We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy for the trains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel Hull
Reviewed 2 August 2011

the hotel is situated in the center of hull on a main road and next to the railway station ,you get some noise but no more than most city center hotels
plenty of shops of every disscription only minutes away
our room was a bit on the small side but o k for a short break ,but would not like to stay in it for much longer
the food was well cooked,but nothing out of the ordinary,breakfast was basic hotel faire
the hotel bar was very short on seating for a saturday night ,so try one of the local pubs ,they are also much cheaper
to sum up the hotel was good value for money ,and if you get one of the special offers it's great value,next time in hull we would probably stay again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjwest1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear jjwest1949. Thank you for your positive comments following your stay with us at the Royal hotel. When you return back to the city, my team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal. Sincerely Stewart Rushton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,232 - 1,238 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

great hotel good prices and the evening meal was super also good english breakfast. rooms were clean staff were polite and bar prices not to bad for city centre hotel

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paxton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear paxton7. Thank you for your positive comments following your stay with us at the Royal hotel. When you return back to the city, my team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal. Sincerely Stewart Rushton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed here at the end of July 2011 with my husband and his brothers - they used to live in Hull when they were children and every year we go back to their roots and enjoy the old pubs and bars, a generally a rugby league match, lovely shops and lots of them! Got a deal this year at this hotel an "all inclusive" deal with breakfast, lunch, evening meal and house wine, beer and lager - really clean place to stay, lovely staff and very courteous, good for parking, good central place to be. Buffet Breakfast really really nice and lots of choice, something for everybody. Certainly would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gib099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear Gibb099. Thank you for your positive comments following your stay with us at the Royal hotel. When you return back to the city, my team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal. Sincerely Stewart Rushton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The staff are what makes this hotel so appealing. Nothing is too much trouble and they work their socks off to make your stay as welcoming and as comfortable as possible. Its location is ideal for exploring the city too - perfect for popping in and out of town and the atmosphere in the foyer bar is one that celebrates all that is best in life - births, marriages, fundraisers - you literally see generations of life celebrated here. It is charming. This was our second visit to the Royal and there is little doubt we shall be back for more!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear garnem. Thank you for your positive comments following your stay with us at the Royal hotel. When you return back to the city, my team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal. Sincerely Stewart Rushton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

just spent 2days on the all inc deal and could not fault this hotel at all.food rooms service&staff excellent central location near shops all in all the best £79 ive ever spent.all i can say is if you get the chance GO YOU WONT BE DISSAPOINTED!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear matha66. Thank you for your positive comments following your stay with us at the Royal hotel. When you return back to the city, my team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal. Sincerely Stewart Rushton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I've stayed at the this hotel many times on business over the last 6 years and I was interested on the latest trip to see what had changed since it had acquired the 'Mercure' name.It's always seemed a little stuck in the past so I was hoping for some radical changes. There are some new tables and chairs in the restaurant and bar areas and there's also now free WiFi which is good but, apart from that, I couldn't see how it fitted in with the Mercure brand which I've always associated with something slightly up market.

Some minor issues in the room such as a missing toliet roll holder which could easily have been fixed by someone going to a local DIY shop, and a toliet seat that wouldn't stay up - neither of which say 'Mercure' to me.

Not a bad hotel by any means - just still some way to go.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touchay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for leaving a review. I am looking through all my ‘older’ reviews and I hope you will accept my apologies for the fact that we didn’t reply any sooner. Since your visit, I ahve taken over as General Manager and we have made some positve changes. I value your feedback and I hope I am able to welcome you again in the near future.
Regards,
Luc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Rooms are renovated to some extent, public spaces even less. Shower pressure and temp not consistent.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymousor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalhotelmanager, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Dear anonymousor. Thank you for your comments following your stay with us at the Royal hotel When you return back to the city, my team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal. Sincerely Stewart Rushton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#3 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
496 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel Hull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel Hull

Address: 170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: £36 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel Hull 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is ideally located in the City Centre, adjacent to the Railway Station. The Hotel is next to the St Stephens Shopping complex and the Hull Truck Theatre. Close to Hull's historic Old Town Centre and The Deep Aquarium, everything is just a few minutes walk away. The hotel offers free WiFi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hotel Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kingston Upon Hull
Quality Hotel Kingston Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing