We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Walk through History”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arctic Corsair

Arctic Corsair
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come aboard Hull's last sidewinder trawler the Arctic Corsair and let the crew take you on a guided tour (access is limited). You'll hear all about life at sea and the dangers deep sea trawlermen faced in the Icelandic fishing grounds. Our free guided tours are the only way to see inside the Arctic Corsair (please note restricted opening times on right). Before each tour starts you can watch a short 10 minute action film - Life at Sea - in the Arctic Corsair visitor centre (next to the Hull and East Riding Museum). You can also find out more about the Arctic Corsair at the museum, which is free to enter and you do not need to book.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Walk through History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Built in 1960 and in use til the mid 1980's, the Artic Corsair is the last of the Hull side trawlers once typical in Hull's fishing industry Another of Hull's free museums, admission to the corsair is free, but a ticket must be procured at the museum shop just inside the Museum Quarter gates. Small groups tour the entire vessel under the leadership of a knowledgeable guide. Our guide was a retired fisherman who shared personal knowledge and stories. The experience really makes one aware of the danger, determination, and service of the fishermen in a dangerous profession or yesteryear.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SanFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    34
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Upon Hull
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First Hand History Lesson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Our tour was done by a former trawlerman, and his experiences helped paint a vivid picture of Hull's former trawler fishing days. Well done Hull City Council - another great museum!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CellBlockH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorks
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Had a tour round the boat with a group of friends. The ex-trawler man that conducted the tour was a real character and made the visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank EastYorksJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Eye opener!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Was never interested in the fishing industry but went along with my hubby as mI've dragged him all over the place indulging my interests. What an interesting boat/ship? Certainly gives you the stark reality of how life an work on board was really like. Hats off to anyone that does this for a living!

Helpful?
1 Thank Galdiator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A must see in Hull”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I thoroughly recommend a trip to the Arctic Corsair and its small but interesting museum. How many people really realise what the lads on the trawlers went through to bring us our fish? I certainly didn't and the guided trip around the Arctic Corsair certainly goes some small way to helping you appreciate the hardships that the trawler crews went through.A fantastic tour , and thanks to our Scots guide from the far North East who made the trip so interesting. Recommended without hesitation...go see !!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dtraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arctic Corsair also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Arctic Corsair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing