We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great even for little people :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Gianni

Da Gianni
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Doncaster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great even for little people :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This evening we were very impressed with Da Gianni. The food was lovely, we both order from the specials board and it did not disappoint it was yummy.
Plus very accommodating for our fussy 2 year old, who only requires plain pasta.
Lovely atmosphere it was very relaxed and we felt very welcome even with our little one. Which most nice restaurants fail to achieve. Definitely recommend for both date night and family eating
Thank you Da Gianni

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    76
    27
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is my favourite Italian restaurant and I've lost count of how many times I've been there. The food is always great with very good service. They have a big selection of pasta dishes and they do the best garlic bread, tomato and pesto that I've tasted anywhere. Its understandably popular so can get a bit noisy at peak times so we try to go early evening when possible.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent evening and lovely meal in a very friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We decided to book a table at this restaurant to celebrate our daughter and her boyfriends graduation in Hull in July. We had an absolutely lovely meal, the atmosphere was busy but friendly. The staff were really nice and the food was to die for. Would definately go back to this restaurant. At the end of the evening the owner found out it was their graduation and brought them a bottle of proseco out on the house as a gift. We all thought that this was a very nice thing to do and a lovely end to a lovely evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday evening without the kids ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We found ourselves without the kids for a first time in ages and headed straight for da gianni. We have been several times and it never disappoints.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best little italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Without a doubt the italian restaurant in Hull ( the takeaway is fantastic as well !! ) the pollo spezzatino is out delicious ! The pizzas are true italian pizzas not the shocking British version ( thick as a loaf if bread and covered in cheap cheese and crappy toppings ) this restaurant is our favourite in the city with brilliant service and true out of this world italian food ! fare la vostra auto un favore e avere un pasto qui !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Gianni also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Da Gianni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing