We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Rooms, perfect location to explore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Whittington and Cat Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Rooms, perfect location to explore”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night (Marine View room) on Thursday. The hotel is really nicely refurbished and the rooms are fantastic. They are just as cheap as the Holiday Inn, over the road, but are far, far superior. It was nice to stay in a proper place, rather than a boring chain hotel. The location is perfect for the best of Hull; the marina (have a drink in the Minerva), the Deep (absolutely brilliant!!!), the old town (10 mins walk to some old, historical pubs like the Lion and Key or Ye Old White Hart) and the shops and museums.

The only slight disappointment was the help-yourself-continental-buffet-breakfast. However, this was my fault for not looking into this first, and actually it is fine. I would recommend "Thieving Harry's" set with a view of the dock in the fruit market (on the marina) if you really want a bacon earnie or nice cup of coffee.

My parents also stayed here with us (Emerald Room). We all agreed that we would return to this hotel again as it was so delightful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Marine View room was great and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    35
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
41
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Myself and my partner stayed for 2 nights, 29th and 30th november, 2013. Our daughter and her boyfriend also came, they had stayed here about 3 weeks earlier and recommended it to us.
They were in the marine view room, we should have been in the emerald room but as soon as the management knew that our stay was an early christmas present from our daughter they immediately upgraded us to the master suite! The room was lovely with black gloss furniture and a four poster bed. Everything in the room was black, white, silver and grey with beautiful blinds and curtains. There were tea and coffee making facilities, a bottle of water, biscuits and even a jar of sweets. The bathroom was lovely with a deep bath with shower taps, toiletries and robes provided. Everything within the suite was spotlessly clean.

We thought that the breakfast provided (on a dresser on landing just outside door) was more than ample to our needs. There were cereals, biscuits, breakfast bars, fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries, chocolate wafers, tea, coffee and juice.

Shopping centres, bars, restaurants and "the Deep" all within a short walking distance.

On the first night we ate at the hotel, we all had the homemade steak pie which was very nice.
Our daughter surprised us the second night with a christmas fayre meal at The Deep which we thoroughly enjoyed.

We really enjoyed our stay at The Whittington and Cat and the surrounding area and would certainly stay again.

kind regards
Baslady

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly as they are shown on the website, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A largely unsupportive, unwelcoming stay for a regular solo traveller.

No books to read.
I was declined a polite request to take their food into my room. It arrived ten minutes late and was the wrong order.
Bar was empty at 9.30pm on a Saturday night.
No toaster or cooked breakfast option.
Morrision's own brand yoghurts and pre-packaged pastries.
No toilet roll holder.
Exposed screw-heads and plaster on curtain rails.
A63 intolerable.

Bed was comfy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank The_Kreisau_Circle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We arrived quite late and had booked the four poster room, the host was lovely and the room was immaculate. The four poster bed was so comfy and the room was better than most five stars we have stayed in, if I'm ever back in hull will defiantly stay again! Host was lovely and very accommodating...just wish there was a full cooked breakfast on offer...but given the room and the high standard of the en suite we were more than happy with the price we paid. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Next time we will ask to stay in the top floor room, we over heard someone saying it was a fab room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Really really nice place to stay, don't be put off by the local shops as this is just bad planning. The pub itself is your standard drinking pub with good pub food, the rooms are fantastic and very we'll presented, you have access to fruit, cereal, biscuits and croissants etc with fruit juice and all sorts of hot drinks so can have your breakfast any time you wish. Great base to stay either for business or short breaks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Looking for somewhere to base yourself that is central to Hull and surrounding areas? This is the place you want to go for. Michelle and the team are very welcoming, nothing is too much trouble, the pub has just been decorated too and the rooms (we stayed in the Master Suite) are lovely and for the price you pay, try and find better.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and go for the master suite ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteEdge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Only spent 1 night here but loved it ( pukka guiness )
Was here for my daughters graduation from Hull Uni, checked in with a really lovely pleaseant lady, and there was a ladies dart match in the pub that night. ( plenty of tattoos :)
Room was very very comfortable and would recommend it to anyone on a short stay in Hull
Gibbo

Room Tip: All nice to be honest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibbo147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whittington and Cat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whittington and Cat Hotel

Property: The Whittington and Cat Hotel
Address: Commercial Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 2SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whittington and Cat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star sliver hotel above a modern city pub. The Whittington & Cat provides a range of different hotel rooms, from single suits, luxury doubles and apartments. Only a 5 min walk from the train station and the centre of hull. We are located a 2 min walk from Hull Ice Arena. We are a family run business and have been described as a hidden gem in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Whittington and Cat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing