We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay in Hull” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whittington and Cat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Whittington and Cat Hotel
Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good stay in Hull”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

stayed one night in hull at the Whittington & Cat. Good location, near marina and town. We went to Princes Avenue for dinner and taxi was £4. Arrived after 2pm and pub was shut, you have to ring the door bell and the housekeeper came down to open the door for us. Lovely friendly welcome & everything was explained nicely. We stayed in the capaccino room which was fairly small but nicely decorated. Nice touches included, bottled water & chocolate in the room. Breakfast is fairly basic and help yourself on the landing but nice to be included in price. The one downside of the room was the lack of plugs. We wanted to plug in the laptop and phone which meant we had to unplug the bedside lamps. Hairdryer available but the only place to plug it in was by the side of the bed and therefore you could not use the mirror on the wall by the door to see what you were doing. Overall a good location & pleasant room for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkiandben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    31
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
35
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here with my daughter and her skating friends for a figure skating competition at Hull Arena. The lady who welcomed us was very accommodating and although we had arrived later than expected she still arranged an evening meal. The rooms (I saw three of them) were very good, nicely decorated and very clean. I was a bit dubious about noise from the pub but it was quiet the night we stayed. The self-service breakfast wasn't really what I would normally choose but we had to be up early so it was only really my daughter who tried it, but I can't complain as I knew it was self-service on booking. Overall it was a nice place to stay with very friendly staff and only 5 minutes walk to Hull Arena. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALR2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here in the master suite last Saturday (13th July) and I have to leave a mixed review, the lady who greeted us was friendly, the room was large and well presented and the bed, well I had the best nights sleep ever, even if it did squeek at every move. The breakfast (if you can call it that) left a lot to be desired but tbh I'm not really a big breakfast person so that wasn't such an issue. The bath was large enough for two and the water was hotter than I expected which was good. Now comes the big issue that made the price less attractive, behind the bath was a large hole, it looked like someone had started maintenance and got bored half way through, surely any jobs should be completed before a room is let? It was rather ugly to look at and ruined the whole look of the bathroom, also the taps that came out the floor had a huge wobble, my advice.... Sack the maintenance man! Overall we had a lovely time and would return, maybe the jobs will be finished when we do.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummy2rhys09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

I spent my wedding night in the Master Suite wow! It was very stunning. comfortable & relaxing. I would stay again & intend on doing so. Michelle head housekeeper was great at keeping a secret for my hubby! breakfast in our room was great just what you want when just married! ;')

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carly_seymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st albans
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stay in Hull Once a Month on business, and have tried a variety of different Hotels. I chose the Whittington because of it's location - by the marina, and 5 mins from the center of town.

The 4 star rating for the accommodation for the price also was attractive.

The rooms are themed, I chose the Emerald room - do not book if you do not like green! Even down to the hair dryer and the bedside light stands.

They have free parking, which is good for the central location. We turned up and found a warm and friendly welcome, and the pub was busy with drinkers and diners. the food is ordinary sounding pub fair, but is all home made from locally sourced produce.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Double glazed windows meant we were not disturbed by any outside noise, TV and Wifi both worked well. I would recommend for those on a budget looking for a fun good value and central place to stay.

Room Tip: Only 5 to chose from so ring and ask what is avaliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueperkins, Guest Relations Manager at The Whittington and Cat Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Hello, many thanks for recent review and we are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to accommodating you in the nearest future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

This pub could do with trying harder at being a B & B.
it's lack lustre and dull and they can't even be bothered to do breakfast( you are instructed to go to a cupboard on the landing and help yourself?!!!!???)
It's more like a hostel. And it needn't be because its clean and the room was decorated fairly well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Abcdefghj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

The Whittington and cat is a lovely traditional pub close to the marina in Hull. We stay there when we are visiting family. It is very easy to find and is conveniently located for all of the amenities of Hull city centre. The food in the pub is very good too, proper home cooking! And as the title suggests I was very impressed with the level of accommodation. We have stayed in several different rooms and they are all unique but equally luxuriously decorated.

Room Tip: All of the double rooms are lovely but the rooms at the front of the building have be much better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GemskiLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.6 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whittington and Cat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whittington and Cat Hotel

Property: The Whittington and Cat Hotel
Address: Commercial Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whittington and Cat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star sliver hotel above a modern city pub. The Whittington & Cat provides a range of different hotel rooms, from single suits, luxury doubles and apartments. Only a 5 min walk from the train station and the centre of hull. We are located a 2 min walk from Hull Ice Arena. We are a family run business and have been described as a hidden gem in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Whittington and Cat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing