We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small gem”
Review of Ferens Art Gallery

Ferens Art Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: THE FERENS ART GALLERY IS CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR MAJOR REFURBISHMENT AND WILL REOPEN EARLY 2017. Opened in 1927, the award winning Ferens Art Gallery combines internationally renowned permanent collections with a thriving programme of temporary exhibitions. We also run a lively education and events programme that includes tours, talks and art workshops. The gallery's first-class permanent collection of paintings and sculpture spans the medieval period to the present day. These include European Old Masters, particularly Dutch and Flemish, portraiture, marine paintings, modern and contemporary British art, including video. Highlights include masterpieces by Frans Hals, Antonio Canaletto, Stanley Spencer, David Hockney, Helen Chadwick and Gillian Wearing.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A small gem”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

On business so only able to visit briefly; but warm welcome by floor and cafe staff to this little gem of a gallery, containing surprising and varied collection of donated art, mainly Victorian and Edwardian British, including some famous pieces by e.g. Stanley Spencer, and when I was there an interesting temporary exhibition on animals in art loaned by the British Museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Biblioswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    116
    15
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brilliant gallery”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Came to New Theatre to see One Man Two Guvnors(brilliant) and popped into the Ferens for a coffee and a quick look.We were still there two hours later.Some really interesting and well displayed exhibits.The highlight for us was a beautifully curated temporary exhibition of prints and objects of curious beasts.Some lovely Durers, fascinating 18th century cartoons, the kind of exhibition we would willingly pay to see in London.Just wished we lived nearer as our grandchildren would.absolutely love it.Oh, and the coffee and scone were good as well.Willreturn next time we are in Hull as we were still only half way round at closing time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
150 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Victorian art and nice cafe”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you love Victorian and Edwardian art, especially of ships, you'll love this gallery. Plenty of modern art too, and it has a fine cafe and shop too. Lots of local scenes as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank fredpipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have never been to an art gallery that is so much like the national in London where you can walk right up to the paintings and appreciate them close up. A stunning building and beautiful artwork. There is a lovely garden cafe where you can sit quietly outside and enjoy a coffee or glass of wine. Great place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Art Galley, VERY poor Open this year”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The gallery is an absolute gem. I agree. Some spectacular art and Hull shouldn't take this for granted. It is very, very well run. The Open this year 2014 is disappointing I agree. The judging was poor and I agree the work is nowhere near the usual high standard. What a shame!
The cafe staff are sullen and rude and it's also a shame that this hasn't been addressed for a very long time. Some customer service training and good management would go a very long way.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank REAEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ferens Art Gallery also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Ferens Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing