We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid afternoon tea”

The Garden Mews Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garden Mews Hotel
Hull, Humberside
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Splendid afternoon tea”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My partner and I enjoyed a delicious afternoon tea in a tea room with a pleasant ambiance. Sandwiches on offer were explained to us and as we liked all on offer we were served with a selection which were in brown bread, that was our choice. We chose to drink decaffeinated coffee, that was served in a pot that was refilled as needed. Following the sandwiches were lovely warm scones served with butter, jam and cream. These were accompanied by a selection of yummy cakes. The waitress was lovely, attentive but unobtrusive. Value for money. We will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    5
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
5
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My friend and I enjoyed afternoon tea here yesterday. The sandwiches were delicious as were the cakes. The waitress explained the sandwich fillings and asked if there was anything we didn't like. As we liked everything on offer we were given a selection which were very tasty. Then came the selection of cakes and scones accompanied cream and jam which were also very tasty. Once served with our food we were left to help ourselves to tea and chat without someone asking if everything was okay all the time. As we couldn't eat all of the cakes we asked if could take them home and the waitress kindly wrapped them in a serviette and put them in a bag for us. We really enjoyed the experience and the tea room was just as we would have expected it to be. There was music quietly playing in the background and we were able to chat away quite happily. I would certainly go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garthHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garenmews, Manager at The Garden Mews Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your review .... we're pleased you enjoyed your afternoon and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had afternoon tea here recently.
The waitress was friendly and the afternoon tea was nice,but the decor was 'tacky',which was a shame as it could be made very nice.
Also toilet seat badly stained underneath - previous person had left it up,so that's why I noticed it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairyBluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garenmews, Owner at The Garden Mews Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us . I have arranged for the toilet seat in question to be replaced .. ... we wanted to create pleasant surroundings for our visitors ..... something a little different......I'm sorry you didn't like it ... its not meant to offend and we have more people like it then don't ... so we have no plans to change the tearoom decor .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I had afternoon tea in the garden Tea Room the food was excellent. The cakes were very good with unusual flavours. the little sandwich cakes flavoured with Lavender were lovely, Mini banoffee pies were superb and the scones with the addition of Orange zest were super. I had to wrap some bits up to bring home as there was more than enought to eat. the young lady who appeared to be serving on her own was very pleasant. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMW50HULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Went for afternoon tea here today. We were greeted with a very warm & friendly hello. Great choice of sandwich fillings, plenty of tea & amazing cakes. The Victoria Sponge & Scone were the best, so much choice though. Also asked regarding booking a Christening & Heather was so very helpful. Lovely food & team

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsribs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We booked a room here on a Saturday night from bookings.com. However when we got to the hotel there were no rooms (fault on bookings not hotel). The young lady who was put in charge for the evening was so helpful, apologizing for the mistake and called other hotels for us finding the best deal. She was great and our new hotel was a perfect fit. Amazing service and we would stay at this hotel if we could get a room! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwubaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garenmews, Owner at The Garden Mews Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel . We would like to apologise for the mix up with the booking. It was by all accounts an unusual night , up until 5.30 pm that day we had only one room booked out .... by 7.30 all rooms had been reserved .... my daughter had been left to look after the hotel for a few hours ( thinking we had a quiet night ) . Thankfully she was able to sort the problem out. We hope on your next visit we have available rooms and you are able to stay with us , and once again we apologise for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I am working in Hull for a few weeks, and to be honest I wasn't looking forward to it. I have stayed in Hull before and the quality of affordable rooms is not good. However, a colleague reccomended this place and I am over the moon. Very clean, friendly, and welcoming. The room was spot on, with wi-fi and a tele. The eve. meals substantial. I have booked to stay here for as long as I am here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victor g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
763 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hull City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Hull City C...
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Mews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Mews Hotel

Property: The Garden Mews Hotel
Address: 13-14 John Street | City Centre Theatre District, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Garden Mews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing