We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel Hull
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Staying at this hotel was maybe not one of our best choices, the room we stayed in was not what we thought, chewing gum stuck to the carpet, remote control not working, air con not working, pubic hair on the side of the bath, need I go on!!!! Looks very good when entering the hotel but nights a very noisy, doors bang and you can hear people talking, outside flushing toilets ect,, we think a lot of love and Tender care is needed as the hotel is old we stayed on the 1st floor so maybe higher up would of been better .

Room Tip: Stay in a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracey850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Tracey,

I was very sorry to read of the number of issues you experienced. I must say that these are not typical of rooms our guests received.

Please drop me an email with when you stayed as I would like to investigate this further and ensure that future guests do not have such problems

Many thanks

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel xmas 2013, through National holidays after our stay at Lincoln. We found it very comfortable, plenty to do in area just didnt have the time, food was first class. We would stay at this hotel again. Thankyou

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rais4uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for your review

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Just back home after a two night stay at the Mercure Royal in Hull. The break was booked with a ASDA "Deluxe Hotels"" gift voucher. The Hotel is very old and a long way from being classed as Deluxe. There is a plaque in Reception by the lifts explaining that Queen Victoria had stayed there so yes it is very old. We went as two couples and stayed in rooms 262 and 263. The booking in process went quite smoothly and we found our rooms on the second floor after encountering endless fire doors. The room was rather small with a section that had been converted into a smallish en-suite bathroom with toilet, wash hand basin and an excellent shower cubicle. There was a small flat screen TV and wardrobe with five hangers. Not great storage facility's but sufficient for just two nights. The double bed was a good size and very comfortable. For some reason the room throughout our stay was so hot that we kept the window open throughout. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant during the stay. The foo and choice were ok but on the first day they ran out of bacon and fried eggs and there was a large queue waiting for supplies to be replenished. Not a great situation. The staff were pleasant and friendly but we felt let down by the Hotel administration on our second day. On returning to our room we were unable to gain access with our key card , a visit back to reception and the fault was rectified. Shortly after our friends in the next room had just showered and were in the process of getting dressed when the room door was opened and two strangers appeared stating that they had just booked into this room!! A very embarrassing moment . After going out for a meal and returning to the hotel around midnight our friends were again unable to access their room with the key card. Another long trip to reception to rectify the problem was required.

In summing up the Hotel is old and 3star, the Wifi which is free is very poor so I think the Hotels rating is just about correct. Everywhere we went was nice and clean and all the staff were pleasant. Hull old town is much more pleasant and interesting than the new part of the city.

Would I return....... I don't think so.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Philann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for your review.

I was sorry to read that you found the room to be over warm and I will ask our maintenance team to have a look at your rooms to ensure everything is working correctly.

I was not aware that there any issues with our breakfast service but I will share your comments with our operations team and ask them to unsure that even during our busiest periods we must not run short of breakfast items.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past year and every time it has been a fantastic experience. Rooms are always clean and well presented. Staff are extremely professional and friendly. The location is great for shopping and eating out. Excellent value for money all round.

Room Tip: Suites are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrickyTrace2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for your super review.

I am very pleased to read that our hard work is appreciated

Best wishes

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

On entering the hotel it was quite impressive and the front of house staff very polite. We booked for our anniversary, so paid extra for the privileged suite. We were given room 315 and although it was ok, it certainley wasn't privileged quality. There was a hole in the carpet, cobwebs clearly visible and everything was laid out for one person, when we enquired about this we were told that the manager had instructed housekeeper to set all rooms up for one person, which is a bit bizzare when you book a double room for two people, however the staff were very acommodating and soon rectified this. Our stay overall was good the location perfect with parking which is a bonus.We would stay again but probably in standard not privileged as it was a bit of a let down

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank cazbar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased you enjoyed your stay and of course disapointed 315 was not as impressive as you expected.

I will have a look at this room and evaluate whether it is to the standard required for an executive bedroom

regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here with my wife on the 20th Aug 14. We have family in the area and this seemed an ideal base for the night. The hotel is in a good location, literally next door to the station, and 2 mins walk away from some good shops and places to eat. That really is about the best of it. Apart from the Hotel lobby, the rooms area tired and need investment to spruce them up and keep the hotel competitive. The staff are friendly and helpful. When we arrived there was a wedding taking place (taking over is probably a better description.... the main entrance is really the only way in to the place and yet the Hotel seems to think its OK to allow the entire wedding party to congregate across the door and invalid ramp. You see the bar is just inside the door, so most guest were fairly, well lets say inebriated! We went out and returned around 11pm for a night cap before retiring for drinks. £10.00 for 2 x G&T - not exactly cheap.

Come midnight as we were settling down and lights out came a drunken rumpus from the street which seemed to carry on for ages, apart from this, the aircon unit on the wall was in error state and flashed all night long, so we threw a towel over it. 4pm in the morning more shouting and expletives from somewhere in the hotel - not sure where? 8.00 am, a riot appears to break out in a room fairly close by, more expletives, shouting, a woman is swearing and screaming at a man. We go down for breakfast and complain at reception who tell us they allowed a drunken couple to take a room in the early hours of the morning. Breakfast is busy. We are asked if we would like to join one of the tables or wait for a table for two. We wait.
This is not really my idea of a nice nights stay in a hotel. There are other hotels close by under some well known brand names and I think in future we'll be staying there instead.

Room Tip: Given the clientele this hotel chooses, I am not sure that there is a such a thing as a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Perry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Perry,

I was very sorry to read your review.

I have contacted you directly but have yet to receive a response.

My email address is gm@hotels-hull.co.uk

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

If you are travelling by train fantastic, you are on the station, other wise parking is easy, lots of spaces.Arrival at the hotel was to a warm welcome from Mel, and that warmth from all the staff continued, from the bar staff, cleaners and restaurant staff , it was a pleasant surprise from a city hotel.
The hotel is an old hotel, however it has been modernised without destroying the old ambiance. The main bar area is nicely decorated, offering drinks, afternoon tea with cake and newspapers to read. The restaurant is lit by candles, nicely decorated and the food quality was excellent. Breakfast was of good quality - lots of juices, cereals, hot breakfast, cold breakfast and meats. Dinner was also good with a good menu.
We stayed on an all inclusive deal and it was superb - drinks between 7- 11 pm, breakfast, lunch and evening meal - 2 courses. We did not stay in the hotel for lunch, but still worked out as good value.
Bedrooms were small, but newly decorated, clean and the bathroom was good - no grey grout!!! Towels were very good very fluffy. Shampoo, gel and shower caps provided, as were tea and coffee ( no biscuits). Mattress and pillows very comfy.
If you are wanting a highly modern hotel this is not for you - but honestly we have stayed in much more expensive hotels and not had the level of service, cleanliness and food quality all together in one hotel! Who ever trains or choses these staff has got it right!!!!
We had a day in Beverley - a quaint market town! A day at Hornsea walking along the coast and a day shopping in Hull - lots of different areas to shop! The Marina is also worth walking around!
Worth a visit, especially if you get a good deal!

Room Tip: We were on floor 3 - queit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gentlefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

This is the most pleasing review I have read since I have been at the hotel I am delihted that you enjoyed the care and dedication the team here consistently deliver. It is no suprise that Mel stood out for particular praise, she is a great example of what caring for our guests' needs is all about.

Many Thanks

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
695 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#3 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel Hull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel Hull

Address: 170 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 3UF, England (Formerly Royal Hotel Hull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: £32 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel Hull 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hull Royal Hotel is ideally located in the City Centre, adjacent to the Railway Station. The Hotel is next to the St Stephens Shopping complex and the Hull Truck Theatre. Close to Hull's historic Old Town Centre and The Deep Aquarium, everything is just a few minutes walk away. The hotel offers free WiFi throughout and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hotel Hull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kingston Upon Hull
Quality Hotel Kingston Upon Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing