We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast no co-ordination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel Hull
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a good location Hotel, Rooms are comfortable but not plush in anyway, its at best a high end 3 star, when we stayed there was no air con working in the rooms, Hull is not normally warm
so not a general problem.
The breakfast was a sight to behold, none of the buffet food came out together, so people were
waiting for eggs, then bacon, then toast ( No bread ) Then no beans at no stage did they have a full buffet so you could have your breakfast..

No structure, No control in the kitchen, great fun watching though

Room Tip: Almost on the train lines, so close your windows if the air con is working, ask for front rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Coolberryhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I was sorry to read that breakfast was rather un-coordinated, I'm unsure if there was a particular issue affecting oour service that morning but I am pleased you didn't let shortcomings affect your experince.

Many thanks

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Mercure brand conjures up many different pictures for travellers, but this one is a cracker. The old station hotel is a little oasis in the centre of the town which retains real connections to its history and maintains a lovely old-world feel. The decor is well looked after and the lounge space in the bar is really excellent. I love the way that you can access both the station concourse and the city centre from either end of the reception area.

The staff are friendly, the food and drink are reasonably priced and the room that we had was clean and well presented. The bed was very comfortable. My only two complaints would be that there was no air-conditioning in the room, which was significant during our visit as the temperature exceeded 26 Degrees Centigrade (Celcius) 79 Degrees Fahrenheit, and the buffet breakfast was low on choice.

Apart from that, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to be in the centre of Hull and to be able to escape back to a little oasis of calm and tranquility quickly. It is literally in the centre of the town.

Room Tip: Top Floor on the side of the hotel gave a good balance of noise, the rooms at the front tended to pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Phil,

Thank you for your review.

I agree the Mercure Royal Hotel is geographically, historically and culturally at the heart of the city. Our public areas are superb and great judgement was used in our refurbishment to create a space which celebrates the history of the hotel whilst providing a vibrant modern feel.

Both yourself and the previous reviewer suggest our breakfast has room for improvement we have listened to this and have team working towardsimplementing an improved breakfast offering.

Best wishes

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We booked one night at the hotel for our daughters graduation and judging by the noise levels from other rooms (paper thin walls) and the constant platform announcements I think I would have been better to sleep in the car. In fairness the rooms were clean enough

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jimjuby148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Jim,

Thank you for your review.

I was concerned to read that you found the room noisy and would be grateful if you could drop me a short email with either the number of the room you stayed in or the dates and your surname so I can investigate and take the neccesary measures to ensure future guests are not disturbed- gm@hotels-hull.co.uk

Many thanks

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is impressive when you drive up - old (in a good way), full of character, close to train station and city centre and excellent free parking right outside.

Staff were great, check in very easy, rooms basic but clean and comfortable, the bed was very soft and comfy.

Good selection of tea and coffee, plus there was a hairdryer!!!

Only downside was that the room had only a small window that let in a minimal amount of air, and because we stayed on a warm night, this made sleeping very uncomfortable!!

Also, the wifi was a little temperamental (though it was at least free!!!!)

Given that we paid only £44 off this room I was very impressed and would deffo stay again!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank dmorgan202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay.

We have good quality WiFi throughout the hotel and we are one of the only hotels in the city to offer this free of charge. I am pleased to report that we are having a survey conducted next week to ensure that we are offering excellent connection and speed in all areas on the hotel.

Best wishes

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

On arrival check in quick & efficient & was told we had been upgraded to a room with a lounge
which was very much appreciated, as other family members in our party rooms were on the small side, room was very warm overnight even with window open, a certain amount of noise but this is a city center hotel on a Saturday night. Shower very good if you have mobility problems some rooms a long way from lift. Staff very friendly over all a good stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Chris

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay

regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed one night in room 312. It was a really bad experience. They charged me full rate and when asked for a discount the staff was rude and was not even empathetic. AC didn't work the whole night. The phone was broken and the man came to repair couldn't fix either of them. Flush doesn't work. Couldn't turn off the tap after a shower. One Lift was broken. Very noisy hotel. Unfortunately my first and last trip to the hotel. It was recommended by a very senior figure in the Hull city but I was very disappointed .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ArulnathanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

I was very dissapointed to read that you experienced a number of problems in your room and that we failed to resolve them. We have a good reputation and I was pleased that you were recommended to stay with ourselves, clearly during your stay we got things wrong. Please contact me directly and let me know when you are next due to visit Hull as I would like to make a gesture to help restore your faith in our hotel - my email address is gm@hotels-hull.co.uk

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#3 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
496 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel Hull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel Hull

Address: 170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: £36 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel Hull 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is ideally located in the City Centre, adjacent to the Railway Station. The Hotel is next to the St Stephens Shopping complex and the Hull Truck Theatre. Close to Hull's historic Old Town Centre and The Deep Aquarium, everything is just a few minutes walk away. The hotel offers free WiFi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hotel Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kingston Upon Hull
Quality Hotel Kingston Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing