We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location good staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel Hull
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location good staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

You will only want to stay here if you want to be near the city centre and the station. It was great straight from the train to the hotel. Decor dated and showing signs of past elegance. I stayed in a double but thank goodness I was alone as it was very small. The need for an en suite had used up most of the room. Other than size the room was fine standard Mercure. I decided to eat in having read other reviews and not wanting to go out alone, mistake. It was ok but not excellent and next time perhaps I should venture out. Having said that the gentleman sat to my left at dinner said it was a 'fabulous' meal so everyone likes different things. Breakfast on the other hand was better than expected. The usual buffet but with other options cooked to order and the buffet refreshed and better than some. All staff were lovely at all times. Also free wifi is something I expect and there are still some chains which charge extra, they don't here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

We have an excellent location right in the heart of the city but there are many other reasons to stay here as well - from our excellent food, superb lounge, friendly team and good rooms. I'm sorry your stay was not as special as many other guests and i will work with them to ensure we improve and offer greater consistency to our guests.

Many thanks for your comments

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    412
    232
    109
    66
See reviews for
151
465
62
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have stayed here several times and always enjoyed ourselves - although at one time there were many niggles/problems. These have all gone away - mainly through the attitude and actions of great staff. Mercure management has done a good job of training and all staff are to be commended but special mention must be made of Aidan, Amber, Jade, Rob and Christine who all made our stay so good - thank you all so much.
Would recommend this hotel - especially if you can access one of the really good deals.
Ps management please try to sort air conditioning !

Room Tip: Try for a privilege room - significantly larger - we like the front of the hotel but it can be a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerberaLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I was pleased the team made such an impression on you and I know they are delighted to recieve a special mention on Tripadvisor.

We have twenty five air-conditioning units which are not working and will hopefully have this resolved in the next few weeks

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is built above Hull Paragon Train - Bus Interchange, so is very convenient - no risk of getting rained on between train and bed. The hotel is grand in stature and decor, and tired. The service is average.
"Can I have an espresso?"
"We only have normal coffee".

If you like abnormal coffee, go elsewhere, but you can't beat it's location in Hull.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adl73x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you received poor service whilst you were here. Of course we serve a wide selection of coffees and I am at a loss to explain why you were told differently - sorry.

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

i would just like to say a massive thankyou to you and your great team at the royal hotel for a fantastic stay we had a great room,nothing to complain about , we have had a great view food was excellent,great service,one of the best i have ever experienced in a hotel ,bar staff were so pleasant and polite one of you your young female bar staff she made sure we always had a drink and she was so well mannerd and i would just like to say thank you to her and we look farward to seeing you all again,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Lee,

I was very happy to read you had such a good time at the hotel.

Thank you for your kind words

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed on 7th June with my mum. A beautiful hotel. Our room very clean. We were at the rear next to train station but it did not spoil our stay. You could faintly hear the announcements but did not bother us. Staff were very friendly. Our meal was excellent . Food beautifully cooked and the same for breakfast. Excellent choice. Would stay again if visiting hull again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you for your generous review. I was pleased you had such a good stay

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

stayed here may ist. The hotel is very nice, clean and good sized bedrooms, with a good breakfast selection, but if like me you are unfortunate to stay in the rear of the hotel near THE RAILWAY STATION then be prepared for a load of station announcements and very early morning engine noise! apart from that I would certainly use this hotel again,but not a rear room

Room Tip: front of hotel only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englandcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I was pleased you enjoyed your stay but of course dissapointed that you were disturbed by the noise of the trains in the morning. We have a completely new team on reception and indeed I am new - since your stay we have reviewed which rooms are were and will this information will be able to allocate rooms more thoughtfully to ensure future guests are not disturbed in this way.

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is comfortable, but ruined by very loud disco music from the hotel functions room which went on until 1AM. They seem to rent out the hotel for parties at the expense of guests sleep. Beware!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you for your review and further communications you have sent to myself.

I was sorry you were disturbed by the disco and as mentioned in my email to you we will look at the room you stayed in and if it is negatively by the noise of our weddings and events will only allocate it to guests attending these events.

I would like to reassure you that we would never take an event booking at the expense of our other guests and this would only have been done in error.

Best wishes and as mentioned in my email I do hope you will choose to stay with us again - just drop me an email.

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel Hull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel Hull

Property: The Royal Hotel Hull
Address: 170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel Hull 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is ideally located in the City Centre, adjacent to the Railway Station. The Hotel is next to the St Stephens Shopping complex and the Hull Truck Theatre. Close to Hull's historic Old Town Centre and The Deep Aquarium, everything is just a few minutes walk away. The hotel offers free WiFi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hotel Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kingston Upon Hull
Quality Hotel Kingston Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing