We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,551)
Filter reviews
1,551 results
Traveller rating
424
531
323
170
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
531
323
170
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station queen victoria coach trip national holidays evening meal free parking city centre buffet breakfast tea and coffee saturday night weekend break excellent value for money stayed here for one night twin room full english mercure platform
Filter
Updating list...
584 - 589 of 1,551 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel, just for the one night whilst meeting friends in Hull. Although only a brief stay, we enjoyed every aspect of this hotel that we had chance to use. All the staff we encountered were very polite and helpful. The room was beautiful and well presented, with those little extras that make all the difference.

The hotel bar was very comfortable and well laid out, and the meal we had in the restaurant was very enjoyable and reasonably priced, although the slate plate didn't do a very good job of containing my food, which kept escaping onto the table, but that wasn't a real issue and about the only negative thing we could say about our stay.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Spoons1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Customer Service Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I was so pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. It is always a pleasure to read such feedback especially regarding our hard working staff, from the girls who service the rooms to the cherry welcome from reception through to everyone on breakfast.

I do hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again

Regards
David Leadley
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Stayed one night after visiting Beverley during the day and going on to Lincoln the next day. We had a twin-bedded room which was large enough for a short stay. The beds were very comfortable with lovely white cotton bedding. Tea/coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer and a nice bathroom with an excellent shower over the bath. We did request a quiet room but ended up next to the station and heard the tannoy system during the evening and early morning but the station closed during the night. The room was very warm and opening the window helped a little and apparently the hotel does have an air con system but we didn't notice the controls in our room.

The restaurant is comfortable and everyone is keenly looked after by the pleasant staff. We were served a starter at the table then had to go up to the counter for the main course. The food was hot and plentiful although on this occasion the choices might not suit everyone (3 starters, 3 main and 3 deserts). For breakfast you help yourself to a good choice of fruit, cereal, juices, toast and full English items with staff serving tea/coffee.

The hotel is next to the rail station and a large shopping complex with plenty of eateries and a cinema. Across the road is the main town with the usual stores and it's about a 10/15 minute walk to the marina and another large shopping complex with cinema.

This is an old, dated hotel but it is clean and in an excellent location for the centre of Hull. We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WestYorksHomebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Customer Service Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback of your recent stay at our hotel.

I was very pleased to see that you had such an enjoyable stay with us especially your time in the restaurant where the staff looked after you admirably. I do look forward to your return to our hotel when I am sure you will receive the same great service as this time

Regards
David Leadley
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Hotel is very well located, just next to the train station and to St. Stephen's shopping centre for food. Premium rooms are a very good size and the staff is very welcoming and attentive. The Espresso machine in the room is a very nice perk. Hotel has got some character, and may feel slightly dated, but can't fault the service. Free (decent) Wi-Fi is a BIG plus!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ENGTUGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Customer Service Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback especially concerning the service provided by our staff.

Regards
David Leadley
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Stayed here as part of a coach tour. Very smooth registration, excellent room (single). A lot of rooms so easy to get lost (though all very well signposted) to begin with! Excellent food and service in the restaurant. Would definitely return. Entrance right from the station area so excellent access by rail.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JillieB652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Customer Service Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback of your recent stay with us.

I was so very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay as part of one of our regular tour groups and I hope that it is not too long before you get to return to us.

Regards,
David Leadley
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

The hotel failed in so many areas from the indifferent welcome to the grubby walls, the frayed carpets and dated fittings, the half-dead plant in my room, the slow breakfast service and the unappetising food on offer. Room service menu uninspiring, I ate out.

The location is excellent, parking a breeze but I would start with a freshening up of rooms and the grubby hallways. No point in providing newspapers at breakfast if the lighting is so low they are impossible to read. And first impressions are always the most important, no smile, arguing over a rate increase and faulty equipment in the rooms are easy to fix.

Room tip: Ask for a suite
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Customer Service Manager at The Royal Hotel Hull, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback of your recent stay at our hotel.

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay and I can assure you that we will endeavour to correct the faults you found during your stay.

Regards
David Leadley
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews