we did the food was good pub food at a resonable price. The room we stayed in was the Emerald room this was very clean and lovely a lot of attention to detail including the hair dryer,hotwater bottle,robes & slippers there was everything you needed. There was even free parking available.
The only problem was that we could hear the cooler for the pub which did wake us up. Befor we left we were able to see the other rooms and they were equally well presented.
We would stay at the pub/hotel should we be over in that area again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I arrived early in the afternoon and the hotel was closed, I called the contact number and within 5 minutes Sue arrived she led me into the pub then to my room. The room was really nice, large bathroom, with a bath, good shower and bathrobes.
The bed was really comfortable, lots of tea and coffee, marvelous.
The hotel is situated by the marina and a shopping precinct so there is plenty of places to park and the city is just a few minutes walk away.
I had a few drinks in the pub and ate there,there is a good pub menu, with good fresh food.
What more could you ask for, "great stuff".

Room Tip: There isn,t a lift so try and get a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonymac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

The hotel is beautifully decorated and furnished and the room was lovely. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The service was very helpful and friendly. We had a meal in the hotel which was homemade and great value for money. Its a few minutes walk to the city centre. We definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinewagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.6 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whittington and Cat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whittington and Cat Hotel

Property: The Whittington and Cat Hotel
Address: Commercial Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whittington and Cat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star sliver hotel above a modern city pub. The Whittington & Cat provides a range of different hotel rooms, from single suits, luxury doubles and apartments. Only a 5 min walk from the train station and the centre of hull. We are located a 2 min walk from Hull Ice Arena. We are a family run business and have been described as a hidden gem in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Whittington and Cat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing