We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been more welcoming!!”

The Garden Mews Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Mews Hotel
Reviewed 3 March 2013

What a fantastic find! Went the other weekend for afternoon tea with my mother. I hadn't realised that you needed to make an appointment so just showed up on the door and they couldn't have been more welcoming. Fast service, fresh food and beautiful cakes!! Amazing value for money and the lady serving was friendly and couldn't have done any more for us! Even though we just dropped on them with no warning, they had a great selection of cakes and the macaroons were to die for!! Loved it!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garenmews, Manager at The Garden Mews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit , we're really pleased you enjoyed it and hope to see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for The Garden Mews Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2012

To be honest, I may be being a bit harsh as considering it's price and wonderfully central location this is a very agreeable little place and I really hope that this won't put anybody off. It is probably a lot better than you will be expecting and they do try very hard, are friendly and welcoming and the place is clean. For a bed and breakfast you could do a lot worse in Hull and I would actually prefer this place to a faceless hotel chain any day. Perhaps if I hadn't have been so tired I would have asked them for help with a few of the minor issues or perhaps been a bit more forgiving.
We arrived quite late and were welcomed in in a friendly but rather rushed fashion but we were tired so didn't mind too much.
The hallway is a tad dated and the imminent, looming, winding, steep stairs are a bit daunting when carryng suitcases.
We had a double room with a shared bathroom, booked as such so no surprises there. The room was beautifully and tastefully decorated, lovely pictures on the wall and matching bed covers. There was a tea and coffee facility and a very useful sink in the room and the television was a small flat screen deal with HD ports etc.
However the first thing we noticed on entering the room was the HEAT. My goodness was it warm, stifling in fact and there was no way to turn down the radiators or open the windows, it was almost unbearable.
Once we had disrobed we could just about live with it, the bed was comfortable, if a touch too soft for my liking but I'm sure that it would appeal to others and I have slept in much, much worse.
The shower in the shared bathroom was a little temperamental but sufficient, the rest a bit dated but, again, functional.
The breakfast room has to be seen to be believed. Astounding. Laura Ashley meets an hyperactive Christmas Fairy! Pink and tinsel and snowy hedgehogs and baubles and sparkles and snowmen and bows and ribbons alive, alive-o. Again, I am sure that some people will love it but it was much too much for me and I had difficulty not giggling or asking for some sunglasses whilst we ate our breakfast.
The breakfast itself was quite nice, full English, again perfectly sufficient rather than spectacular, and served with a smile.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the noise of the pub directly across the road so perhaps should be avoided o...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitteecat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I want to thank the staff and management for my one night stay at the hotel. It has superb staff. Very helpful. And the hotel is in a great location. I had a single room, without bathroom. (And the shared bathroom was excellent.) My room was great for a short stay. And I will try to stay there again, whenever I'm in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I stayed at the Garden Mews the night before the Hull 10K in June. The hotel was clean and tidy, and the person who checked me in couldn't have been more helpful, despite having to cope with a wedding party, and a (very cute) dog. The room - a single with separate shared bathroom - was small, but perfect for my needs - quiet, and with a very good bed!

The shower room was clean and tidy, and the whole experience was excellent, topped off by a great early breakfast (at weekends, breakfast is usually from 8:30, but the owner was only too willing to provide a very good cooked breakfast an hour earlier.

Much recommended - especially if you're going to the theatre, or you're just in Hull for the night. I shall return next year!

Room Tip: I only saw one room - Room 4 is small, but quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adeythom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel, because I had to be in Hull for work for 1 day.
As mentioned before it is nice, clean, friendly and very good (fresh) breakfast.
I booked online a few days before arrival and got a good price.
I recommended it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andi_hub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I booked last minute so may have got a special rate, but even so I cannot recommend The Garden Mews Hotel enough! Really warm welcome from the owners, big, warm room and the most delicious full english breakfast I've had in ages. The (shared) bathroom is basic and clean, but that's about the only downside I can think of. It's about a 5 minute walk from rail and coach station, which means it's also really near to both the New Theatre and Hull Truck. They apparently do afternoon tea as well - will give this a try next time I'm in Hull!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBoaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2014
Thank jaimelesvoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.0 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
815 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#8 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
882 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cornmill Hotel
Cornmill Hotel
#11 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Mews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Mews Hotel

Address: 13-14 John Street | City Centre Theatre District, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: £56 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Garden Mews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing