We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent collection from the East Riding”

Hull & East Riding Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enter a world where 235 million years of history is brought to life. From majestic mammoths to Saxon invaders, visitors to the Hull and East Riding museum of archaeology can look forward to an experience that is unique, educational and fun. Walk through an Iron Age village, enter a Roman bath house and look at the stunning mosaics. Discover a mysterious crew of wooden warriors and see our horde of Viking treasure
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Pocklington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent collection from the East Riding”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

What a brilliant place; very interesting to see so many artifacts from the surrounding area including many from close to us. In parts very atmospheric and our little grandaughter found it a little scary but then again she's always seeing "people" we can't see!! Well thought out displays and what an added bonus all free - Watch out for the wooly mammoth!! A cafe would be a welcome addition.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueandAndy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    80
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous mosaic collection”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The street life museum gets lots of reviews and this museum just next door should be equally praised. The older history of the area is displayed in a way which will educate and delight visitors and keep them occupied for an hour or more.
.And at the time of writing it is like all Hull museums, free to visit

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“looks small”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Interesting museum. Huge Mammoth greets you inside with teeth and tusks in display cabinets.Ancient Artifacts found in East Riding tools, long boat, mosaics. Worth a visit. Small gift shop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BACNYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a mammoth.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The first thing to greet us was a wooly mammoth. Kids would love this. The Iron Age village and the Roman bath house were excellent. Couldn't believe it was free.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprised!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A wonderful museum which surprised us - we never knew there was so much to Hull and E. Yorkshire. We were especially surprised at the number of Roman remains there were - all those mosaics! We wished we'd had longer there but time was against us as we were trying to fit in as much as we could in 2 days visiting Hull. We would recommend it to everyone, families, couples and singles.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue_historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hull & East Riding Museum also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Hull & East Riding Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing