We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel Hull
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great city centre hotel”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here overnight with National Holidays. Pleasantly surprised at this grand old hotel right next to the railway station with a great location for the city centre. Good clean room with bath and shower and comfy beds and hospitality tray (just ring reception for fresh milk). Also a plus point were the bedside lights which had an extra reading light attached. Couldn't fault the food served, very tasty and served with precision by helpful staff. Plentiful buffet breakfast. Just had a little problem with the shower which wouldn't turn off, but one call to reception and within minutes a visit from a member of staff, all was soon rectified. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 33fionam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I was very pleased you had a good stay and enjoyed your time in Hull. I am sorry you experienced a problem with your shower, this has happened in a number of showers and we are in the process of replacing the defective parts in all rooms.

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    410
    231
    108
    65
See reviews for
150
464
61
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wasnt expecting such a good quality hotel. Food was really good with a great veggie choice forachange, room excellent with a beautiful bathroom which wasspotlesslclean. Customer service was brilliant. I have
neverbeen to Hull before, its lovely. Would book again in a flash!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallychandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sally,

Thank you for your review.

I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay, enjoying our food, customer service and our lovely rooms.

Hull is a great city and in a world which is at times becoming homogonised and bland - Hull has a real identity and character- I am glad you enjoyed it!

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Great parking, nice welcome and a lounge that screamed but a glass of wine in sink into a sofa. staff very helpful. Rooms basic but had a revamp so comfortable. Great value but don't expect cold glamour!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Sue,

Thank you for your review

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A one night stay to see a show at Hull Truck Theatre which is just a fine minute walk along the road. Car parking at front of the hotel is reserved for lady drivers - perfect. Easy check-in, pleasant enough room which was clean. Our first floor room faced the front of the property and the main road, with no noise problem. Considering it is at the City's main railway station this was a surprising plus. Due to the lack of time we ate in the hotel's lounge - perched on high seating isn't ideal, but the staff were helpful and courteous. Serving food on slates and wooden boards is all well and good and maybe the trend of the day, but a plate or two makes life much easier. There is a reasonable wine list too - another tick.

The en-suite room - bath with shower over was practical and adequate for our purposes - its always a huge plus when the plumbing works well. We were pleasantly surprised to find white towelling robes and mules for our use too.

Breakfast was decent Yorkshire fayre and we both plumped for the Eggs Benedict which were served with homemade hollandaise - an unexpected surprise. The food was hot, the toasting machine toasted, the coffee strong and hot but the tea it was so dark and strong the teaspoon would of stood up in the cup - no hot water came with it but they happily obliged by bringing some.

This hotel is definitely missing a trick or two and with 2017 City of Culture on the horizon should not rest on its laurels - theatre breaks would be an excellent starting point. Would we stay again - yes probably will.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read you will be returning to stay with us again and recognise that we need to make improvements to really impress you

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

You will only want to stay here if you want to be near the city centre and the station. It was great straight from the train to the hotel. Decor dated and showing signs of past elegance. I stayed in a double but thank goodness I was alone as it was very small. The need for an en suite had used up most of the room. Other than size the room was fine standard Mercure. I decided to eat in having read other reviews and not wanting to go out alone, mistake. It was ok but not excellent and next time perhaps I should venture out. Having said that the gentleman sat to my left at dinner said it was a 'fabulous' meal so everyone likes different things. Breakfast on the other hand was better than expected. The usual buffet but with other options cooked to order and the buffet refreshed and better than some. All staff were lovely at all times. Also free wifi is something I expect and there are still some chains which charge extra, they don't here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

We have an excellent location right in the heart of the city but there are many other reasons to stay here as well - from our excellent food, superb lounge, friendly team and good rooms. I'm sorry your stay was not as special as many other guests and i will work with them to ensure we improve and offer greater consistency to our guests.

Many thanks for your comments

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have stayed here several times and always enjoyed ourselves - although at one time there were many niggles/problems. These have all gone away - mainly through the attitude and actions of great staff. Mercure management has done a good job of training and all staff are to be commended but special mention must be made of Aidan, Amber, Jade, Rob and Christine who all made our stay so good - thank you all so much.
Would recommend this hotel - especially if you can access one of the really good deals.
Ps management please try to sort air conditioning !

Room Tip: Try for a privilege room - significantly larger - we like the front of the hotel but it can be a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerberaLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I was pleased the team made such an impression on you and I know they are delighted to recieve a special mention on Tripadvisor.

We have twenty five air-conditioning units which are not working and will hopefully have this resolved in the next few weeks

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is built above Hull Paragon Train - Bus Interchange, so is very convenient - no risk of getting rained on between train and bed. The hotel is grand in stature and decor, and tired. The service is average.
"Can I have an espresso?"
"We only have normal coffee".

If you like abnormal coffee, go elsewhere, but you can't beat it's location in Hull.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adl73x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you received poor service whilst you were here. Of course we serve a wide selection of coffees and I am at a loss to explain why you were told differently - sorry.

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston-upon-Hull
0.4 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
611 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel Hull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel Hull

Property: The Royal Hotel Hull
Address: 170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel Hull 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is ideally located in the City Centre, adjacent to the Railway Station. The Hotel is next to the St Stephens Shopping complex and the Hull Truck Theatre. Close to Hull's historic Old Town Centre and The Deep Aquarium, everything is just a few minutes walk away. The hotel offers free WiFi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kingston Upon Hull
Quality Hotel Kingston Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing